The Blame: A totally gripping mystery and suspense novel

· Bookouture
4.5
16 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Paige, Richard and me. We thought we’d be friends forever. But everything changed the day we took the short cut home from school along the old railway line. I wish we’d gone the long way. I wish we hadn’t seen our classmate, pale and still in the undergrowth. And I wish we hadn’t promised to keep one, awful detail a secret just between us…

 

Twenty years later, I have a brand-new life, and try never to think about my old one. But I’m dragged back when Paige calls out of the blue. Richard has been accused of something terrible. Everyone back home is whispering about the body we found years ago, and saying Richard deserves to be locked up…

 

Before I know it, I’ve returned to the small town I thought I’d never see again. Paige is almost the same as I remember – jet-black hair, slender frame – but why does she seem so nervous?

 

Revealing the truth about what we saw that day twenty years ago could clear Richard’s name… but will the blame fall on me? And can I really trust that Paige is on my side – or is she hiding her own dark secret?

 

When we find a strange note in Richard’s flat, only one thing is for certain: someone else knows the truth too. All three of us are in danger…


A totally addictive read by bestselling author Kerry Wilkinson about how the secrets from our past will always come back to haunt us. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, I Am Watching You and The Girl on the Train.

 

Read what everyone’s saying about The Blame:

 

I DID NOT EXPECT THAT ENDING! UTTERLY SHOCKING AND COMPLETELY UNPUTDOWNABLE!... I can't stress hard enough how much I loved it… outstanding… brilliant… an awesome author and he knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat, biting your nails until the last twist… I loved every single page.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Wow. Just wow!... I was unable to put it down… In the end all I can say is I didn’t see that coming!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

I absolutely loved it… twists and turns throughout… I did not see the ending coming at allkept on the edge of my seat to the final page… I highly recommend The Blame.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A totally addictive story… twists and turns, you will be guessing thinking you know the answers only to find out you didn't! A fantastic ending to a very suspenseful book!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I read most of this is book in one day… gripping… sucked me in… I was glued to my seatbrilliant page-turner… I am extremely impressed.’ Open Book Posts


‘Leads you down one path, and then flips it when you think you’ve worked it out… a brilliant thriller that will have you well and truly hooked.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Wow… brilliant… had to complete in one sitting… a real page-turner.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Such a gripping read!… everything was happening at a fast pace… the ending was a breath-taking shocker!Nerd on the Loose

 

'It’s a winnerkept me on the edge of my seat until the last page… characters were mesmerizing… I highly recommend this one.’ Washington Post Mag, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I was hooked from the beginning… page-turner… Loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Brilliant book… I couldn't put it downGripping.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Spectacularly action-packedHighly recommended!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An ending that took me by surprisecompletely unexpectedexciting read.’ NetGalley reviewer

4.5
16 reviews
Monnie Ryan
February 19, 2021
4.5 stars, actually. If I could pick an overarching theme for this intriguing book, it's a line that's repeated a few times throughout: "People change, and then they change again." It's certainly true in real life, and it's manifested in several of the characters herein. The story is narrated by Harry Curtis, who left his small hometown of Mackleberry, England, to live and work in Canada a couple of decades ago. It's his first time back, and he's more than a little reluctant to return. But an old school chum - Richard - has been arrested for the murder of one of their teachers; another friend, Paige, called to beg Harry to help her find out what really happened and help Richard's case. Since Harry and his wife are separated, he decides to head across the Pond and give it a go. Harry soon finds he's surprised at the changes in the still-insular community he once loved - some of them for the better, others not. Paige herself certainly isn't her former self; among other things, she's in the midst of a divorce from Richard's elder brother, Oliver. Harry's sister, Evie, lives in their old family home; while she's not enthused to see her younger brother, she allows him to stay with her for the duration of his stay. Early on, readers learn of a long-ago incident involving another of their school friends, Graham. Almost as quickly, it appears the local police are trying to tie that incident to the current murder. That, both Harry and Paige agree, simply isn't the case. But then again, Harry's memory of how things happened back then aren't exactly clear; and as their investigation - and that of the police - gets more serious, some of the relationships Harry once thought were rock solid begin to crumble. The ending brings everything - well, almost everything - to closure, though not necessarily with a "God's in his heaven, all's right with the world" feel. A well done, insightful and thought-provoking read that I definitely recommend. Thanks to the publisher, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read and review a pre-release copy.
Did you find this helpful?
Marnie Harrison
February 21, 2021
It’s been 20 years since Harry built a new life and put the old one behind him. But when Paige calls to tell him that Richard is in trouble he can’t help but respond to her call. How much of what is happening now is linked to their long held secret about their classmate who they found dead near the railway tracks all those years ago. Now Harry is not sure who he can trust but when they find a note at Richards place, distrust turns to fear. Are they all in danger? Kerry Wilkinson has crafted a gripping mystery that instantly caught my attention upon reading the blurb. I was in entranced and caught up in the tale and I needed to know the truth. But, the truth did not come easily! There are plenty of red herrings along the way to throw you off the scent and the author keeps his cards very close to his chest. That is one of the things I enjoy the most about his work in that his stories are never predictable. The characters are well developed, diverse and play out their role well. I can’t say I was particularly fond of any of them, but they were portrayed realistically. In terms of pacing, it does move at a slightly slower pace to begin with as the foundation is laid, but when it does kick off, it does so full stream ahead making for more of an edge of your seat thriller in its second half. The Blame is an enjoyable read to lose yourself in for a few hours. Full of tension and suspense and is one that keeps you engaged throughout, Kerry Wilkinson has delivered another thrilling read which I recommend for fans who love a good mystery.
Did you find this helpful?
Lisa Potter
February 19, 2021
Thanks to the author, publishers Bookouture and NetGalley UK for the opportunity to read this in exchange for an honest review. When Harry gets a call from home to say one of his best childhood friends has been arrested for murder, he drops everything in his new life in Canada to go back to England. Richard has been charged with the murder of their old teacher Mr Wilson. Harry doesn’t believe Richard could do it and together with Paige, the third member of their teenage trio of friends, he tries to find something to help prove Richard’s innocence. Bad memories from the past come to the surface, and Harry learns that life for those he left behind has been tough. Slowly he begins to wonder whether his belief in the innocence of the people who knew as a teen is blinding him to how much they have changed. Everything in this story is from Harry’s perspective, so from the start we’re sure of Richard’s innocence. But, as Harry uncovers details about the lives Richard and Paige are leading now, and the realises how much he was either ignorant of or has forgotten from their teenage years, he begins to doubt everyone around them. A great story about how hard it is to return home and the power childhood friendships and promises can retain over us as adults. Overall a good thriller. Lots of suspense and moral ambiguity kept me engaged right to the end. A recommended read.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.