Steel Maiden : Divided Realms Book 1

· Divided Realms Book 1 · FablePrint
4.4
1.55K reviews
Ebook
398
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

From bestselling author Kim Richardson comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, The Girl of Fire and Thorns and The Shannara Chronicles.

IN A LAND WHERE MAGIC IS BANNED and where cruel High priests rule, Elena steals the most valuable jewel in the Empire in the hopes to sell it and start a new life. But she is caught, and the punishment for stealing is death. And yet in that moment she is given a choice—death or to become one of the High priests' champions in The Great Race. 


Elena is catapulted without warning into the bloodiest race in all the realms, forced to compete with a man she hates while she develops a growing passion for another. She struggles to understand her special skills, her mysterious healing powers that she must keep secret. Within a world built on a religious sect and dangerous secrets, she becomes a woman torn between obligation and desire, between a man she supposedly hates and another.

As Elena comes to terms with her own secret, she discovers the truth behind the race and must stop the ancient, wicked evil that threatens all living things before it's too late.

From the award winning author of MARKED comes a new mesmerizing series full of action, adventure, and steamy romance.

"Elena is an engaging, well-drawn character…a solid start to a new series…" – Kirkus Reviews

"There's romance, adventure, action and a really neat world that felt cohesive. I think fans of "Throne of Glass" might really enjoy this one..." – The Reader's Hollow

"This story is chock full of adventure, action, and sizzling romance...written with such richness that readers who give it a try will not be disappointed." – Janelle Fila for Readers' Favorite

"Overall this is a strong story for its genre. With a lot of purpose. I can't wait to read book #2 in the series. 5 Boundless stars." – Boundless Book Reviews

Ratings and reviews

4.4
1.55K reviews
Lisa Graczyk
October 21, 2019
With uncertainty I picked up the book and to my delight I finished it before Ever putting it down. It was enjoyable and well written though there were a few things you needed to think about.. horses for instance would need to be unsaddled and the bit removed..not just left on during several days. But I guess we can overlook these things.. Nice work Ms Richards! You have a new fan! Looking forward to reading the next book in the series..
Did you find this helpful?
Stacey Miller
January 14, 2023
The plot is interesting and I'd like to know more, but the writing leaves a lot to be desired. It starts off fine then quickly starts reading like somebody's first fanfic. There are obvious grammar issues, repetitive descriptions, and poorly written/timed dialogue. It's bad enough that I probably won't spend my money on the rest of the series.
Did you find this helpful?
Evistara M
July 31, 2019
I normally find things I must overlook to be able to enjoy the story inside a book, but the only weird thing here was the gear on the horses. There was a saddlebag mentioned, but no other reference to tack, it felt strange. If a horse runs free with a saddle on like that, the saddle is likely to end up broken or sideways, or both from when the horse rolled, trying to get comfortable. But the interruption didn't feel major. I was otherwise so immersed and involved in a very realistic feeling world. Thanks!
7 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.