Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?: An absolutely laugh-out-loud and feel-good page-turner

· Bookouture
4.5
11 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘I was crying laughing’ The Writing Community Chat Show, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The funniest book I have read in a very long time’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Hilarious, I laughed so much!’ Mum of Cubs⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘OMG I snorted with laughter’ Loopyloulaura

 

My sex life is like a glittering unicorn. Bucking up and down, all day long, in my imagination…

 

Will used to be my partner in crime. Fancy dress, festivals, line up the sambuca and leave ‘sensible’ at home. And ‘home’ meant ‘bedroom’, and the bedroom was shocked speechless. Every time.

 

But now we’re proper adults – a family – and there’s loads we weren’t warned about:

 

1) Babies don’t come with a snooze button

2) Porn star boobs aren’t for touching

3) It’s possible to fall asleep at a nightclub

 

And then something unthinkable happens, which changes everything. But I love Will, and he loves me, so we can get through anything. Right?

 

A totally hilarious and absolutely relatable tale for anyone who has survived parenthood purely on microwave meals and wished for an IV drip of coffee to get them through! This uplifting page-turner will make your belly ache with laughter. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

 

Readers love Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?:

 

‘Had me cracking upLiterally rolling on the floor laughingGenius pure genius!Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Makes you howl with laughter until you have tears rolling down your cheeks and you can’t catch your breath!! Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Plenty of belly laughs… Get ready for a healthy dose of hilarity and a slice of side-splitting sillinessYou’ll either have a smile on your face or be howling with laughter.’ For the Love of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wooohooo… Fabulous… I loved itUtterly hilarious, there are some emotional rollercoasters involved too… Fed up with 2020? Take one of this author’s books and the sun will come out.’ B for Bookreview, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Had me belly laughing throughout! A real joy.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I always look forward to laughing so hard that I cry I found myself crying at points as much as I laughed at others.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

YAYYYY!Kristen Bailey is such a sassy lady! I literally choked! Well, maybe not literallyJust with laughter!Diagnosis Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I tried to list what parts of the book made me laugh, but there were just too many to fit on the page!Giggles and guffaws… I found myself wiping away not just tears of laughter… This author is an absolute genius with her clever writing and skill of taking day-to-day things and making them so funny! Reading one of her books is a sure-fire way of making sure I have a smile on my face for the rest of the day!!Comes highly recommended from me!!Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I loved it, I read it in 2 days, difficult to put down, always one more chapter… Hilariously funnyCannot help but make you smile.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Both hilarious and heartwarming in equal measure... Will have you doubled over in chuckles and you might even shed a tearBrill!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.5
11 reviews
Alison Robinson
February 7, 2021
Three and a half stars. Although TBH I think I knocked off half a star because it didn't go the way I wanted it to go. This is a series about the five (I think) Callaghan sisters who are all at one stage or another of being a woman/relationships. So the eldest, Meg, is married with children and living oop North with her husband Danny. The second daughter Emma is recently divorced with children. They have each had their own books which I very much enjoyed. This book is about Beth, who I assume is the middle daughter. At the start of the book she and her boyfriend Will are about to have their first baby, Joe. Beth and Joe (from my jaded 50+ POV) are like perpetual students, they love gigs and mix tapes and festivals etc. Their flat is a bit of a dump and they love nothing more than binging a Netflix boxset. Of course as anyone knows, that all comes to a grinding halt when you have a baby. Beth is dealing with the changes to her body, a lack of social life, Will working all hours, and all the other mothers from her NCT classes seeming to glide effortlessly around in lulu melon leggings with adorable babies while Beth is still hiding out in elasticated men's trackies and an old concert t-shirt. Something happens, it's in the blurb but it feels spoilery so I won't say what. Because I have read the other books I expected it to happen much earlier in this book than it did. If this were a schmaltzy Hallmark movie with a message I guess the message would be along the lines of 'Be kind to yourself, others see something completely different to what you see when you look in the mirror. Be kind to others because sometimes they are going through something worse.' I enjoyed this, read it in a day, but I didn't love it in the same way as I loved Emma's book.
Did you find this helpful?
DJ Sakata
January 17, 2021
Maternity, birth, and baby issues aren’t my jam and topics I typically avoid in my book selections. But I couldn’t seem to pass this one up as I had read and delighted in the previous books in this series. Needless to say, I have few regrets after diving into this riotously amusing tale and am just as enamored with this author’s clever wit and irreverent humor as I was before. I cackled and giggle-snorted at the outrageous scenarios and sharp visuals her wily and cunning selections of words conjured in my cranium. My face is actually a bit tired from smirking. As there are five oddly captivating and quirky sisters in this family, I will be eagerly awaiting the next sister’s odyssey. And, score! I have two new additions to my Brit Words and Phrases list with norks – which are a woman’s breasts; and gubbins – which is a multitasker of a word as it has several meanings which include scraps, useless bits and pieces, gadgetry, and a foolish person. For most women of my age, norks are generally gubbins.
Did you find this helpful?
carla
January 11, 2021
What an honest and refreshing look at motherhood and the trials and tribulations that come with a new baby! I’m now going to add side-splitting funny as another major positive. ‘Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?’ is both hilarious and heartwarming in equal measures. I particularly loved Beth’s friendship with Paddy, the mature next-door-neighbour. I enjoyed how they confided and leaned on each other for support. In fact, this book really was all about the relationships. I found myself caring about all of the key characters. The sisters were fab and their interactions with Beth were full of giggles and wit. Another relationship I have to mention is that between Yasmin the model and Beth. I really didn’t expect that one to play out the way it did but it was oh so satisfying. You’ll have to read it to find out why. Okay, now I’ll head to what I felt was the main theme in this book - coming to terms with having a new baby in your life. This was handled expertly. Although my daughter is all grown up, I could relate - big time! Every insecurity that Kristen brought up was totally relatable. I will also applaud how body positive this book is. I loved how the sisters could laugh and celebrate their changed bodies together. Bravo for doing that so brilliantly. To sum up, this will have you doubled over in chuckles and you might even shed a tear. It’s a spot-on read for this time of the year too. I thought it was brill!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.