A Chance on Love (historical western romance)

Hidden Springs

Book 4
Kristine Raymond
Free sample

**Mature audiences - sexual content**

Dr. Ben Kincaid is content to spend his days and nights
treating the people of Hidden Springs. 
Not even his closest friends know the heartbreak that haunts him.  Ten years earlier his wife left him, taking
their only child with her.  Ben vowed to
never again trust anyone with his heart.

Shiloh Bishop came to Hidden Springs looking for a fresh
start.  Having been forced into an
arranged marriage with an older man, she’s lived a life of misery.  When she finds herself suddenly widowed and
expecting her first child, she looks forward to starting a new life.

Ben is captivated by Shiloh the first moment he sees her but
he is unwilling to let go of the chains of mistrust that are wrapped around his
heart.  Shiloh is determined to rebuild
her life and has no intention of ever becoming another man’s wife. 

When a deadly illness strikes the town, they have no choice
but to rely on each other.  Admiration and
respect soon turn to passion, but will it be enough for them to take a chance
on love?


Read more

More by Kristine Raymond

See more
7 total

Additional Information

Kristine Raymond
Read more
Published on
Jul 19, 2014
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Romance / Western
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

Emmy-Lou Waters and Gilbert Milligan have been writing a great many letters declaring their love for each other, and the lovely young girl’s eccentric Aunt Beryl has just about warmed to the idea they might marry.

But for the longest time, Emmy-Lou’s rich banker father refuses to consider it. He plans to marry Emmy-Lou off to the vain, foppish son of a powerful railroad owner, to forge an alliance between the two families. 

Unable to get Emmy-Lou to see things his way, her father consents to travel with the girl and her kind aunt to Come-By-Chance, to meet Gilbert for himself, and find a way to discredit the boy.

But along the trail from Billings to Come-By-Chance, their party is held up by the desperate outlaw Slim Jim Murdoch! 

Will Gilbert lose his dear Emmy-Lou before she even arrives? Will Slim Jim hold the girl and her dear aunt for ransom? Or will some other dastardly plan be set in motion, a plan that will put everyone in the entire town in deadly peril? 

The Come-By-Chance series consists of:

Come-By-Chance  Brides of 1884

Book 1. Ruby

Book 2. Emily

Book 3. Violet

Book 4. Kate

Book 5. Rose

Book 6. Emmy-Lou

Come-By-Chance  Brides of 1885

Book 1. Opal – The Outlaw and the Sheriff Who Loved Her  

Book 2. Coral – The Widow and the Man Who Loved Horses 

Book 3. ​Ava & Ina – The Twins and the Fist-Fightin’ Cowboys

Book 4. Lillie – The Orphan and the Grief-Stricken Groomsman

Book 5. Pearl – The Divorcee and the Wedding-Shy Dabster

Coming Soon:

Book 6. Jane – The Modern Miss and the Preacher's Mighty Conundrum

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.