A Dangerous Act of Kindness

· Canelo
4.2
5 reviews
eBook
387
Pages
Eligible
77% price drop on 24 Mar

About this eBook

What would you risk for a complete stranger?

When widow Millie Sanger finds injured enemy pilot Lukas Schiller on her farm, the distant war is suddenly at her doorstep. Compassionate Millie knows he’ll be killed if discovered, and makes the dangerous decision to offer him shelter from the storm.

On opposite sides of the inescapable conflict, the two strangers forge an unexpected and passionate bond. But as the snow thaws, the relentless fury of World War Two forces them apart, leaving only the haunting memories of what they shared, and an understanding that their secret must never see light.

As Millie’s dangerous act of kindness sets them on paths they never could have expected, those closest to them become their greatest threats, and the consequences of compassion prove deadly...

A Dangerous Act of Kindness is a beautiful, harrowing love story, perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa MontefiorePraise for A Dangerous Act of Kindness

'A story of love, kindness and hope against the backdrop of World War Two weaving in themes of tragedy, guilt and treason. Beautifully written, with believable, well-rounded characters. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this, and will be re-reading again before long!' Reader review

'This book appealed to me when I first heard about it. What I did not expect was to be completely and utterly blown away by it. It is such an exquisitely written and well-researched, thought-provoking novel... this one is going to stay with me for a very long time' Reader review

‘A completely absorbing read, I loved every page of it, it is so well-written, plotted, paced – it had me holding my breath as the tension built and built... an exceptional book’ Reader review

‘I absolutely love historical fiction, especially from the Second World War period. A Dangerous Act of Kindness did not disappoint. It was well written and a brilliant storyline. I could not put it down it was truly captivating’ Reader review

‘Definitely a must read if you enjoy reading historical fiction based around World War Two’ Reader review

‘Historical fiction at its best’ Reader review

‘Set during the Second World War and beautifully written... a story of love and kindness and hope’ Reader review

‘I was gripped by this wartime romance with a difference’ Reader review

4.2
5 reviews
Caroline Price
7 August 2020
A Dangerous Act of Kindness is the debut novel of L. P. Fergusson and is set during WWII. Widow Milly Sanger discovers injured German pilot, Lukas Schiller on her farm and, fearing that he will be killed if he's discovered, she decides to hide him. This decision leads them to fall in love and brings the war, previously remote, literally into her backyard. The story is well written and romantic, it is also, due to their circumstances, full of suspense. I enjoyed it and feel it would be perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Susanna Kearsley and Santa Montefiore.
Did you find this helpful?
Reagan Tait
3 August 2019
The kind of book that secretly has you hooked. You can pick it up after a break and it reads so comfortably that you are instantly transported back to that moment in time. A wonderful easy read that creates the escape and imagery that you want from a good book.
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
Well-written but unevenly paced. A lot of Drama. The last third (ish) felt very rushed and didn't justify the character development. And after all of that we never even get to see Millie and Lukas interact at the end.

About the author

LP Fergusson grew up on the borders of Wales in a Tudor house on the banks of the River Wye. As a child she longed to go back in history. Now she does, through her writing. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University and won the Blackwell’s Prize for MA Creative Writing. Her stories have made a number of shortlists for competitions run by the Orwell Society, Oxfordshire Libraries and Flash500. Her psychological thriller reached the final three of a Quercus/Psychologies Thriller competition and her wartime novel A Dangerous Act of Kindness was Highly Commended in the Caledonia Novel Award 2018. She edits the historical blog With Love from Graz which was featured on BBC Radio Wales, Radio 2 and BBC4’s A Very British Romance with Lucy Worsley. She now lives in an Oxfordshire village beneath the chalk downs where her debut novel is set.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.