The Summer Fields

Free Sample

Is the pain of loss a price worth paying for true love?

In the year 1704, dairy maid Elen Griffiths’ immunity to the smallpox plaguing England should be a blessing. But it feels more like a curse when she is selected to leave her home and nurse high-born Viscount Mordiford through the illness within the confines of Duntisbourne Hall. There, Elen finds a horribly afflicted patient but she also discovers a friend in Ned Harley, the charming valet. However, before long sinister forces threaten Elen’s life and honour. Rescued by the man she has grown to love, she flees the country with the English army, not knowing if her affections are returned.

Across the Channel, Elen finds purpose serving as a nurse during the Duke of Marlborough’s campaign. Surrounded by the horror and confusion of the brutal war against the French, Elen is reunited with her love on the eve of the Battle of Blenheim. She learns that his feelings mirror her own, but a moment of joy may be all they ever know. Even if he survives the battle, a figure from the past threatens to destroy Elen’s freedom, her happiness and her life.

From the author of A Dangerous Act of Kindness don’t miss this action-packed and sweeping historical romance. Perfect for fans of Charlotte Betts and Rachel Hoare.

Praise for The Summer Fields

'A gloriously original tale, based on historical truth, about a girl with an 18th-century superpower and a heart to match. You will ache for her to make it through the battlefields and win her love.' James Hawes

'Each character was beautifully described and the situations drew me in as a reader with little knowledge of the period the story covers. Small details made the history come to life.' Reader review

'What a treat. Beautifully crafted and historically informative' Reader review

'An absolute blinder' Reader review'

'A proper adventure of a love story. I read most of the battle and surgery sections with eyes half closed, breathless with hope for Elen and appalled, revolted and dizzy with admiration for the taut prose and the detailed, fiercely accurate historical detail. Ruddy good read. ' Reader review

'Such a well written historical romance .... a pleasure to read' Reader review

Read more
Collapse

About the author

LP Fergusson grew up on the borders of Wales. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University. She edits the historical blog With Love from Graz which was featured on BBC Radio Wales, Radio 2 and BBC4’s A Very British Romance with Lucy Worsley. She now lives in an Oxfordshire village beneath the chalk downs where her debut novel is set.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
13 Feb 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
352
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788633680
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction/Historical/General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Medical
Fiction / Romance / Military
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
What would you risk for a complete stranger?

When widow Millie Sanger finds injured enemy pilot Lukas Schiller on her farm, the distant war is suddenly at her doorstep. Compassionate Millie knows he’ll be killed if discovered, and makes the dangerous decision to offer him shelter from the storm.

On opposite sides of the inescapable conflict, the two strangers forge an unexpected and passionate bond. But as the snow thaws, the relentless fury of World War Two forces them apart, leaving only the haunting memories of what they shared, and an understanding that their secret must never see light.

As Millie’s dangerous act of kindness sets them on paths they never could have expected, those closest to them become their greatest threats, and the consequences of compassion prove deadly...

A Dangerous Act of Kindness is a beautiful, harrowing love story, perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa MontefiorePraise for A Dangerous Act of Kindness

'A story of love, kindness and hope against the backdrop of World War Two weaving in themes of tragedy, guilt and treason. Beautifully written, with believable, well-rounded characters. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this, and will be re-reading again before long!' Reader review

'This book appealed to me when I first heard about it. What I did not expect was to be completely and utterly blown away by it. It is such an exquisitely written and well-researched, thought-provoking novel... this one is going to stay with me for a very long time' Reader review

‘A completely absorbing read, I loved every page of it, it is so well-written, plotted, paced – it had me holding my breath as the tension built and built... an exceptional book’ Reader review

‘I absolutely love historical fiction, especially from the Second World War period. A Dangerous Act of Kindness did not disappoint. It was well written and a brilliant storyline. I could not put it down it was truly captivating’ Reader review

‘Definitely a must read if you enjoy reading historical fiction based around World War Two’ Reader review

‘Historical fiction at its best’ Reader review

‘Set during the Second World War and beautifully written... a story of love and kindness and hope’ Reader review

‘I was gripped by this wartime romance with a difference’ Reader review

"Beautiful. Poignant." —Rachel Van Dyken, #1 NYT bestselling author


Everyone knew Bruno.

Devilishly handsome.

Ruthless criminal.

Cut-throat businessman.


When a phone call changed my life, I refused to let anyone in.

Helpless, my best friends went to the only man in town she knew would help.

…Bruno, the notorious mobster who’s feared by everyone, including me.


And he had no problem breaking down my door.

Scooping me into his strong, capable arms.

Whispering soothing words in my ear.

Chasing away the fear threatened to swallow me.


But then he did the one thing I never expected him to do…he stayed.


Can the man who’s spoken about in whispers become my greatest savior?


*****************


Enshrine is a USA Today bestselling steamy, inspirational standalone romance by Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author Chelle Bliss. This is a story about survival, hope, and most of all…love.


*****************


"An emotional journey you won't soon forget." —Meredith Wild, #1 NYT bestselling author


“Enshrine is such a gorgeous, breathtaking story.” —Toni Aleo, NYT bestselling author


“Enshrine rocked me.” —Terri Marie, NYT bestselling author


"This book had me hooked from the first page!" —SE Hall, NYT bestselling author


“Captures you so completely.” —River Savage, USA Today bestselling author


“A must read.” —Kaylee Ryan, NYT bestselling author


“Get ready to feel every page and fall in love with the unexpected.” —Author Cat Mason


"A sexy, palpable, real life romance." —Author Rachel Blaufeld


*****************


Enshrine is perfect for the fans of: Melanie Harlow, Corinne Michaels, Meghan March, Lauren Blakely, Julia Kent, Elle Kennedy, Tijan, CD Reiss, Kendall Ryan, Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward, Jana Aston, K Bromberg, Katy Evans, Jessica Hawkins, Kristen Proby, Penny Reid, Helena Hunting, Sally Thorne, Kristen Ashley, Helen Hoang, Kylie Scott, Christina Lauren, Jana Aston, Sawyer Bennett, Lexi Ryan, Karina Halle, Skye Warren, Kennedy Ryan, Jodi Ellen Mapas, Zoe York, Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, Colleen Hoover, Sara Ney, Toni Aleo, Cambria Herbert, Tammara Webber, Colleen Hoover, Meredith Wild, Skye Warren, Kennedy Fox and Sarina Bowen


Topics: hot alpha romance, men of inked, men of inked: southside, usa today bestseller, usa today bestselling romance, family saga, first in series, chicago romance, mafia romance, protective alpha, bad boy romance, strong heroine, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, tattooed bad boy romance, Waterhouse Press author, craving a good book, Alpha Bad Boy, Alpha male romance, bad boy, bad boy obsession, contemporary romance and sex, happily ever after, hot and steamy, hot romance, new adult romance, romance love, Romantic Action & Adventure, romantic suspense, sexy, sweet love story, true love, adult romance books, alpha male, beach reads, beach reads 2018, Beach reads 2019, best romance, books for summer, captivating romance, chance romance, big city romance, contemporary, contemporary romance, contemporary romance 2018, contemporary romance 2019, contemporary romance books, contemporary romance free, dominant male, emotional journey, explicit romance novel, family, feel-good romance, fiction for women, fun summer reads, misadventures of a, misadventures with a, misadventures, Bestselling Contemporary Erotic Romance: BDSM, Free, New Adult, Medical, Erotica, Adult Romance with Sex, Good Romance Books/Novels/Series to Read 2019, US, UK, CA, AU, IN, ZA, Ann Omasta, Helen Hardt’s Steel Brothers

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.