The Safe Place: A completely addictive and gripping crime thriller

Bookouture
3
Free sample

Her heart pounds at the sound of footsteps outside her small cabin in the woods. The snap of a twig tells her someone is close by. As she treads lightly towards the back door, she says a silent prayer—don’t let him find me…


Everyone in Eagle Falls knows Jessie Lewis. Ever since she reported her boyfriend, fire chief and local hero, for beating her, she’s been an outcast from the small town. But when someone sets fire to a house in the woods, killing the entire Troyer family in their beds, the locals turn on her once again. And when rumors circulate about her very public argument with Paul Troyer, they take it as proof that she killed them.


Devastated that anyone could think her capable of such an atrocity, Jessie knows that if people don’t believe she’s innocent, more lives will be in danger. She turns to Ruth: new in town, and an ex-FBI agent, Ruth could be the exact person Jessie needs to smoke out the killer. But can she trust her with her life?


Days later, another house linked to Jessie is set ablaze. Falling to her knees in the scorched remains, Jessie finds something buried in the ash which she immediately recognizes. The murders must be linked to the death of someone very close to her, and, terrified, she realizes the killer is coming for her…


As local wildfires take hold of Eagle Falls and the town is evacuated, Jessie drives at high speed toward the fires, knowing she must put herself in unthinkable danger in order to catch the killer. When she finally faces the person who wants her dead, will she have the strength to take them down first?

 

From USA Today bestselling crime author L.A. Larkin, The Safe Place is a thrilling rollercoaster ride for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot. You will not be able to put this down!

 

What readers are saying about The Safe Place:

 

“Absolutely brilliant… From the first page I was propelled to the edge of my seat… Utterly breath-takingI was up all night because I wanted to keep turning the pages… Totally wow!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“I was on the edge of my seat throughout this book!… I was yelling at my device! Lol, this book had it all… Definitely a nail-biter. Loved it!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Will have your heart racing with every page… Completely sucks you in! … Absolutely addictive. A thrilling, heart-pounding wild ride!” @oh.happy.reading, 5 stars

 

Grips you from the start and keeps you hanging on till the end. This is a rapid-paced, compelling story.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Wild fires, action, murders, oh my!... Get ready for non-stop action! You will be holding your breath and also gasping out loud! @lindzanne1_bookworm, 5 stars

 

“An amazing thriller.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“From the very first page, right until the last, The Safe Place will have you hooked. It is non-stop action and I finished it in a day. An absolute page-turner.” @mandylovestoread

 

What readers are saying about L.A. Larkin:

 

“WOWJust wow, OMGI found myself on the edge of my seat and I’m certain that if I was in the habit of biting my nails, I wouldn’t have any left… Worth far more than five stars.” Nicki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars

 

I couldn’t put this one down! I don’t know where to begin with this thriller thrill ride… Twists and turns and surprises to keep you on the edge of your seat.” Problematic Pug, 5 stars

 

Wow!… What a story! I think my heart pounded out of my chest! What a heart-pounding, suspense-filled book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 9, 2021
Read more
Collapse
Pages
408
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800197084
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.