The Safe Place: A completely addictive and gripping crime thriller

· Bookouture
4.2
4 reviews
Ebook
408
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Her heart pounds at the sound of footsteps outside her small cabin in the woods. The snap of a twig tells her someone is close by. As she treads lightly towards the back door, she says a silent prayer—don’t let him find me…


Everyone in Eagle Falls knows Jessie Lewis. Ever since she reported her boyfriend, fire chief and local hero, for beating her, she’s been an outcast from the small town. But when someone sets fire to a house in the woods, killing the entire Troyer family in their beds, the locals turn on her once again. And when rumors circulate about her very public argument with Paul Troyer, they take it as proof that she killed them.


Devastated that anyone could think her capable of such an atrocity, Jessie knows that if people don’t believe she’s innocent, more lives will be in danger. She turns to Ruth: new in town, and an ex-FBI agent, Ruth could be the exact person Jessie needs to smoke out the killer. But can she trust her with her life?


Days later, another house linked to Jessie is set ablaze. Falling to her knees in the scorched remains, Jessie finds something buried in the ash which she immediately recognizes. The murders must be linked to the death of someone very close to her, and, terrified, she realizes the killer is coming for her…


As local wildfires take hold of Eagle Falls and the town is evacuated, Jessie drives at high speed toward the fires, knowing she must put herself in unthinkable danger in order to catch the killer. When she finally faces the person who wants her dead, will she have the strength to take them down first?

 

From USA Today bestselling crime author L.A. Larkin, The Safe Place is a thrilling rollercoaster ride for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot. You will not be able to put this down!

 

What readers are saying about The Safe Place:

 

“Absolutely brilliant… From the first page I was propelled to the edge of my seat… Utterly breath-takingI was up all night because I wanted to keep turning the pages… Totally wow!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“I was on the edge of my seat throughout this book!… I was yelling at my device! Lol, this book had it all… Definitely a nail-biter. Loved it!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Will have your heart racing with every page… Completely sucks you in! … Absolutely addictive. A thrilling, heart-pounding wild ride!” @oh.happy.reading, 5 stars

 

Grips you from the start and keeps you hanging on till the end. This is a rapid-paced, compelling story.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Wild fires, action, murders, oh my!... Get ready for non-stop action! You will be holding your breath and also gasping out loud! @lindzanne1_bookworm, 5 stars

 

“An amazing thriller.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“From the very first page, right until the last, The Safe Place will have you hooked. It is non-stop action and I finished it in a day. An absolute page-turner.” @mandylovestoread

 

What readers are saying about L.A. Larkin:

 

“WOWJust wow, OMGI found myself on the edge of my seat and I’m certain that if I was in the habit of biting my nails, I wouldn’t have any left… Worth far more than five stars.” Nicki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars

 

I couldn’t put this one down! I don’t know where to begin with this thriller thrill ride… Twists and turns and surprises to keep you on the edge of your seat.” Problematic Pug, 5 stars

 

Wow!… What a story! I think my heart pounded out of my chest! What a heart-pounding, suspense-filled book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.2
4 reviews
Kirsty Whitlock
November 15, 2021
BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Safe Place' by L.A Larkin. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for L.A Larkin, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 9th November 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Widow's Island' which I highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot. will not be able to put it down!.' I am a huge fan of all of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of L.A Larkin and if this is half as good as 'Widow's Island' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started re
Did you find this helpful?
Marianne Vincent
November 12, 2021
The Safe Place is the eighth novel by Australian author, L.A.Larkin. Accusing the town’s favourite son, Marcus Harstad of domestic violence doesn’t win Jessie Lewis any friends. In fact, it makes her the target of ostracism for most in Eagle Falls, Washington. Jessie takes her dog, Bartie and moves to a cabin in the woods, avoiding unnecessary contact with the town, except for her gardening business. Marcus is the fire station captain, so she gives up volunteering as a firefighter too. When investigations show that the cause of the fire that took the Troyer family in their home is arson, many are quick to blame Jessie, recalling a very public argument between her and Paul Troyer over a payment dispute. And when Jessie is found at the scene of another housefire the next day, claiming she was trying to save her clients and friends, everyone is sceptical, and Sheriff John Cuffy is ready to arrest her. Former FBI agent, Ruth Sullivan, is a recent arrival with her family in her husband Victor’s hometown. When she meets Jessie at the self-defence class she gives for women, her opinion is not coloured by preconceptions. As she gets to know her, she’s inclined to believe Jessie’s claims, both about Marcus and the fires. But those who believe they run the town don’t appreciate her behind-the-scenes enquiries… Larkin gives the reader a fast-paced action-packed thriller set against a background of the escalating threat of forest fires in Washington State. Her depiction of the panic and chaos of the evacuation of a town under threat will resonate with readers in certain Australian towns. Her main characters are believable, although many are nasty and the arsonist is particularly chilling. Even if the underground confrontation between the main protagonist and the murderer is a little clichéd, with some suspension of disbelief required, Larkin’s plot has enough red herrings to keep the reader guessing right up to nail-biting climax. Undeniably a page-turner. This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by NetGalley and Bookouture.
Did you find this helpful?
Carla Kovach
November 13, 2021
This book is explosive in every way possible! Every page has to be turned at speed as it’s jam packed with action. I loved reading from Ruth and Jessie’s perspectives. We have the former FBI agent and the accused. The twists and turns had me aghast. At no point did I guess the outcome. I found the descriptions of the forest fire as it slowly encroached on the town, haunting. I can only imagine how terrifying it must be to live in a house that is in such danger. If you love huge doses of action and the fight to unravel fist clenching levels of injustice, then The Safe Place has to be your next read!
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.