If You're Not The One: A heartwarming feel good romance

Bookouture
Free sample

A heartwarming, escapist romantic novel for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Nora Roberts and Nancy Thayer.
Natalie isn’t a romantic. She doesn’t believe in true love, or destiny. She thinks that people are just plain lucky if they happen to find someone. It’s coincidence and nothing more.

As a wedding dress designer though, she knows she has to keep these feelings under wraps. Even if she’s suspicious that Harper, the bride she’s working with, might secretly agree with her. Because if Harper admitted she wasn’t sure about love, it might also mean giving up on a millionaire husband-to-be and the lavish island wedding of her dreams.

But, for Natalie, as her feelings develop for both her on-off boyfriend Chad, and for the boy-next-door Brayden, she starts to fear that her heart might not be as immune to love as she claims…

Could love have been there all along? And as the wedding approaches, who will find a happy-ever-after, who will find their way to themselves, and who will get left behind?

Readers love Laura Briggs:
‘Sure to put a smile on your face!… This book is really like spending a long afternoon gossiping with your girlfriends… Absolutely recommend if you are a fan of books about strong women with strong female friendships with a splash of romance.’ Audio Killed the Bookmark

Everything I wanted it to be and then some more. I absolutely loved this gorgeous story, straight from the beginning I was hooked on the characters and the storyline…. a wonderful, sweet, feel-good read… Get whisked away by Laura to the charming town and enjoy your stay there.’ Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars

‘I loved this book, it was just what the doctor ordered… filling you with happiness and hope for the future.’ Zooloo’s Book Diary

A gorgeous, comforting, cosy read.’ Waggy Tales

‘A wonderful sense of humour which shines through… a joy to read… I felt completely immersed… the perfect novel to read curled up on the sofa.’ Portable Magic

Romantic and funny’ B for Bookreview, 5 stars

You know when you near the end of a story and wish it could carry on, well this is exactly what I was feeling when I was reading those last few chapters… Beautiful, sweet and romantic!’ Rae Reads, 5 stars

‘Loved this book very much. It had just enough sweet romance and the storyline was great! I highly recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Light hearted and entertaining, as well as tender and loving throughout… Such a lovely romantic book’ Stardust Book Reviews
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 6, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
484
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786818072
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / Holiday
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Original and compelling, Laura Briggs's Reproducing Empire shows how, for both Puerto Ricans and North Americans, ideologies of sexuality, reproduction, and gender have shaped relations between the island and the mainland. From science to public policy, the "culture of poverty" to overpopulation, feminism to Puerto Rican nationalism, this book uncovers the persistence of concerns about motherhood, prostitution, and family in shaping the beliefs and practices of virtually every player in the twentieth-century drama of Puerto Rican colonialism. In this way, it sheds light on the legacies haunting contemporary debates over globalization.

Puerto Rico is a perfect lens through which to examine colonialism and globalization because for the past century it has been where the United States has expressed and fine-tuned its attitudes toward its own expansionism. Puerto Rico's history holds no simple lessons for present-day debate over globalization but does unearth some of its history. Reproducing Empire suggests that interventionist discourses of rescue, family, and sexuality fueled U.S. imperial projects and organized American colonialism.

Through the politics, biology, and medicine of eugenics, prostitution, and birth control, the United States has justified its presence in the territory's politics and society. Briggs makes an innovative contribution to Puerto Rican and U.S. history, effectively arguing that gender has been crucial to the relationship between the United States and Puerto Rico, and more broadly, to U.S. expansion elsewhere.
Editorial Reviews

"Helen has weaved a delicately balanced story of intrigue, secrets and passion, which practically melts the pages." -Bare Naked Words

"The love story between Talon and Jade continues in Obsession. An apt title to be sure, because everyone is obsessed. Dear Ms. Helen Hardt, I toss many profanities your way for making me wait. Though I give you my deepest gratitude for building the anticipation of what I’m sure will be an epic culmination to an amazing series. " -Heroes and Heartbreakers

"Talon and Jade's chemistry sizzles and the love scenes will melt your heart and your Kindle." -The Book Sirens

"I am loving this series so freaking much… The story line is one that will have you completely engrossed…" -Wicked Babes Blog

"Helen left my head spinning and my mind racing a mile a minute. I need to know what the secrets are... " -The Book Fairy Reviews

Synopsis

Jade Roberts is in love with Talon Steel but no longer welcome in his home. While she resolves to move on, she still longs for the passion she and Talon shared…and when her boss asks her to dig up information on the Steels, she’s only too happy to comply. Talon and his brothers are hiding something, and Jade is determined to find out what it is.

The moment Talon saw Jade he wanted her, ached for her, craved her…and now his desire has become his obsession. He knows she deserves better than his broken soul, but he can’t stay away from her, and he finally confesses his love. If he and Jade are to have a future, he knows he must make peace with the dark shadows and horrors of his past.

But as Talon begins his journey of healing, Jade uncovers some startling secrets…

Could you plan a wedding if you'd never been in love?

 

Tessa has always dreamed of her own business. And when a beautiful tumbledown house comes up for sale in the Southern town of Bellegrove, she knows it has perfect potential to be an amazing one-stop wedding shop.

 

Teaming up with three talented friends, they’re ready for big things. They’ve even found their first client – a sweet old lady called Bianca, who’s desperate to give her grandson a spectacular wedding. (Even though he’s equally determined to keep it simple and romantic.)

 

But as the big day approaches, things start to go wrong. Handsome handyman Blake Ellingham breaks the news that the building needs re-wiring and the bill for renovations is longer than a royal wedding train. And then one of her friends suddenly quits their fledgling business…

 

Can Tessa pull off the dream wedding? Can Blake be convinced to help? And if the electrics are broken, why are so many sparks flying between him and Tessa?

 

The perfect feel-good summer romance for 2018 for fans of Debbie Macomber, Jenny Hale and Debbie Johnson.

 

Readers love One Day Like This:

 

‘One Day Like This has a little bit of everything to tempt you… You know when you near the end of a story and wish it could carry on well this is exactly what I was feeling when I was reading those last few chapters… Beautiful, sweet and romantic!’ Rae Reads, 5 stars

 

‘Loved this book very much.  It had just enough sweet romance and the storyline was great! I highly recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘One Day Like This was everything I wanted it to be and then some more. I absolutely loved this gorgeous story, straight from the beginning I was hooked on the characters and the storyline… a wonderful, sweet, feel-good read that is just perfect for the summer. Get whisked away by Laura to the charming town and enjoy your stay there.’ Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars

 

‘I absolutely loved this.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A little gem of a read… I was fully invested in Tessa and the girls and backed them all the way, wanting everything to work out for them, so they could all achieve their dreams’ Zooloo’s Book Blog

 

‘A sweet and lighthearted read, perfect for summer!’ Read More Sleep Less

 

‘This is perfect chick lit.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘The story is lovely and fluently written. I loved all the characters… An entertaining feel good book for everybody who loves a good wedding and people who are not afraid to take their future in their own hands.’ B for Book Review, 5 stars

 

‘A perfect beach or summer read’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘It certainly seems that this author knows how to write a wedding story! ... Light hearted and entertaining… tender and loving… such a lovely romantic book… An absolutely perfect summer read! Would definitely recommend!’ Stardust Book Reviews

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.