Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Free sample

The playful, epic adventure of a 160-pound English Mastiff and the twentysomething girl who grew up alongside her—Marley & Me for a whole new generation.

Lauren Watt took her 160-pound English Mastiff to college—so of course after graduation, Gizelle followed Lauren to her first, tiny apartment in New York. Because Gizelle wasn’t just a dog; she was a roommate, sister, confidante, dining companion, and everything in between.

Together, Gizelle and Lauren went through boyfriends, first jobs, a mother’s struggle with addiction, and the ups and downs of becoming an adult in the big city. But when Gizelle got sick and Lauren realized her best friend might not be such a constant after all, she designed an epic bucket list to make the absolute most of the time they had left.

Bursting with charm, this unique, coming-of-age story of a girl making her way through life is a testament to the special way pets inspire us to live better, love better, and appreciate the simple pleasures. Gizelle’s Bucket List is the humorous, poignant lesson our pets teach us: to embrace adventure, love unconditionally, and grow into the people we want to be.
Read more

About the author

Lauren Watt was born in Dallas, Texas, and grew up in the suburbs of Nashville, Tennessee. After college, she moved to a tiny New York apartment with her 160-pound English Mastiff, Gizelle. Her first book, Gizelle’s Bucket List, has been translated into eleven languages and optioned for film.

Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Mar 7, 2017
Read more
Pages
256
Read more
ISBN
9781501123672
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs
Pets / Dogs / General
Travel / Special Interest / Pets
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Teresa J. Rhyne
The #1 New York Times bestseller
The #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller
USA Today bestseller

"Funny, smart, uplifting, and fun, The Dog Lived (and So Will I) reminds us that animals are among our best teachers, our most powerful healers, and our most steadfast friends. I loved it!"-Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig

The tale of a dog who wouldn't let go and the woman who followed his lead.

Teresa Rhyne vowed to get things right this time around: new boyfriend, new house, new dog, maybe even new job. But shortly after she adopted Seamus, a totally incorrigible beagle, vets told Teresa that he had a malignant tumor and less than a year to live. The diagnosis devastated her, but she decided to fight it, learning everything she could about the best treatment for Seamus. Teresa couldn't possibly have known then that she was preparing herself for life's next hurdle - a cancer diagnosis of her own.

She forged ahead with survival, battling a deadly disease, fighting for doctors she needed, and baring her heart for a seemingly star-crossed relationship. The Dog Lived (and so Will I) is an uplifting and heartwarming story about how dogs steal our hearts, show us how to live, and teach us how to love.

A heartwarming, hilarious book about dogs, relationships and surviving life's challenges with humor and grace is perfect for fans of Marley and Me, The Middle Place and A Dog's Purpose will love this touching memoir.

Other books by Teresa Rhyne:
Dogs Were Rescued (And So Was I)

What readers are saying about The Dog Lived (And So Will I):

"infused with emotional moments and even more so with humor. The book is a wonderful mixture of it all."

"As much as this book is about thriving, not just surviving, during cancer, it is also a love story written to the beagle."

"A wonderfully poignant memoir straight from the heart"

"like "Marley and Me", but much better."

"INCREDIBLE - heartwarming, sad, funny, stressful and comforting all at once."

"A true gem for any dog lover and anyone who either has had cancer or knows/has known someone with cancer - which let's face it - is everyone."

"THIS MEMOIR IS WHAT ALL OTHER MEMOIRS SHOULD ASPIRE TO."

What reviewers are saying about The Dog Lived (And So Will I):

"This poignant and fast-moving memoir...is proof that even a hard-charging lawyer is no match for a big-hearted beagle." -Martin Kihn, author ofBad Dog (A Love Story)

"...encouraging tale of finding love and love in unexpected places..."-Publishers Weekly

"A book that dares to be honest and sad and hilarious all at once."-Susan Conley, author of The Foremost Good Fortune

Monks of New Skete
For more than a quarter century, How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend has been the standard against which all other dog-training books have been measured. This expanded edition preserves the best features of the original classic while bringing the book fully up-to-date. The result: the ultimate training manual for a new generation of dog owners--and, of course, for their canine best friends.

The Monks of New Skete have achieved international renown as breeders of German shepherds and as outstanding trainers of dogs of all breeds. Their unique approach to canine training, developed and refined over four decades, is based on the philosophy that "understanding is the key to communication, compassion, and communion" with your dog.

How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend covers virtually every aspect of living with and caring for your dog, including:
Selecting a dog (what breed? male? female? puppy or older dog?) to fit your lifestyle
Where to get--and where not to get--a dog
Reading a pedigree
Training your dog or puppy--when, where, and how
The proper use of praise and discipline
Feeding, grooming, and ensuring your dog's physical fitness
Recognizing and correcting canine behavioral problems
The particular challenges of raising a dog where you live - in the city, country, or suburb
The proper techniques for complete care of your pet at every stage of his or her lifeIn its scope, its clarity, and its authority, How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend remains unrivaled as a basic training guide for dog owners. Like no other book, this guide can help you understand and appreciate your dog's nature as well as his or her distinct personality--and in so doing, it can significantly enrich the life you share with your dog.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.