Murder on the SS Rosa: A Cozy Historical Mystery

La Plume Press
8

Another deftly crafted mystery by the master of the genre…” Midwest Book Review

“Clever and entertaining, you’ll love this charming Golden Age mystery series. And the fashion is to die for!” - Molly C. Quinn, actress, Castle


Murder's a pickle.

It's 1923 and young war widow fashionista Ginger Gold makes a cross-Atlantic journey with her companion Haley Higgins to London, England, to settle her father's estate. When the ship's captain is found dead, Ginger is only too happy to lend her assistance to the handsome Chief Inspector Basil Reed.

The SS Rosa delivers a convincing array of suspects - the wife, the mistress, a jealous crewmate. To Ginger's dismay, her name has been added to the list!

With a little help from Ginger's dog Boss, Ginger and Haley navigate the clues (those wartime operative skills come in handy). They must solve the case and clear Ginger's name before they dock - and oh, whatever shall she wear?

A fascinating introduction to a character that will rival Miss Fisher in the cozy genre set in the period between world wars.

***

For fans of Rhys Bowen, L.D. Hathaway, Jacqueline Winspear, Susan Elia Macneal, T E Kinsey, Leighann Dobbs, Charles Todd, Vivian Conroy, Hamilton Crane, Frances Brody, Ashley Weaver, Patricia Wentworth



Keywords: female sleuth, 1920, British mystery, amateur spy, Atlantic, Boston, Liverpool, ship, Britain, Spy, Inspector, Boston terrier, victim, murder, historical, legacy, Agatha Christie, flapper, prohibition, speakeasies, gramophone, mansion, widow, war, secret intelligence, France, war widow, Countess, romance

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Lee Strauss is the bestselling author of A Nursery Rhyme Suspense Series (Mystery Sci-fi Romantic Suspense), The Perception Series (young adult dystopian), and young adult historical fiction, with a new cozy historical mystery series, Ginger Gold Mysteries, coming soon. When she’s not writing or reading she likes to cycle, hike and kayak. She enjoys traveling (but not jet lag :0), cashew lattes, red wine and dark chocolate.

She also writes younger YA fantasy as Elle Strauss and inspirational romance as Hope Franke Strauss.

Read more
Collapse
4.9
8 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
La Plume Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 8, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
158
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781386272106
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.