Murder on the SS Rosa: A Cozy Historical Mystery

La Plume Press
8

 In the spirit of Agatha Christie, Lee Strauss presents a brand new series reminiscent of the Golden Age of Mysteries.

It’s 1923 and young war widow fashionista Ginger Gold makes a cross-Atlantic journey with her companion Haley Higgins to London England to settle her father’s estate. When the ship’s captain is found dead, Ginger is only too happy to lend her assistance to the handsome Chief Inspector Basil Reed.

The SS Rosa delivers a convincing array of suspects—the wife, the mistress, a jealous crew mate. To Ginger’s dismay, her name has been added to the list! With a little help from Ginger’s dog Boss, Ginger and Haley navigate the clues. They must solve the case and clear Ginger’s name before they dock—and whatever shall she wear!

***

For fans of Rhys Bowen, L.D. Hathoway, Jacqueline Winspear, Susan Elia Macneal, T E Kinsey, Leighann Dobbs, Charles Todd, Vivian Conroy, Hamilton Crane, Frances Brody, Ashley Weaver, Patricia Wentworth



Keywords: female sleuth, 1920, British mystery, amateur spy, Atlantic, Boston, Liverpool, ship, Britain, Spy, Inspector, Boston terrier, victim, murder, historical, legacy, Agatha Christie, flapper, prohibition, speakeasies, gramophone, mansion, widow, war, secret intelligence, France, war widow, Countess, romance

Read more

About the author

Lee Strauss is the bestselling author of A Nursery Rhyme Suspense Series (Mystery Sci-fi Romantic Suspense), The Perception Series (young adult dystopian), and young adult historical fiction, with a new cozy historical mystery series, Ginger Gold Mysteries, coming soon. When she’s not writing or reading she likes to cycle, hike and kayak. She enjoys traveling (but not jet lag :0), cashew lattes, red wine and dark chocolate.

She also writes younger YA fantasy as Elle Strauss and inspirational romance as Hope Franke Strauss.

Read more
4.9
8 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
La Plume Press
Read more
Published on
May 8, 2017
Read more
Pages
150
Read more
ISBN
9781386272106
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 It’s the hot and humid East Coast summer of 1930 and five years since Dr. Haley Higgins’ brother Joe was murdered. The case has grown cold. The Boston Police Department may have given up on finding Joe Higgins’ killer, but Haley never will. She’s serious and savvy and has what it takes to hold up under depressive times. At least she finds some satisfaction doing her part as the city pathologist’s assistant in solving other crimes. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; color: #454545}

Investigative Reporter Samantha Hawke, byline Sam Hawke, is the only dame on the beat at the Boston Globe. She doesn’t take no guff from the guys, and they’ve learned to respect her, even if she’s a skirt. She’s fearless and tough as nails. Her blonde locks and red lips get attention, but the smart men keep their distance. Those who don’t, learn a thing or two about the lethal side to long fingernails and pointy-toed shoes. Besides, Sam’s married, even if she hasn’t seen her no-good husband for ten years. 



A man is found dead inside Boston’s oldest tavern, now a “tea and coffee” house. Another in a string of deaths related to underground rum running. Haley recognizes the MO, apparent suicide. She doesn’t care for nosy reporters, and Samantha Hawke is no exception. Demanding and presumptuous, Haley tries to stay clear of the ambitious Sam Hawke, but it turns out they may just need each other to solve this case without becoming the next victims.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.