Murder on the SS Rosa: A Cozy Historical Mystery

· La Plume Press
4.9
8 reviews
Ebook
158
Pages

About this ebook

Another deftly crafted mystery by the master of the genre…” Midwest Book Review

“Clever and entertaining, you’ll love this charming Golden Age mystery series. And the fashion is to die for!” - Molly C. Quinn, actress, Castle


Murder's a pickle.

It's 1923 and young war widow fashionista Ginger Gold makes a cross-Atlantic journey with her companion Haley Higgins to London, England, to settle her father's estate. When the ship's captain is found dead, Ginger is only too happy to lend her assistance to the handsome Chief Inspector Basil Reed.

The SS Rosa delivers a convincing array of suspects - the wife, the mistress, a jealous crewmate. To Ginger's dismay, her name has been added to the list!

With a little help from Ginger's dog Boss, Ginger and Haley navigate the clues (those wartime operative skills come in handy). They must solve the case and clear Ginger's name before they dock - and oh, whatever shall she wear?

A fascinating introduction to a character that will rival Miss Fisher in the cozy genre set in the period between world wars.

***

For fans of Rhys Bowen, L.D. Hathaway, Jacqueline Winspear, Susan Elia Macneal, T E Kinsey, Leighann Dobbs, Charles Todd, Vivian Conroy, Hamilton Crane, Frances Brody, Ashley Weaver, Patricia Wentworth



Keywords: female sleuth, 1920, British mystery, amateur spy, Atlantic, Boston, Liverpool, ship, Britain, Spy, Inspector, Boston terrier, victim, murder, historical, legacy, Agatha Christie, flapper, prohibition, speakeasies, gramophone, mansion, widow, war, secret intelligence, France, war widow, Countess, romance

4.9
8 reviews
Deborah Bates
April 28, 2017
The author provided me with a complimentary copy of this ebook with no expectation of a review. I loved Murder on the SS Rosa! It was a great historical cozy mystery. The characters were fun and quirky, the descriptions of the fashions were detailed, and the characters speech patterns (even Scout's slang) all seem true to the era. There's a slight cliffhanger at the end that leaves the door wide open for the next book. The cliffhanger doesn't affect this prequel in any way, it's just setting the stage for the next book. I can't wait to read the next book!
Bonnie “Dale” Keck
May 1, 2017
Kindle Unlimited? Most of her others are, and this one is going to be in mobi or ebook form because I got one of the ARC type ones from writer, one of my free to me they really hope I find time to read and hopefully review. Reminds me, somewhat of Miss Marple, but even more so of Miss Fisher {look it up, it's on video}, so really enjoyed this, new character and hopefully long series of following books. In the first outing, more of an introduction novella, There is murder and a boatload {shipload?} of possible suspects to suss out, before the ship gets to port, and all the possible suspects disperse. Ginger Gold Mysteries Murder on the SS Rosa (0) Murder at Hartigan House (1) Perception Trilogy {0.5-3}, Nursery Rhyme suspense stories {short story I Spy with my Little Eye Books plus 4 more in series}, Clockwise series {5 plus a novella, time travel type}. Not only are the books available individually but also in various sets.
Wally the Swamp Rat
May 8, 2017
Murder on the SS Rosa is a very good book. The plot is interesting, the characters are well fleshed out and it is very fast paced. I enjoyed reading it very much. The only thing I can say that is negative is it was way too short! Left me wanting more.

About the author

Lee Strauss is the bestselling author of A Nursery Rhyme Suspense Series (Mystery Sci-fi Romantic Suspense), The Perception Series (young adult dystopian), and young adult historical fiction, with a new cozy historical mystery series, Ginger Gold Mysteries, coming soon. When she’s not writing or reading she likes to cycle, hike and kayak. She enjoys traveling (but not jet lag :0), cashew lattes, red wine and dark chocolate.

She also writes younger YA fantasy as Elle Strauss and inspirational romance as Hope Franke Strauss.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.