Bloody Wedding in Kyiv: Two Tales of Olha, Kniahynia of Kyivan Rus

Free sample

“She was called ‘light of salvation’ by the great Rus chronicler Nestor, ‘wise’ by history, ‘cunning’ by the people and ‘holy’ by the church,” is the apt description of Olha of Kyiv by the author Leopold von Sacher-Masoch. Written more than a century apart, two fictional accounts of Olha, a real female monarch of Kyiv, explore facets of the ruthless ruler’s personality. The Kniahynia’s Comb and Bloody Wedding in Kyiv will leave readers staggered by Olha’s enigmatic blend of devotion and ferocity.
Read more

About the author

Leopold von Sacher-Masoch

Leopold von Sacher-Masoch (1836–1895) was an aristocrat and author, and a scholar of his homeland, the historic region of Halychyna (Galicia) in Ukraine. Best known to Western readers for his novella Venus in Furs (1870), and for his involuntary inspiration of the term ‘masochism’, von Sacher-Masoch wrote the short story Bloody Wedding in Kyiv in 1886. This fictionalised tale of the notorious Olha of Kyiv contains compelling historical details and betrays some curious insights into the author’s preoccupations.

Petro Haivoronskyi

Born in 1958 in the Luhansk region of Ukraine, Petro Haivoronskyi, the author of The Kniahynia’s Comb, is a modern Ukrainian writer and journalist who has received several accolades including the Gold Medal of Ukrainian Journalism and the Honorary Ethnographer of the Donetsk Region. Haivoronskyi’s published works include his numerous contributions to The Free Thought Ukrainian newspaper in Australia and the Ukrainian works Miners’ Ballad (2002) and Mykola Momot: Life Without Intermissions (2010), a documentary novel about the Ukrainian opera singer.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Sova Books
Read more
Published on
Jul 5, 2016
Read more
Pages
59
Read more
ISBN
9780987594372
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Alternative History
Young Adult Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

“I’m virtually speechless when it comes to this novel. I have not found an author that I adore the writing style of this much since Jennifer L. Armentrout. The world that this author created was amazing.” - Brittany's Book Reviews

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, half-demon and half-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter heaven or hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons.

Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds. What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is? Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy half-human and half-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.

"Wow, I loved this novel."- Koeur's Book Reviews

Read all the series from author Christina Bauer:
•Angelbound Origins (YA Dark Fantasy)
•Angelbound Offspring (YA Dark Fantasy)
• Beholder (YA Dark Fantasy )
• Dimension Drift (YA Urban Fantasy )


and coming soon...

• Fairy Tales of the Magicorum (YA Urban Fantasy)
Venus in Furs is a novella by the Austrian author Leopold von Sacher-Masoch, and the best known of his works. The novel draws themes, like female dominance and sadomasochism, and character inspiration heavily from Sacher-Masoch's own life.

The framing story concerns a man who dreams of speaking to Venus about love while she wears furs. The unnamed narrator tells his dreams to a friend, Severin, who tells him how to break him of his fascination with cruel women by reading a manuscript, Memoirs of a Suprasensual Man.

This manuscript tells of a man, Severin von Kusiemski, who is so infatuated with a woman, Wanda von Dunajew, that he asks to be her slave, and encourages her to treat him in progressively more degrading ways. At first Wanda does not understand or accede to the request, but after humouring Severin a bit she finds the advantages of the method to be interesting and enthusiastically embraces the idea, although at the same time she disdains Severin for allowing her to do so. Severin describes his feelings during these experiences as suprasensuality. Severin and Wanda travel to Florence. Along the way, Severin takes the generic Russian servant's name of "Gregor" and the role of Wanda's servant. In Florence, Wanda treats him brutally as a servant, and recruits a trio of African women to dominate him.

The relationship arrives at a crisis when Wanda herself meets a man to whom she would like to submit, a Byronic hero known as Alexis Papadopolis. At the end of the book, Severin, humiliated by Wanda's new lover, loses the desire to submit. He says of Wanda: That woman, as nature has created her, and man at present is educating her, is man's enemy. She can only be his slave or his despot, but never his companion. This she can become only when she has the same rights as he and is his equal in education and work.
Der Klassiker der SM-Literatur von 1870: „Venus im Pelz“ von Leopold von Sacher-Masoch jetzt als eBook bei venusbooks. Welch eine Ähnlichkeit zur römischen Venus! Als der junge Severin auf die reiche Witwe Wanda von Dunajew trifft, ist er wie berauscht von ihrer Schönheit und träumt davon, sich ihr zu unterwerfen. Daher ist er überglücklich, als Wanda ihm eine einjährige Probezeit anbietet, in der er zu ihrem Sklaven wird. Unter ihrer zarten, aber harten Hand entdeckt Severin eine Erfüllung, die er nie für möglich gehalten hätte ... „Venus im Pelz“ ist einer der bedeutendsten Klassiker der erotischen Literatur, der auch darüber hinaus Einfluss nahm: Leopold von Sacher-Masoch wurde zum Namenspatron der Lust an der Züchtigung und Unterwerfung – Sadomasochismus. Der berühmte französische Philosoph Gilles Deleuze über Leopold von Sacher-Masoch: „Von Masoch muß gesagt werden, daß nie jemand mit mehr Dezenz so weit gegangen ist.“ Jetzt als eBook kaufen und genießen: „Venus im Pelz“ von Leopold von Sacher-Masoch. Lesen ist sexy: venusbooks – der erotische eBook-Verlag. Jugendschutzhinweis: Im realen Leben dürfen Erotik und sexuelle Handlungen jeder Art ausschließlich zwischen gleichberechtigten Partnern im gegenseitigen Einvernehmen stattfinden. In diesem eBook werden fiktive erotische Phantasien geschildert, die in einigen Fällen weder den allgemeinen Moralvorstellungen noch den Gesetzen der Realität folgen. Der Inhalt dieses eBooks ist daher für Minderjährige nicht geeignet und das Lesen nur gestattet, wenn Sie mindestens 18 Jahre alt sind.
Diese Sammlung wurde mit einem funktionalen Layout erstellt und sorgfältig formatiert. Leopold von Sacher-Masoch (1836-1895) war ein österreichischer Schriftsteller. Er war zu seiner Zeit ein vielgelesener, populärer Schriftsteller. Seine zahlreichen Romane und seine ebenso zahlreichen, meist folkloristischen Novellen waren teils als exotische, immer spannende, ja sogar als moralische Lektüre beliebt. Bekannt wurde Masoch durch seine Fantasie und Kunst, triebhaftes Schmerz- und Unterwerfungsverlangen ästhetisch zu formulieren. Inhalt: Amor mit dem Korporalstock Das Erntefest Der Capitulant Der Wanderer Der Weihnachtsabend des Rebb Abramowitsch Die Kunst geliebt zu werden Don Juan von Kolomea Ein Damen-Duell Eine Frau auf Vorposten Katharina II. Matrena Mondnacht Moses Goldfarb und sein Haus Nero im Reifrock Nur die Toten kehren nicht wieder Ungnade um jeden Preis Venus im Pelz Lola: Geschichten von Liebe und Tod Wjera Baranoff Theodora: Eine rumänische Geschichte Die schöne Wittwe Kapitanowitsch: Eine kroatische Geschichte Ein Mord in den Karpathen Das Todesurtheil einer Frau Im Venusberg Unter der Peitsche Der wahnsinnige Graf Matrena Das Weib des Kosaken Menschenware Die Sclavenhändlerin Sarolta Tag und Nacht in der Steppe Der fliegende Stern Die Todten sind unersättlich Polnische Geschichten Ezech Elchanan Sapiehas Busse Jakob wo bist du? Die gewaltsame Hochzeit Pan Kaniowski Der Krieg der zwei Marien Die wilden Frauen Drei Hochzeiten Lidwina Im Schlitten Auf der Heimfahrt Jüdisches Leben in Wort und Bild Israel Bessure towe Rabbi Abdon Lewana Das Mahl der Frommen David und Abigail Schimmel Knofeles Der Buchbinder von Hort Galeb Jekarim Wie Slobe ihre Schwester verheirathet Frau Leopard Der schöne Kaleb Gelobt sei Gott, der uns den Tod gegeben! Schalem Alechem Machscheve Der Todesengel ...
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.