The Orchid Girls: A completely gripping psychological thriller

· Bookouture
4.1
14 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

By far the best book I have read in 2018!... A gripping, brilliant, have-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat-in-suspense psychological thriller! From the very first page I was enthralled and hooked... Kept me guessing... The ending will knock you square off of your feet!... Amazing 5 star read.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

'Now we are bound forever,' she says, her eyes determined. 'I will never tell anyone, I swear. This is between you and me. Now you swear too.'

 

They called them the Orchid Girls. Grace. Molly. Charlotte.

 

One of them is in love. One of them is a liar. One of them is dead.

 

On a jagged Dorset cliff, wind whipping their hair, waves crashing on the rocks below, three friends became two when Charlotte’s body was pulled out of the sea.

 

Fifteen years later Grace and Molly are worlds apart. Grace has a glittering career and a loving husband. Molly is a lonely, unemployed alcoholic. Grace has everything to lose. Molly has nothing. 

 

They have moved on from the tragic accident that shadowed their childhood. But somewhere lies a photograph waiting to be unearthed – waiting to reveal a secret that one of the Orchid Girls is desperate to keep hidden...

 

The Orchid Girls is a breathless, gripping and twisty story of love, obsession and dark, shocking secrets. Fans of KL Slater, The Wife Between Us and The Girl on the Train – read this one with the lights on…

 

Readers absolutely love The Orchid Girls:

 

‘Loved this. A gripping thriller full of secrets and lies.’ Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request

 

‘I loved this book!! I was hooked from the first page and highly recommend… Absolutely twisted and amazing!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Amazing A compelling tale of secrets, lies, manipulation, obsession, first love, addiction, denial, friendships and relationships… Had me hooked in and totally enthralled from the very first page… Keeps the reader guessing… Highly recommended.’ Niki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars  

 

‘Wow. I’m speechlessEnthralling story… My, my, my you have to read it… The first one read by Lesley Sanderson and it won’t be the last! Kept me wanting more!!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Excellent read! Just when I thought I knew what was going on, bam, a twist!... The characters are complex and richly detailed. This is a book that will keep you guessing till the climatic ending… Well written with a superb storyline... If you like psychological suspense then you will love this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘I just finished The Orchid Girls and what a crazy, messed-up ride! I was hooked from first few pages and it only got more intense!... D R A M A and secrets and twisted lies on lies on lies… And the end made me gasp with twisty delight… Delighted because a final twist was delivered with a thunderous boom!!!... This one is gonna be hot!... Five stars!!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

WOW… WOW. ONE. CRAZY. RIDE!... A thriller that had me wrapped up in everything about this book! The characters were cray cray I literally was screaming at some of them in my head I can’t wait to read more from Lesley!’ Steph and Chris’s Book Review

 

Wow! This book had me up late, flipping pages and needing to know everything and everyone that was involved…. Thrilling, chilling and absolutely unputdownable! Will be highly recommending!Chapter Chatter Pub, 5 stars

 

Managed to finish this book in a couple of sittings!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Fabulous… Really difficult to put down!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘A gripping psychological thriller... but it is also so much more. It's evocative, engaging, and utterly enthralling.’ The Bandwagon, 5 stars

 

Really gripped me and I was nearly late for work as I was desperate to finish it!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

[not enough space on KDP from here on in!]

 

Had me hooked from the start… The author does a very good job at keeping the reader guessing and speculating about the shocking truth.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

I was hooked… It's a great psychological thriller that will have you guessing… I just loved itAmazing book.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘The story drew me in from the very first pageI loved it.’ Beauty Balm, 5 stars

 

This was so good!... I just flew through it, and ended up finishing the whole book in two sittings. I absolutely love books that keep me thinking about them even after I've finished reading them, and this one has really stayed with meA fast, nail-biting read.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

First class… A thrilling multi-faceted story.’ Goodreads Reviewer

4.1
14 reviews
A Google user
November 13, 2018
This book had me hooked from the very beginning. Molly, Grace and Charlotte and friends/rivals hanging around on the beach when they are 15. Charlotte ends up dead with Molly and Grace being charged but were acquitted. Fast forwarding finds Grace a successful food blogger/author married to a man who is running for Mayor while Molly cannot hold a job due to her drinking problem. This story moves right along with lots of twists and turns in it and a real surprise ending. I did not like the majority of the characters especially Richard, Grace's husband. I highly recommend this excellent book if you are looking for a really good thriller. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Tim P
November 13, 2018
👎
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Becky Baldridge
November 12, 2018
Here's the thing - when you use the phrase like "a completely gripping psychological thriller" next to the title of a book, it better darn well deliver. I even saw The Orchid Girls compared to The Wife Between Us, which did indeed wow me. This one didn't even come close. It does have a couple of moments, but for the most part, the story is extremely slow and way too drawn out to be anything close to gripping. After several stops and starts, I did push through and finish, more in hope of finding some big twist than anything else. Maybe it's me and I missed the mark, but try as I might, I didn't find that twist. It's all pretty straightforward and goes exactly where I expected it to go. Trimmed down and tightened up, this could probably be an okay sign of the times story, but as it stands, it is just too easy to set aside for something else.
7 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.