Breathless

Lex Martin
This book will become available on February 18, 2020. You will not be charged until it is released.

The boy next door has always made her breathless.


Joey… I wouldn’t say I ran away exactly—twenty-two is too old for that. 


I’d call it self-preservation.


I have one objective: protect my heart from the boy next door who has no clue I’ve loved him my whole life, even with a front row seat to his revolving bedroom door.


My escape plan almost worked.


Except I left one thing behind.


Logan Carter hijacked my heart, and now it’s time to get it back. This time for good.


Logan… I wouldn’t say I’ve been lying this whole time—not about everything. 


Not about how much I miss my best friend, and definitely not about how pissed I am that she left with hardly a goodbye.


She’s the last person I ever expected to ghost me, and her absence left a gaping hole in my chest.


When Joey Grayson steps off that bus, I know I’ll do anything to keep her home, and that means finding out the truth. 


But I’m not sure how to tell her my truths when I’m living so many lies.


Breathless is a standalone companion novel to the USA Today bestsellers Shameless and Reckless. Each book features a different couple.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Lex Martin is a romance author who' s titles often make the USA Today Bestsellers List. She writes the Shameless and The Dearest Series. Her books are contemporary romances and often have a hot happily ever after. When she isn't working on her craft, you can find her teaching English in school. Her titles include: Dearest Clementine, Finding Dandelion, Kissing Madeline, and Reckless.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Lex Martin
Read more
Collapse
Pages
335
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781950554003
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / New Adult
Fiction / Romance / Western
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Dumped by a cheating husband, Katie Dobbs' life had gone off the rails and she is now back to square one, living in her parents' home in Sweet, Montana and working a job she hates. She refuses to stay in a dark and empty house as a constant reminder of her mistakes. So she did the only thing that made sense. She breaks into an old dilapidated chapel to figure out her next move, and is nearly arrested by Caleb Samuel, her brother's high school friend who is now a handsome police officer in town.

Caleb had heard Katie was having a hard time. Sweet was a small town and everyone knew everyone else's business. Except for one thing. No one knew where his sister Julie disappeared to 10 years ago and no one had heard from her since. Katie had been good friends with Julie before they'd both left Sweet. Now Katie is back. Buying a broken down chapel to renovate as a house is nuts when you don't know the difference between each end of a hammer. And Katie didn't. But she did know Julie, and maybe she'd be able to give him some insight into where Julie had gone. Caleb offers to help Katie renovate. But one problem after another threatens the project, and leaves Katie thinking she'll never realize her dreams. Until she realizes she's falling in love with her brother's friend. Even as everything seems to be falling apart around them, can love help heal their hearts?

Excerpt:
Katie sat in one of the pews in the back of the chapel and thought about how her life had gone off the rails. She rubbed her fingers together as she laid them on her lap and tried to ward off the bitter Montana cold. A gust of wind swept into the building, making a sudden chill race through her body. It was probably the flimsy plywood door she’d pulled away from the wall.
But then a beam of light swept through the chapel, illuminating features she couldn’t see in the dark until the beam of light landed on her. She quickly turned and saw the stark light source but did not see the person holding the flashlight as they moved through the open door and into the chapel.
“Katy Dobbs? What on earth are you doing in here?"
Katie shielded her eyes with her fingers. "Do I know you?"
The man’s low chuckle sounded familiar, but she still couldn't place it.
“I hope so. I've known you and your brother practically my entire life.”
He dropped the flashlight enough so that it wasn't shining in her eyes directly. She squinted her eyes and looked at the man's silhouette.
“Caleb? Caleb is that you?”
”You were the last person I expected to find in here.”
Dumped by her fiancé, Jenna Emory decides it’s time to visit her Aunt Sally in Ransom Creek. Maybe there she can decide what her next move should be. Though her aunt has been urging her to join her in the “junk” business for years she’s certain that small town life isn’t for her. To ward off her aunt’s matchmaking she decides not to tell her the engagement is off.


For as long as he can remember, Shane Presley’s aunt and her friend, Sally Ann have been hoping to fix him, or one of his brothers, up, with Sally’s niece. The only problem-she’s a city gal who recently dashed their dreams by getting engaged to someone else. But, after rescuing her from her car on a freezing winter night, Shane finds suddenly that he is as disappointed as the aunts are that she’s engaged.


Determined not to stay in Ransom Creek, Jenna is fighting not to fall in love with the town or the cowboy who rescued her when she first arrived. She’s a city girl with a big career in advertising. She is not a “junk” dealer…


Despite it being the coldest winter in years, sparks are flying in Ransom Creek as Shane and Jenna fight their attraction to each other.


He’s a whole lot of country, and she’s a whole lot of city…can love bring them together?




Topics: Cowboy romance, rodeo, clean and wholesome romance, western romance, sweet romance, contemporary romance, military romance, series, romantic suspense series, mystery, romance, funny romance, modern romance, urban romance, Texas, Texas cowboys, Texas romance, beach reads, wealthy, USA today, USA today bestseller, horses in romance, small town romance, smart romance, mystery, dogs in romance, lighthearted romance, hot romance, debra clopton, debra clopton romance, proposal, proposal romance, engagement, engagement romance, new york times bestseller romance, NYT romance, new york times romance, sexy, heartwarming, heart-warming, family, love, love books, kissing books, emotional journey, contemporary, contemporary romance, romance series, long series, long romance series, army, army series, former military, cop, police officer, policeman, cop romance, wealthy hero, rancher, firefighter, fireman, fireman romance, sassy, strong heroine, captivating romance, sparks, loyalty, swoon, contemporary, Medical examiner, Doctor, best friend, friends to lovers, girl next door, Perfect for readers who love Samantha Chase, Debbie Macomber, Melody Grace, Annie Rains, Carolyn Brown, Bella Andre, Lucy Kevin, Pamela Kelley, Pamela M. Kelley, Kay Correll, Susan Mallery, Jill Sanders, Hope Ramsay, Jean Oram, Becky Wade, Denise Hunter, Chris Keniston, Linda Lael Miller, Jennifer Ryan, Maisey Yates, A. J. Pine, C. J. Carmical, Lori Wilde, Shanae Johnson, Callie J. Brooks, Cora Seton, Jennifer Ashely, Hallmark Movies, Hallmark Romance, Barbara Freethy, Bridesmaid Series, Beach reads, happily-ever-after, sexy heroes in clean and wholesome books, books under $4.00

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.