Cold Cold Sea: page-turning crime drama full of suspense

Legend Press
3
Free sample

'I couldn't put it down. The Cold Cold Sea is gripping from the first page until the last... Highly recommended.' --Rebecca Muddiman'Breathtaking and utterly compelling... Linda's narrative voices are flawless and the rhythm of her prose is pitch perfect.' --Debi Alper'I could not put this novel down! Disturbing and compelling... a psychologically astute, edge-of-the-seat story.' --Hilary JohnsonThey stared at each other, and Maggie felt the tightness in her middle expand as it shifted, burning its way up... Painful sobs rose from her throat as Colin, his face expressionless now, reached for his mobile and dialled 999.When three-year-old Olivia disappears, her parents are overwhelmed with grief. Weeks go by and Olivia's mother refuses to leave the cottage, staring out at the turbulent sea and praying it didn't claim her precious daughter's life.Not far away, another mother watches proudly as her daughter starts school. Jennifer has loved Hailey for five years, but the child is suddenly moody and difficult, and there's a niggling worry of doubt that Jennifer cannot shake off. As she struggles to maintain control there are gaps in her story that even she can't explain.Time is running out for Maggie at the cottage, and also for Jennifer and Hailey. No-one can underestimate a mother's love for her child, and no-one can predict the lengths one will go to, to protect her family.A psychological page-turner, perfect for fans of Linda Green, Alex Marwood and Sophie Hannah
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Linda Huber is a language teacher and a former physiotherapist. She is the author of The Paradise Trees and she has had more than 50 short stories and articles published in magazines.
Read more
Collapse
4.3
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Legend Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 1, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
256
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781909878600
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘My heart and guts were gripped and squeezed so tight I had trouble reading! … This broke my heart into so many pieces … I was left speechless by the flawless narration and the harrowing emotions that rushed through me until the very end.’ Chocolate and Waffles, 5 stars

 

A mother desperate for the truth. A daughter hiding a terrible secret.

Melanie Oak appeared to have the perfect life. Married to her childhood sweetheart, Jacob, the couple live with their beautiful, loving, teenage daughter, Beth, in a pretty village.

Nothing can shake her happiness - until the day that Beth goes missing and is discovered beaten almost to the point of death, her broken body lying in a freezing creek on the marshes near their home.

Consumed with grief, Melanie is determined to find her daughter’s attacker. Someone in the village must have seen something. Why won’t they talk? 

As Melanie tries to piece together what happened to Beth, she discovers that her innocent teenager has been harbouring some dark secrets of her own. The truth may lie closer to home and put Melanie’s life in terrible danger…

A completely gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister and Before I Let You In will be captivated.

What readers are saying about The Darkest Lies:

‘A darkly addictive and creepy page turner that had me on the edge of my seat … the last few chapters were breathtakingly shocking with developments I hadn’t been expecting and the final pages were absolutely brilliant, leaving me with goosebumps!’ My Chestnut Reading Tree, 5 stars

 

‘Compelling, claustrophobic and horribly believable – a great read!’ B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

‘It grips you by the throat and doesn't let go. A tense, edge-of-your-seat, nail-biting ride.’ Robert Bryndyza, author of The Girl in the Ice and Last Breath

‘Vividly written and absolutely gripping. I couldn't put it down!’ The Genre Reader, 5 stars

‘There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing, leading all the way to a jaw-dropping ending that left me spinning.’ Novel Deelights, 5 stars

‘Gripping and shocking. Had me completely enthralled in the action…a story that got under my skin.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars

‘A dark, compelling and unforgettable read that had me hooked. The final paragraph haunted me, long after I had finished reading.’ Brew and Books Review, 5 stars

‘Addictive, Thrilling, Captivating! I could not put this book down, it captures your interest from the very first page until the very last.’ Book Reviews by Nicole, 5 stars

‘It really did make for some very emotional reading...There was a twist which totally rocked me.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 4 stars

‘Plenty of red herrings and twists…If you like psychological thrillers, you’ll love it.’ Consumer reviewer, 5 stars

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.