Otherwise Engaged: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
1
Free sample

“This is the smartest romantic comedy I've read—and it's compulsively readable!” — Julia Fierro, author of The Gypsy Moth Summer and Cutting Teeth

Life is sweet for New Yorkers Molly and Gabe: They're young, in love, and newly engaged.

But when Gabe sells his first novel—a thinly-veiled retelling of his wild love affair with ex-girlfriend Talia—and it becomes a national sensation, Molly can't help but feel like the third wheel. To make matters worse, Talia reappears in Gabe's life, eager to capitalize on the book's success and to rekindle what she had with Gabe... at least, that's how it seems to Molly. But of even more concern? Gabe doesn't seem concerned at all. Instead, he's delighting in his newfound fame and success.

Jealous, paranoid, and increasingly desperate, Molly starts to spin out of control. Her social life, work life, and love life all go to pieces. As fact and fiction, and past and present, begin to blur, Molly realizes the only way out of this downward spiral is to fight her way back up. But what—if anything—will be left of her life and her relationship when she arrives?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jennifer Weiner, Otherwise Engaged explores the life we seek when the life we have... suddenly goes down the drain.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Lindsey J. Palmer is the author of two previous novels, Pretty in Ink and If We Lived Here. She worked as a features editor at Self, and previously at Redbook and Glamour. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, she earned a Master of Arts in English Education from Teachers College, Columbia University, and taught high school English for several years. She’s currently a scriptwriter at BrainPOP, an animated educational site for kids. Lindsey lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter. Find her at lindseyjpalmer.com.
Read more
Collapse
3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 26, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
312
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781510732421
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Razor-sharp and thought-provoking, Lindsey J. Palmer's incisive new novel both celebrates and skewers modern relationships and their milestones, offering a witty and wise look at what it takes to commit--to love, to a home, and to the life that's right for you.

After three years of dating and trading nights at their respective New York City apartments, Emma Feit and Nick O'Hare are moving in together. Or they will be, as soon as they find the right place. For two happily-in-love professionals--Nick's a teacher, Emma tutors college-bound teens--with good credit and stellar references, how hard can it be? As it turns out, very--in ways that are completely unexpected.

Suddenly Emma is filled with questions about cohabiting, about giving up her freedom--not to mention about who's going to clean the toilet. And while her best friend plans a dream wedding to her wealthy fiancé, and her older brother settles into suburban bliss, Emma must figure out what home means to her--and how on earth to get there.

“If We Lived Here is a brisk and insightful look at the complications of cohabitation.” —Harper’s Bazaar

“This lighthearted read... shined a heartwarming, insightful light on love.” —FIRST for Women

“If We Lived Here cleverly explores the highs and lows (mostly lows) of apartment hunting in New York City. It is also a journey into the complexity of romantic relationships, the changing dynamics of friendship in your 30s, and ultimately the quest for a home.” —The Huffington Post
"A sharp, hilarious romp through a spot-on believable women's magazine." --Sally Koslow, former Editor-in-Chief of McCall's

"An essential novel. . .engaging, sensitive, and so much fun. . .I wanted to hang out with the women of Hers Magazine long after I'd turned the last page." –Diana Spechler, author of Skinny

For years, Hers magazine has been a fixture on newsstands--relatable, reliable, and ever-so-slightly frumpy. But with sales slumping, Hers' editor-in-chief soon finds a pink slip in her inbox. And her ruthless, blisteringly high-heeled replacement may not be finished cleaning house yet. . .

Leah Brenner suspects she won't be on the payroll much longer either. A telecommuting, breast milk-pumping mom of three doesn't mesh with her new boss Mimi's vision of a sleeker, younger-skewing Hers. Not content with nabbing Leah's office, Mimi's protégée, Victoria, is itching to take over Leah's duties too--and she's not alone. As the summer rolls out, and staffers are asked to give up even their sexiest secrets to save the brand, everyone at Hers--the sycophantic new assistant; the photo editor who's sleeping with her boss; the Ivy League intern with oversized aspirations--will fight to keep her career, and some shred of dignity, intact.

Smart, perceptive, and hilarious, Lindsey Palmer's debut delivers an all too true-to-life tale of very different women faced with high-stakes choices in a rapidly changing--yet utterly familiar--world. . .

"Tantalizing. . .Pretty in Ink is part comic love story and part bloody valentine." ??Devan Sipher, New York Times "Vows" columnist and author of The Wedding Beat
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.