The Salt House: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
5
Free sample

*Real Simple “Best Books of June”
*Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017”

*Bustle.com “17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017”

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future.

Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
Read more

About the author

Lisa Duffy received her MFA in creative writing from The University of Massachusetts Boston. Her short fiction was nominated for a Pushcart Prize and can be found in The Drum Literary Magazine, So To Speak, The Breakwater Review, Let the Bucket Down and elsewhere. Lisa is the founding editor of ROAR Magazine, a literary magazine supporting women in the arts. She lives in the Boston area with her husband and three children.

Read more
4.2
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Jun 13, 2017
Read more
Pages
304
Read more
ISBN
9781501156571
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / General
Fiction / Literary
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Dear friend:

If you are seeking answers about the Catholic annulment process after having gone through the pain of divorce, my heart is with you. While you certainly want technical answers to questions about the “process,” you’re probably searching even more for answers to the aching questions that weigh heavy on your heart:

How in the world did I end up here? How could God allow my marriage to end in divorce? Am I still accepted in my Church?

And perhaps most importantly, Where do I go from here?

These are critical questions, and you deserve honest answers. Rest assured, you are not alone. I speak from experience. I’ve been where you are and know what you are going through. In Mending the Heart: The Catholic Annulment Companion, I walk with you through the annulment process, taking a close look at the changes Pope Francis has made, and helping you discover ways to find hope and healing in the midst of heartbreak.

Know that God wants to heal you through this process. He wants to bring triumph out of the pain you are experiencing now, and set you on the path to a new, deeply fulfilling life.

In Christ,

Lisa Duffy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lisa Duffy is a Catholic author, speaker, and divorce recovery expert who experienced the tragedy of an unwanted divorce in the early 1990s. She has nearly 20 years of personal experience helping people rebuild their lives after divorce. Author of many books on divorce recovery and personal divorce recovery coach, she has also instituted the Journey of Hope program for Catholic divorce support groups in parishes across the United States and in Canada. Aside from her dedication to her family, Lisa speaks at conferences, appears on television and radio, coaches one-on-one and in groups, and holds online events. She resides in South Carolina with her husband and three children.

Dear friend:

If you are seeking answers about the Catholic annulment process after having gone through the pain of divorce, my heart is with you. While you certainly want technical answers to questions about the “process,” you’re probably searching even more for answers to the aching questions that weigh heavy on your heart:

How in the world did I end up here? How could God allow my marriage to end in divorce? Am I still accepted in my Church?

And perhaps most importantly, Where do I go from here?

These are critical questions, and you deserve honest answers. Rest assured, you are not alone. I speak from experience. I’ve been where you are and know what you are going through. In Mending the Heart: The Catholic Annulment Companion, I walk with you through the annulment process, taking a close look at the changes Pope Francis has made, and helping you discover ways to find hope and healing in the midst of heartbreak.

Know that God wants to heal you through this process. He wants to bring triumph out of the pain you are experiencing now, and set you on the path to a new, deeply fulfilling life.

In Christ,

Lisa Duffy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lisa Duffy is a Catholic author, speaker, and divorce recovery expert who experienced the tragedy of an unwanted divorce in the early 1990s. She has nearly 20 years of personal experience helping people rebuild their lives after divorce. Author of many books on divorce recovery and personal divorce recovery coach, she has also instituted the Journey of Hope program for Catholic divorce support groups in parishes across the United States and in Canada. Aside from her dedication to her family, Lisa speaks at conferences, appears on television and radio, coaches one-on-one and in groups, and holds online events. She resides in South Carolina with her husband and three children.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.