When You See Me: A Novel

Sold by Penguin
This book will become available on January 28, 2020. You will not be charged until it is released.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner unites three of her most beloved characters—Detective D. D. Warren, Flora Dane, and Kimberly Quincy—in a twisty new thriller, as they investigate a mysterious murder from the past...which points to a dangerous and chilling present-day crime.

FBI Special Agent Kimberly Quincy and Sergeant Detective D. D. Warren have built a task force to follow the digital bread crumbs left behind by deceased serial kidnapper Jacob Ness. When a disturbing piece of evidence is discovered in the hills of Georgia, they bring Flora Dane and true-crime savant Keith Edgar to a small town where something seems to be deeply wrong. What at first looks like a Gothic eeriness soon hardens into something much more sinister...and they discover that for all the evil Jacob committed while alive, his worst secret is still to be revealed. Quincy and DD must summon their considerable skills and experience to crack the most disturbing case of their careers—and Flora must face her own past directly in the hope of saving others.
Read more
Collapse

More by Lisa Gardner

See more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 28, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
400
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781524745011
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Someone is lying... and someone is dead.

When a young woman is found dead in her own bedroom, the Canterbury police are baffled. There’s no sign of a break-in and no evidence. It’s as though the killer has vanished overnight.

DI Edina Ogborne is determined to uncover the truth and, when another young woman survives a similar attack, she’s convinced the two incidents are connected. But the new victim, Gina, has her own ideas about how to bring her attacker to justice.

As Ed investigates, she soon realises not everything is quite what it seems – and that someone close to the case is lying. But will she find out who before it’s too late?

A gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons’s Child’s Play and Helen H. Durrant’s Dead Guilty.

What others are saying about The Victim:

‘Fast-paced, twisty, original and hugely entertaining.’ J. P. Carter, author of In Safe Hands.

‘Another gripping read from a strong new voice in police procedurals.’ Claire Allan, author of Her Name Was Rose.

‘This is definitely my favorite mystery thriller for 2019! Wow!’ Reader review

‘Could easily be read as a stand-alone... the twists and turns were excellent.’ Reader review

‘Absolutely loved this book...full of twists.’ Reader review

‘Bloody Brilliant!... a simply superb addition to the series. It's tense, dark and highly twisty! Its everything I look for in a good thriller... a complex, twisted yet intriguing plot.’ Reader review

‘Kept me racing through the pages... the surprises kept coming as the investigation intensifies... looking forward to another in this series and want to go back and read THE TAKEN GIRLS as well.’ Reader review

‘I read this in one sitting, could not put it down! ‘ Reader review

‘I loved it! Well written, good pace, strong characters, I felt tense and scared like I was in the story!’ Reader review

‘Perfect psychological thriller! It moved at a fast pace with twists and turns throughout! I couldn’t put it down! ‘ Reader review

A NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2019 SELECTION

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.