The Wartime Nanny: A totally unputdownable World War 2 historical novel

Bookouture
3
Free sample

The Nazis are everywhere now. We must leave Vienna. It might be that soon our letters won’t get out anymore. Can you help, dear sister? Please, ask for us. Send news, and quickly. Please.


London, 1938. Sixteen-year-old Natalie Leeman takes the heart-breaking decision to leave her family behind in Vienna and travel to England to join her cousin Leah in service. Natalie is placed with a wealthy suburban family, the Caplins, as a nanny to their energetic six-year-old.


At first, Natalie is delighted by the huge house and beautiful gardens, but things aren’t as perfect as they seem. While Natalie dotes on their child, she is increasingly wary of Mr Caplin, whose gruff manor and fascist politics scare her. And then there are those still waiting at home – Mama and her two sisters, as well as a blossoming romance with her English tutor that had only just begun.


But when Vienna falls under Nazi rule, Natalie begins to fear for her family, especially her vivacious, tomboy little sister Libby. Then rumours of a possible escape route from mainland Europe called the kindertransport begin to swirl – can Natalie help her family escape the Nazis before it’s too late?


A heartbreaking wartime novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of The Alice NetworkThe Tattooist of Auschwitz and Before We Were Yours.


What readers are saying about Lizzie Page:


‘Twists and turns that keep you turning the page… I must read one more chapter before I turn out the light for the night… fans who enjoyed The Nightingale or Sold on a Monday will love this book as much as me. Authentic, heart-tugging and soul-stirring. Be sure to have tissues nearby.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Brought me to tears… If you like romantic historical fiction, particularly which is set in wartime, then this is the book for you! This, at times, bought tears to my eyes and equally a warm glow to my heart.’ Stardust Book Reviews


‘Lizzie Page has gone and done it again with this beautiful, poignant and immensely emotional story… She is by far one of my favourite authors… Lizzie you have blown me away.’ Chicks Rogues and Scandals5 stars


I adore Lizzie Page’s writing and the way she so brilliantly blends fact and fiction.’ Jill Mansell, bestselling author


‘Page is a wonderful writerone that draws me in to the story completely and utterly … wonderful characters… brilliantly plotted with a delightfully intertwined story, it has the heartbreak of war and a gorgeous love story… fantastic.’ Short Book and Scribes, 5 stars


The story is heartbreaking… This is an all-round excellent read, without a doubt 5 stars from me.’ Booking Good Read5 stars


This book was hard to put down… One of the best historical fiction books I've read in a very long time.’ Shelly’s Book Nook, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 11, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
353
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838882075
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.