Dark Rage: A Novel of Electrifying Suspense

Open Road Media
Free sample

On the day before Thanksgiving, a madman rains terror on an airport

Laurel Kring sits in his garage, blaring John Coltrane as he writes his manifesto. When he has every word in place, he returns to his living room, wraps his arms around his wife, and puts a bullet in her side. She will only be the first to die.
 
At Detroit Metropolitan Airport, Jack Riker is wearing a heart monitor. An ex–homicide cop working as airport police until his pension comes through, Jack has been feeling heart palpitations, and his doctor suggested he wear the monitor for an ordinary workday. But this Thanksgiving will be anything but normal. When Laurel Kring descends on Detroit Metro, intent on carrying out the next step in his manifesto, thousands of passengers will be at his mercy, and Riker will have to stop Kring—if his heart doesn’t fail him first.  
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Lowell Cauffiel is an American novelist, screenwriter, and producer. He began his career as a journalist, contributing to publications including Rolling Stone and the Detroit News. In 1988, he entered the world of true-crime writing, publishing his first book, Masquerade. He later went on to write the New York Times bestseller House of Secrets. More recently, he has begun writing and producing crime documentaries and made his directorial debut in 2012 with the film Men in a Box
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 8, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
260
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781497649705
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
DI Will Jackman Series - Amazon Top 5 Bestseller'I thought I'd never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.' --Ian Patrick, writer and former DS with the Metropolitan PoliceTHE SECOND DI WILL JACKMAN CRIME THRILLERThe floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie HannahWhat Reviewers and Readers Say:‘A sharp, gripping read which drew me in from the first page. With engaging characters and an impressive level of authenticity, this is a police procedural that you won’t be able to put down.’ Caroline Mitchell, author of The Silent Twin ‘If you like pacy convincing police procedurals this is one for you.’ Kate Ellis, author of the 'Wesley Peterson' crime series ‘A tense police procedural with a fantastic plot and intense characters. I devoured the book in record time and look forward to reading more about DI Will Jackman.’ Lisa Cutts, author of the 'DC Nina Foster' series and 'Mercy Killing' ‘Jane Isaac is a highly skilled writer... she dissects the complexities of crime and human emotions with impressive insight and compassion.’ Kate Rhodes, author of the acclaimed 'Alice Quentin' series ‘A very convincing police procedural with the delectable DI Will Jackman at the helm.’ Louise Voss, best-selling author ‘A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.’ Rebecca Bradley, author of 'Shallow Waters'‘Carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets.’ Angela Clarke, author of 'Follow Me'
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.