Die Mitternachtsrose: Roman

Goldmann Verlag
1
Free sample

Von den verborgenen Geheimnissen eines englischen Herrenhauses zu der Pracht indischer Paläste

Innerlich aufgelöst kommt die junge amerikanische Schauspielerin Rebecca Bradley im englischen Dartmoor an, wo ein altes Herrenhaus als Kulisse für einen Film dient, der in den 1920er Jahren spielt. Vor ihrer Abreise hat die Nachricht von Rebeccas angeblicher Verlobung eine Hetzjagd der Medien auf die junge Frau ausgelöst, doch in der Abgeschiedenheit von Astbury Hall kommt Rebecca allmählich zur Ruhe. Als sie jedoch erkennt, dass sie Lady Violet, der Großmutter des Hausherrn Lord Astbury, frappierend ähnlich sieht, ist ihre Neugier geweckt.
Dann taucht Ari Malik auf: ein junger Inder, den das Vermächtnis seiner Urgroßmutter Anahita nach Astbury Hall geführt hat. Je mehr Rebecca aber in die Vergangenheit und in ihre Rolle eintaucht, beginnen Realität und Fiktion zu verwischen – und schließlich kommt sie nicht nur Anahitas Geschichte auf die Spur, sondern auch dem dunklen Geheimnis, das wie ein Fluch über der Dynastie der Astburys zu liegen scheint...

Read more

More by Lucinda Riley

See more
The first book in a major new series from #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley, author of The Midnight Rose—hailed as “an extraordinary story [and] a complex, deeply engaging tale filled with fascinating characters” (Library Journal).

Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each sister is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue that takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story.

Eighty years earlier in the Rio of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to complete his vision. Izabela—passionate and longing to see the world—convinces her father to allow her to accompany him and his family to Europe before she is married. There, at Paul Landowski’s studio and in the heady, vibrant cafes of Montparnasse, she meets ambitious young sculptor Laurent Brouilly, and knows at once that her life will never be the same again.

In this sweeping, epic tale of love and loss—the first in a unique, spellbinding new series—Lucinda Riley showcases her storytelling talents like never before.
"Riley's engaging and mezmerizing story of self-discovery and love...can be perfectly read as a standalone. This book will appeal to readers of Edwardian novels and Jane Austen-style fiction." —Library Journal (starred review)

“[Lucinda Riley] is a master of plotting… This substantial book is a surprisingly quick and easy read, with engaging characters, a tantalizing glimpse of Edwardian society, and dual storylines that are inventive and intriguing.”—Historical Novel Society

In this spellbinding novel, two independent women—separated by a hundred years but linked by forces larger than themselves—discover the secrets of their birth in the spellbinding third book of an epic series by New York Times bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

Star D’Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to their true heritage, and Star’s clue leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a new journey.

A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter. But when circumstances carry her to London, and into the home of one of Edwardian England’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel, she finds herself a pawn in a larger game; forced to choose between passionate love and duty to her family. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman reveals answers Flora has been searching for…

Star’s voyage of discovery takes her deep into Flora’s remarkable story, and into her own past. But the more she uncovers, the more Star begins to question herself, and her place in the world.

Ideal for fans of Downton Abbey and the historical fiction of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah, The Shadow Sister is the “perfect curl-up-in-an-armchair read” (Daily Mail) for anyone who wants to travel through the lush English countryside and explore the lives and loves of the British aristocracy.
3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Goldmann Verlag
Read more
Published on
Jan 27, 2014
Read more
Pages
592
Read more
ISBN
9783641125554
Read more
Language
German
Read more
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.