The Broken Hearts Book Club (A Luna Bay Novel)

Sold by HarperCollins UK
7
Free sample

Secrets never stay buried for long...

Lucy Harper has always been good at one thing: running from her past. But when her beloved Nana Lily passes away she has no choice except to return to the one place in the world she most wants to avoid...

Luna Bay hasn't changed much in the eight years she has spent in London. The little Yorkshire village is still just as beautiful, but the new pub landlord is a gorgeous addition to the scenery!

Lucy only intended to stay for a day, yet when she discovers that Nana Lily has not only left her a cottage but also 'The Broken Hearts Book Club', Lucy is intrigued. Her Nana never have mentioned the club and Lucy can't wait to get started, but walking into her first meeting she is more aware than ever that her past is finally catching up with her.

One way or another, Lucy must finally face the past she left behind – or spend the rest of her life on the run...

The Broken Hearts Book Club is the second novel by Lynsey James – don’t miss her brilliantly funny debut Just the Way You Are

What reviewers are saying about The Broken Hearts Book Club

‘The Broken Hearts Book Club is perfect for these colder, darker nights – it’s like a big warm comfort blanket in book form!’ – Rather Too Fond of Books

‘I adored this book. From the gorgeous setting of Luna Bay to the highly likable protagonist, The Broken Hearts Book Club was a total treat.’ – Blabbering About Books

‘This is a wonderfully romantic and gripping read that goes really well with a snuggly blanket and a squishy sofa to curl up on.’ – Daniel Riding

‘This book had me smiling all the way through there were many magical and funny moments (the plumbing incident) had me chuckling away . There were twists along the way one I certainly did not predict!!!!’ – Nat’s Reading Cloud

‘Lynsey James offers up a feel-good page-turner here. Her writing style is a familiar hug to keep you warm on a cold day and it’s friendly tone, her comfort in using an informal dialect will draw you in and make you feel at home.’ – Brizzle Lass

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Lynsey James was born in Fife and is an incurable bookworm. A careers adviser at school once told her writing wasn’t a “good option” so, Lynsey has tried a little bit of everything, including make-up artistry, teaching and doing admin for a chocolate fountain company. Now she finally has fulfilled her dream and is writing full time. When not writing, eating cake or drinking tea, she’s daydreaming about the day Dylan O’Brien finally realises they’re meant to be together. It’ll happen one day... Follow her on Twitter at @Lynsey1991

Read more
Collapse
4.4
7 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 12, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781474035903
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Give in to your love of scandal, secrets and shopping with the sparkling Marrying Mr Darcy trilogy – the perfect Christmas treat for Jane Austen fans.

And the Bride Wore Prada...

She’s dated Mr Darcy...

Hounded by the paparazzi ever since news of their engagement broke, Gemma and Dominic are flying to Scotland for a romantic getaway. But they didn’t expect to find Dominic’s ex, Natalie, and her husband Rhys, on the very same flight – or to be snowed in!

Where better for a discreetly decadent wedding than in the middle of nowhere? But marrying an A-lister away from prying eyes was never going to be easy. Will Gemma make it up the aisle? And, more importantly, now she’s miles away from Vera Wang, what is this fashionista going to wear?!

Love, Lies and Liability...

The course of a celebrity marriage never did run smooth...

Gemma Heath has managed to get her rock-star husband Dominic to settle down – and has the ring to prove it! But when she sees photos of Dominic on his private jet with the latest pop sensation, Gemma can’t help but assume the worst.

When her old flame Jack resurfaces, Gemma can’t resist engaging in some extra-marital flirtation of her own. But she wasn’t prepared for her old attraction to resurface! Gemma has a decision to make – and running away from her problems has never been her style. Especially not when she’s in sky-high stilettos!

Manolos in Manhattan

She’s a fiancée of good fortune...

Strutting down Park Avenue in her new Manolos, Holly James looks like a woman who has it all. But beneath the Prada sunglasses, Holly has a mounting list of decidedly unfabulous problems.

Being kissed by film star Ciaran Duncan should have been a much-needed boost to Holly’s ego. But losing herself in the moment is impossible, since she’s still fuming after meeting English lawyer Hugh Darcy. He’s easily the most arrogant man in Manhattan...so why can’t Holly stop thinking about him? Suddenly, Holly’s torn between three eligible bachelors...and it’s proving more difficult than choosing between a Manolo Blanik and a Jimmy Choo – especially since men are non-refundable!

Escape to the Devon coast, with Part One of a brand-new four-part serial from the author of Willow Cottage.

Daisy Wickens has returned to Ottercombe Bay, the picturesque Devon town where her mother died when she was a girl. She plans to leave as soon as her great uncle’s funeral is over, but Great Uncle Reg had other ideas. He’s left Daisy a significant inheritance – an old building in a state of disrepair, which could offer exciting possibilities, but to get it she must stay in Ottercombe Bay for twelve whole months.

With the help of a cast of quirky locals, a few gin cocktails and a black pug with plenty of attitude, Daisy might just turn this into something special. But can she ever hope to be happy among the ghosts of her past?

Authors and readers love Bella Osborne’s gorgeous novels:

‘I really enjoy Bella Osborne’s books’ – Katie Fforde

‘An absolutely glorious read full of laugh out loud moments and beautifully observed characters who spring to life on the page’ Phillipa Ashley

‘A warm and engaging story with relatable characters who will worm their way into your heart. A great read!’ – Talli Roland

‘Loved it! Believable characters, a sweetly told, lovely story... a great read’ – Jane Lovering

‘Romance, comedy, and mystery abound in this delightful British novel’ – I Read That Book!

‘A great read, with some really special moments... so beautiful and romantic’ – Annie’s Book Corner

‘A well-written and charming tale.’ – Paris Baker’s Book Nook

‘I wasn't expecting a debut novel to be this good’ – The Bookish & The Romantic

'Makes me feel like I should be reading it while wearing a tea dress, drinking posh coffee from a china cup and eating Victoria sandwich cake with a dainty little fork. It's charming, adorable, amusing and all those sorts of words' – Escape Into Words

'This book is perfect chick lit' – Gidget Girls Reading

What could she possibly have in common with a man whose watch costs more than her car?

Georgia may be slowing down a bit at sixty, but she isn’t stupid yet. The idea of her genuinely dating Dr. Brentwood Colombo, aka Hollywood when he poses in her doorway… well, that’s just totally insane.

Where is her dignity? Where is her pride? How did she let her snickering friends dare her into giving him a chance?

And where is the kind, caring daughter she raised? Mariah’s been replaced with an evil version who keeps insisting she give the womanizing plastic surgeon who dates twenty year olds a fair chance. A fair chance at what, Georgia wonders? Breaking her heart?

No, thank you. She would rather keep her womanly dignity than see it trampled under Hollywood’s expensive, polished shoes. Now if he’d just stop talking about her perfect, perfect breasts, she might forget about him completely.

***

ABOUT THE PERFECT DATE SERIES

The essence of all romantic comedy is that falling in love and navigating an unexpected romance is never easy or simple. Instead, it’s messy and emotional, and if you’re lucky, it’s also sexy and fun.

Some relationship professionals, like my character of Dr. Mariah Bates in this series, sincerely want to help people find their perfect love match. For the various heroines I’ve created, many of whom are older, Mariah’s going to need all the help she can get. Or maybe she just needs to step out of the way. You can be the judge.

NOTE ABOUT THE HEAT LEVEL: Not being a fan of the word “clean” when applied to romance, I will instead say the heat level in this new series is in the 1-2 range, rather than 3-4 like some of my others. The focus is on sensuality and I’ve packed a lot into these stories.
‘If you can’t wait for a little more warmth this summer, get reading Just The Way You Are, and you’ll have all the sunshine you need.' – Lisa Dickenson, author of The Twelve Dates of Christmas, You Had Me at Merlot and Catch Me If You Cannes A laugh-out-loud treat for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Giovanna Fletcher

Dear Ava,
How do you start writing a letter to someone, six years after breaking their heart?

Ava is unlucky in love as well as in life. The new office bitch has landed the dating column Ava wanted, and she can't remember the last time she had a second date. It's a good thing she has best friends Max and Gwen to pick up the pieces.

Deep down, Ava knows the reason why one date never turns into two – she's in love with someone else. Someone she's never even met.

It all started six years ago, with a letter from a secret admirer, Mr Writer... but then they suddenly stopped and Ava was heartbroken.

Now the letters have started again and Ava knows it could mean winning back the dating column at work. This time she's determined to unmask Mr Writer... and find out once and for all if he's Mr Right or Mr Very Definitely Wrong!

Don’t miss the new unforgettable romance from Lynsey James – The Broken Hearts Book Club – out now!

Praise for Lynsey James

'... I loved that Lynsey made me so invested in the characters – not just Ava, all of them. They all have their quirks and their flaws; they made me laugh, they made me cry and they made me want to scream at my Kindle. That marks the sign of fantastically real characters.' – Jenny in Neverland

‘A feel-good...contemporary romance with a difference. Lynsey’s writing style kept me captivated, right to the very end.’ – Reviewed the Book

‘Just the Way You Are is one of those books which shows if you find love, or are secretly in love then shout it out loud, fight for it, and never let it go... It's a beautiful little story with an ending that was sublime.’ – Book Addict Shaun

‘a breath of fresh air. Lynsey James has a flare for writing captivating characters, and has produced a wonderful debut novel.’ – Into the Bookcase

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.