The Nethers: Frontiers of Hinterland

Diversion Books

In the jaw-dropping sequel to Jonesbridge, M.E. Parker takes readers on a furious ride through bedlam, perfect for fans of Mad Max and Hugh Howey's Wool.

"...Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history... M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest...” —Peter Tieryas Liu, author of United States of Japan

The distance between your cell and freedom is a hell of a journey.

As Jonesbridge descends into chaos, Myron seizes an opportunity as a member of a mobile recovery squad, sent to salvage metal. He wanders the Nethers, where he meets a nomad who seeks out people for delivery to a mysterious place called Mesa Gap in exchange for fresh water and supplies. On their journey, they encounter dangerous groups of cultists and fanatics, as well as refugees, as desperate as Myron for a way out.

Myron’s love Sindra survives, banished for giving birth, and is now holed up in a village by the sea. Myron’s mission is to get to Sindra, and then to get them both through the ancient highway that promises freedom. To get there, though, will test every limit, and force Myron to make decisions that could ultimately alter the future of what is left of the human race.
Read more

About the author

M.E. Parker is the founding editor of the nationally recognized Camera Obscura Journal of Literature & Photography, now an online artifact. He is a fiction writer with a background in physics whose short stories have recently appeared in numerous literary journals. “Hinterland” is his first novel.

Read more



Additional Information

Diversion Books
Read more
Published on
Jul 5, 2016
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.