The Nethers

Hinterland

Book 2
Diversion Publishing Corp.
Free sample

In the jaw-dropping sequel to Jonesbridge, M. E. Parker takes readers on a furious ride through bedlam—perfect for fans of Mad Max and Hugh Howey’s Wool.
 
The distance between your cell and freedom is a hell of a journey.
 
As Jonesbridge descends into chaos, Myron seizes an opportunity as a member of a mobile recovery squad, sent to salvage metal. He wanders the Nethers, where he meets a nomad who seeks out people for delivery to a mysterious place called Mesa Gap in exchange for fresh water and supplies. On their journey, they encounter dangerous groups of cultists and fanatics, as well as refugees, as desperate as Myron for a way out.
 
Myron’s love, Sindra, was banished for giving birth, and is now holed up in a village by the sea. Myron’s mission is to get Sindra and flee through the ancient highway that promises freedom. His journey will test every limit, and force Myron to make decisions that could ultimately alter the future of what is left of the human race.
 
“Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history . . . M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest.” —Peter Tieryas, author of United States of Japan
Read more
Collapse

About the author

M. E. Parker is the founding editor of the nationally recognized Camera Obscura Journal of Literature & Photography, now an online artifact. He is a fiction writer with a background in physics whose short stories have recently appeared in numerous literary journals. Hinterland is his first novel.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Diversion Publishing Corp.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 5, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
191
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781682300732
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A dystopian steampunk novel of a young man and woman desperate to escape—and destroy—the complex that has imprisoned them. From the author of The Nethers.
 
In this world-building series, perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 and Hugh Howey’s Wool, there are those who resist the grim future forced upon them . . .
 
Myron enters the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex as a worker, a prisoner, commanded to harvest the scant resources that enable the powers that be to continue waging an unwinnable war. When Sindra—a fellow prisoner and a spirited fighter—joins him at the salvage line, he finds a new reason to live. Even though any attempt to leave will lead to execution, Myron and Sindra plan a daring escape.
 
But when a guard is found murdered and Myron is blamed for the crime, it appears they will not get the chance to attempt to fly over the gorge that separates Jonesbridge from the rest of the world. It will take everything that Myron and Sindra have to merely survive their brutal overlords. It will take even more to set them both free. As their world changes, Myron and Sindra work through the Jonesbridge underground, meeting a mesmerizing cast of characters—dangerous survivors bent on destroying Jonesbridge once and for all.
 
“Jonesbridge isn’t just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history . . . M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit, navigating us through his powerful prose that is unflinchingly honest.” —Peter Tieryas, author of United States of Japan
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.