The Big F

Sold by Macmillan
1
Free sample

A spunky, contemporary novel about friendship, failure, and what happens when things don’t go according to plan, ideal for readers who like their heroines smart and strong—but not perfect.

Nominated for Best Young Adult Novel by the 2017 RT Reviewers' Choice Awards!

Danielle's plans for the future were all figured out... until she failed senior English and her single college acceptance was rescinded. Determined to get her life back on track, Danielle enrolls in her hometown community college with a plan: pass English and get back into Ohio State—and her mother’s good graces. Romance isn't on her radar... until she reconnects with her childhood crush and golden boy next door, Luke.

Between family drama, first love and finding her own way, Danielle can't help but feel a little overwhelmed. Thankfully she has her friendship with the snarky and frustratingly attractive Porter, her coworker at the campus bookstore, to push her to experience new things and help keep her afloat. One thing's for sure: This time, failure's not an option.

Chosen by readers like you for Macmillan's young adult imprint Swoon Reads, The Big F is a smart, funny, and highly relatable novel by debut author Maggie Ann Martin about finding your own way after one epic fail.

Praise for The Big F:

"The quirkiest, most fun-loving read of [the year] so far!" —RT Book Reviews

"Danielle is a savvy, likable character with whom teens will easily identify." —School Library Journal

"An easy, enjoyable read." —VOYA

"Fun, cute, and totally relatable." —Book Allure

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Maggie Ann Martin, author of The Big F and To Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She earned her BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet.
Read more
Collapse
1.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Macmillan
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 29, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781250123220
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Young Adult Fiction / School & Education / College & University
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An NPR Best YA Book of 2018

The author of The Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary novel about loving yourself and forging your own path.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor.

Praise for To Be Honest:

"Savvy’s story is a welcome one in today’s YA market and will help spread a much-needed message to teens about parental mental health issues and the potential dangers of diet culture." —School Library Journal, starred review

"I love that the book, itself, is not obsessed with its plus-size main character. ... It's a shame that books like this are so few and far between." —NPR

"To Be Honest captures the struggle to be proud of who you are and to find the courage to live boldly, no matter your shape or size ... For fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Dumplin’." —GERM Magazine

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.