The Penny Bangle

Charton Minster

Book 3
Choc Lit
4
Free sample

Amid the chaos of WWII, an aristocratic soldier finds love with a Birmingham factory girl in this sweeping historical romance.
 
England, 1942. To escape the bombings in Birmingham, munitions worker Cassie Taylor has secured work on a family farm in Dorset. The aristocratic Denham family has fallen on hard times, especially with their twin sons, Stephen and Robert, recovering from war injuries. Though Cassie lied to the Labour Exchange about her experience, she’s determined to prove herself—especially to Robert, whose criticism soon gives way to admiration . . . and then something more.
 
Just as Cassie discovers the sweetness beneath Robert’s brooding exterior, he’s sent back into battle. From the lush hills of Dorset to the Egyptian front, Robert and Cassie remain united in love. But when Robert is reported missing and presumed dead, will Cassie await his return, or accept Stephen’s offer to take his place?
 
Rich in historical detail, this emotional wartime saga offers “a lovely story” with “a spirited heroine” (Historical Novel Society).
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Margaret James was born and brought up in Hereford and now lives in Devon. She studied English at London University, and has written many short stories, articles, and serials for magazines. James is the author of sixteen published novels. Her debut novel for Choc Lit, The Silver Locket, received a glowing review from the Daily Mail and reached the Top 20 Small Publishers Fiction List in November 2010 and in the same year a Reviewers’ Choice Award from Single Titles. The Golden Chain also hit the Top 20 Small Publishers Fiction List in May 2011. James is a long-standing contributor to Writing Magazine for which she writes the Fiction Focus column and an author interview for each issue. She’s also a creative writing tutor for the London School of Journalism.
Read more
Collapse
4.2
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Choc Lit
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 7, 2012
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781906931964
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This incredible debut historical novel—in the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson—tells the fascinating story of a young mother who flees her home on the rocky cliffs of Cornwall and the daughter who finds her way back, seeking answers.

Cornwall, 1940. Back in England after the harrowing evacuation at Dunkirk, WWII Red Cross nurse Anna Trenowyth is shocked to learn her adoptive parents Graham and Prue Handley have been killed in an air raid. She desperately needs their advice as she’s been assigned to the military hospital that has set up camp inside her biological mother’s childhood home—Nanreath Hall. Anna was just six-years-old when her mother, Lady Katherine Trenowyth, died. All she has left are vague memories that tease her with clues she can’t unravel. Anna’s assignment to Nanreath Hall could be the chance for her to finally become acquainted with the family she’s never known—and to unbury the truth and secrets surrounding her past.

Cornwall, 1913. In the luxury of pre-WWI England, Lady Katherine Trenowyth is expected to do nothing more than make a smart marriage and have a respectable life. When Simon Halliday, a bohemian painter, enters her world, Katherine begins to question the future that was so carefully laid out for her. Her choices begin to lead her away from the stability of her home and family toward a wild existence of life, art, and love. But as everything begins to fall apart, Katherine finds herself destitute and alone.

As Anna is drawn into her newfound family’s lives and their tangled loyalties, she discovers herself at the center of old heartbreaks and unbearable tragedies, leaving her to decide if the secrets of the past are too dangerous to unearth…and if the family she’s discovered is one she can keep.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.