The Silver Locket

Choc Lit Limited
2
Free sample

Amidst the chaos of World War I, a nurse and wounded soldier find love in this historical romance from the author of The Wedding Diary.
 
On the eve of the First World War, young Rose Courtenay is torn between marrying the man her parents chose for her or following her heart and joining the war effort. Ultimately the chance to escape her parents’ desires proves irresistible, and Rose journeys to France to become a nurse.
 
Far from home, she meets a dark figure from her past. Lieutenant Alex Denham is the last man in the world she’d get involved with—especially now that he’s married. But in wartime nothing is as it seems. Alex’s marriage is a sham and Rose is the only woman he’s ever wanted. But while his gift of a silver locket may be a declaration of love, Rose isn’t sure she can trust him with her heart.
 
Moving from rural Dorset to war-torn London and the horrors of the Western Front, The Silver Locket is a compelling story of the enduring power of love, and courage in all its forms.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Margaret James was born and brought up in Hereford and now lives in Devon. She studied English at London University, and has written many short stories, articles and serials for magazines. She is the author of sixteen published novels.

Her debut novel for Choc Lit, The Silver Locket, received a glowing review from the Daily Mail and in the same year a Reviewers’ Choice Award from Single Titles.. Her novel The Wedding Diary was a finalist for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award.

Margaret is a long standing contributor to Writing Magazine for which she writes the Fiction Focus column and an author interview for each issue. She’s also a creative writing tutor.

Read more
Collapse
4.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Choc Lit Limited
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 1, 2010
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781906931360
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / World War I
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

‘A beautiful, heart-warming story of friendship and love... one of the best books set during the war that I have had the pleasure of reading.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘Completely spellbinding – I absolutely loved it.’ Elizabeth Gill, bestselling author of Miss Appleby’s Academy

 

As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young women will become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend. A gritty, emotional read for fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin and A Shilling for a Wife.

 

1914 – Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.

 

At the emergency medical shelter where they’re based, Elsie and Mairi work around the clock to treat wounded soldiers. It’s heart-breaking work and they are at constant risk from shelling, fire and disease. But there are also happier times… parties, trips and letters. And maybe even the possibility of love with an attractive officer in their care…

 

But as the war continues and the stress of duty threatens to pull the two women apart, will Elsie and Mairi’s special nurses’ bond be strong enough to see them through?

 

A powerfully moving wartime saga – you won’t want to put it down!

What everyone’s saying about The War Nurses:

‘I absolutely loved this beautifully written book, and was so absorbed in the story that I did not want it to end…This is a book to savour… A poignant, absolutely stunning tale, one of the best books set during the war that I have had the pleasure of reading – very highly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

 ‘A great book full of friendship and hope during the war. Lizzie has written a compelling book bringing many emotions to the surface. A brilliant saga novel. Can't wait for the next one.’ Chells and Books

‘At times I had to suspend disbelief - only to later find that the unbelievable things were true. Because Mairi and Elsie really did exist -  and Page breathes life into their story.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

‘Absolutely fantastic book.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A very good read... I was amazed at what both women did during the war… An inspiring and eye-opening book.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An interesting fictional narrative based on real people and I would recommend it to friends’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A very nice wartime story.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Completely spellbinding – I absolutely loved it. The storyline is wonderful and the characters just bounce off the page. I love how she’s captured the essence of the time.’ Elizabeth Gill, bestselling author of Nobody’s Child

Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS

 

NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER

#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year!

One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year!

Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick!

The Girly Book Club Book of the Year!

A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub

 

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.

1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister.

1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.

Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads.

“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.