Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race

Sold by HarperCollins
153
Free sample

The #1 New York Times bestseller

The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monae, Kirsten Dunst, and Kevin Costner.

Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space.

Among these problem-solvers were a group of exceptionally talented African American women, some of the brightest minds of their generation. Originally relegated to teaching math in the South’s segregated public schools, they were called into service during the labor shortages of World War II, when America’s aeronautics industry was in dire need of anyone who had the right stuff. Suddenly, these overlooked math whizzes had a shot at jobs worthy of their skills, and they answered Uncle Sam’s call, moving to Hampton, Virginia and the fascinating, high-energy world of the Langley Memorial Aeronautical Laboratory.

Even as Virginia’s Jim Crow laws required them to be segregated from their white counterparts, the women of Langley’s all-black “West Computing” group helped America achieve one of the things it desired most: a decisive victory over the Soviet Union in the Cold War, and complete domination of the heavens.

Starting in World War II and moving through to the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and the Space Race, Hidden Figures follows the interwoven accounts of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson and Christine Darden, four African American women who participated in some of NASA’s greatest successes. It chronicles their careers over nearly three decades they faced challenges, forged alliances and used their intellect to change their own lives, and their country’s future.

 

Read more

About the author

Margot Lee Shetterly grew up in Hampton, Virginia, where she knew many of the women in her book Hidden Figures. She is an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow and the recipient of a Virginia Foundation for the Humanities grant for her research on women in computing. She lives in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Read more
4.6
153 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins
Read more
Published on
Sep 6, 2016
Read more
Pages
368
Read more
ISBN
9780062363619
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
History / United States / 20th Century
Science / Space Science
Social Science / Ethnic Studies / African American Studies
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Azoknak a fekete matematikusnőknek a rendkívüli, igaz története, akik a feminista és a polgárjogi mozgalmak viharai közepette a NASA-nál végzett számításaikkal járultak hozzá Amerika legjelentősebb űrbéli tetteihez. 

Mielőtt John Glenn körberepülte a Földet, Neil Armstrong pedig a Holdra lépett, egy „emberi számítógépek” néven ismert, női matematikusokból álló csoport ceruzák, logarlécek és mechanikus számológépek segítségével számolta ki azokat az adatokat, amelyek felhasználásával aztán rakétákat és asztronautákat lőttek fel az űrbe.
Ennek a csoportnak jó néhány kivételesen tehetséges afroamerikai nő is a tagja volt, akik koruk legkiválóbb elméi közé tartoztak. Eredetileg matematikát tanítottak az amerikai Dél szegregált iskoláiban, ám amikor a második világháború idején az ország repülőgépipara súlyos munkaerőhiánnyal küzdött, őket is bevetették.  A matematikazsenik, akiken eddig keresztülnéztek, egyszerre a tehetségükhöz méltó álláshoz jutottak, és Uncle Sam hívására örömmel költöztek a virginiai Hamptonba, hogy a Langley Memorial Repülésügyi Laboratórium lenyűgöző világában dolgozhassanak.

A Virginiában érvényben lévő Jim Crow-törvények értelmében nem integrálódhattak ugyan be fehér társaik közé, a kizárólag fekete nőkből álló „nyugati komputer” csoport azonban így is sokat tett azért, hogy Amerika valóra válthassa egyik legnagyobb álmát: döntő győzelmet arasson a Szovjetunió fölött a hidegháborúban, és egyeduralmat szerezzen a mennyek felett.

A számolás joga a második világháborútól kezdve a hidegháborún, a polgárjogi mozgalmakon és az űrversenyen keresztül követi nyomon Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson és Christine Darden, a NASA legnagyobb sikereihez hozzájáruló négy afroamerikai nő egymásba szövődő életútját. Tanúi lehetünk, hogy karrierjük a könyvben szereplő majdnem három évtizede alatt hogyan néznek szembe a kihívásokkal, hogyan lépnek szövetségre és hogyan használják fel az intellektusukat ahhoz, hogy megváltoztassák az életüket és a hazájuk jövőjét.

A könyv alapján, Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monáe, Kirsten Dunst és Kevin Costner főszereplésével film is készült, melyet 3 Oscar-díjra jelöltek. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=it-cjFSjl08

Esta é a história incrível de um grupo de matemáticas afro-americanas que, com os seus cálculos, ajudaram a NASA e os EUA em alguns dos acontecimentos mais importantes da corrida espacial.

Este livro começa na Segunda Guerra Mundial e desenvolve-se durante a Guerra Fria, o movimento dos direitos civis e da corrida espacial. Elementos Secretos segue a vida de Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson e Christine Darden, quatro mulheres afro-americanas que participaram em vários dos maiores sucessos da NASA. É uma crónica de quase três décadas durante as quais essas mulheres enfrentaram desafios, forjaram alianças e usaram o seu intelecto para mudar as suas próprias vidas e o futuro do seu país.

Antes que John Glenn descrevesse uma órbita à volta da terra ou Neil Armstrong caminhasse na lua, um grupo de matemáticas conhecido como os «computadores humanos» calculava, com lápis, réguas e calculadoras simples, equações complicadas que permitiriam lançar os foguetões e os astronautas para o espaço.

Entre estas “calculadoras” havia um pequeno grupo excecional de mulheres afro-americanas, especialmente talentosas. Faziam parte das mentes mais brilhantes da sua geração. Mulheres que tinham sido relegadas para ensinar matemática em escolas públicas só para negros do Sul, mas que foram chamadas para servir durante a Segunda Guerra Mundial, devido à escassez de mão de obra, quando a indústria da aviação necessitava de qualquer pessoa que pudesse ajudar. De repente, essas mulheres desvalorizadas até então, encontraram empregos adequados à sua genialidade, e responderam afirmativamente à chamada do Tio Sam e foram para Hampton, na Virgínia, para o fascinante laboratório aeronáutico de Langley.

Mesmo ali, foram segregadas do resto das mulheres porque a Lei na Virgínia assim o estabelecia. Deste modo, esta equipa ajudou de forma excelente a que os Estados Unidos ganhassem a corrida espacial à URSS durante a Guerra Fria.

Esta é a história verdadeira das mulheres matemáticas afro-americanas da NASA, cujos cálculos ajudaram a concretizar alguns dos maiores feitos americanos no espaço, na qual se baseia a próxima grande estreia de Hollywood.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.