Turn Up the Heat: Volume 4

· Turn Up the Heat Book 4 · Sourcebooks, Inc.
4.8
4 reviews
Ebook
312
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

For fans of Jaci Burton and Roxanne St. Claire comes a smokin' hot contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Harte:
  • Enemies to lovers romance
  • Sexy Seattle firefighters
  • Undeniable passion and scorching, high heat
  • A little bit of playful competition
  • Adorable dogs from the local animal rescue

Officer Cass Carmichael loves her job and does it well. Giving firefighter Mack Revere a speeding ticket after a warning was deserved. Knocking him off his feet in a soccer game? Beating him at darts, dominoes, and pool? Par for the course. Cass has always played to win. Yet when she fails to resist Mack's kisses, she doesn't mind losing.

Every time Cass sneers or jeers, Mack likes her a little bit more. For a firefighter, he's a laid back guy in a profession that takes a lot of heart. Though he's used to handling the heat, Cass makes him burn. But they both have concerns about their families and their futures, and Mack and Cass will need to decide if they should fan the flames between them or douse what might have been before one of them gets burned.

Praise for Marie Harte:

"Searing sensuality, expert writing, and heartfelt emotion."—Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author

"Marie Harte at her best... Hot alpha, a strong woman, and amazing writing!"—Donna Grant, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package

"High octane chemistry that keeps the pages turning and your engine revving!"—Gina L. Maxwell, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author

4.8
4 reviews
Sandy S.
March 29, 2022
TURN UP THE HEAT is the fourth instalment in Marie Harte’s contemporary, adult TURN UP THE HEAT erotic, firefighter romance series. This is twenty-eight year old, police officer Cassandra ‘Cass’ Carmichael, and thirty year old firefighter/EMT Mackenzie ‘Mack’ Revere’s story line, TURN UP THE HEAT can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story lines is revealed where necessary. Told from dual third person perspectives (Cass and Mack) TURN UP THE HEAT follows the building romance and relationship between twenty-eight year old, police officer Cassandra ‘Cass’ Carmichael, and thirty year old firefighter/EMT Mackenzie ‘Mack’ Revere. The Seattle PD and Seattle FD have always had a bit of a rivalry both on and off the proverbial field but none moreso than during their soccer scrimmage matches where officer Cass Carmichael’s reputation as a hard a$$ preceded her introduction to our story line hero. Immediately attracted to Cassandra Carmichael, Mackenzie Revere has no idea that there are people behind the scenes working to push our couple together but rivalry between the PD and FD becomes personal when Mack continues to find himself on the outside looking in when his own family of police personnel, treat our hero like he doesn’t belong. What ensues is the building romance and relationship between Mack and Cass, and the potential fall-out as Cass and Mack’s competitive streak goes a little too far. Mack Revere has always felt like the unwanted child; going in a different direction than the rest of his family but never moreso than in recent months.With all of his fellow firefighter having fallen in love, Mack once again, feels like the proverbial third wheel and begins to pulls back from family and friends. Cassandra Carmichael is a strong, take no sh*$, strong willed heroine who struggles to find a mid point between her private and public life. Hating to lose, and apparently always trying to prove she is just as good as everyone else, falling for Mack means to side with the ‘enemy’, especially when they find themselves the target of some unmistakable dislike. The relationship between Cass and Mack is one of immediate attraction but the competitiveness may push our couple a little too far. Always trying to one-up, or outdo one another, Cass and Mack find common ground in the bedroom, without the interruptions of family and friends.Mack has watched from the sidelines as his fellow firefighters, and brothers have fallen in love, and our hero is hoping to find his own happily ever after. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic and passionate without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text. The colorful and energetic secondary and supporting characters are once again flirty and fun but Mack’s immediate family has no idea of the pain they have caused. We are reintroduced to Reggie’s fellow firefighters and EMTs: Brad Battle (Make Me Burn), Tex McGovern (Burning Desire), Hernandez and Washkowski; Mack’s brother Xavier, Alec and James, and their parents Jimmy and Sandra; Cass’s partner Jed and his wife Shannon; and her parents Aaron and Jennifer. TURN UP THE HEAT is a story of family and friendships, relationships and love; heart break and acceptance. The premise is emotional and engaging; the romance is steamy, seductive and hot; the characters are real and dynamic.
Did you find this helpful?
Quinn Fforde
March 29, 2022
I have loved this series so much, and this was a perfect addition to it. I laughed so much while reading, and I needed a fan for the seriously hot scenes. Mack has given the other guys such a hard time while they fell in love, so it was only right that his path to love would be rocky. The woman he falls for is independent, tough, and a bit wary of relationships. She is also a cop, which is going to cause him some problems when his family gets involved. He knows that, but he can't stay away from her competitive nature and straight talk. My favorite part was the dynamic between Cass and Mack. They egg each other on and have the best banter -- the very funny kind that doesn't veer into hurtful territory. But under all the smack talk, Mack makes it clear that he likes Cass just the way she is, and Cass appreciates the fact that Mack is not intimidated by her. They are an excellent match and are very supportive of each other, even when they have to face their own flaws.
Did you find this helpful?
Patricia Anthony
March 24, 2022
Two very strong personalities find an instant attraction on a soccer field. Cass is a police woman and Mack is a firefighter and that is a situation unto itself. They are fantastic at arguing. The banter and quick quips are an aphrodisiac for these two. They, of course, have their struggles in navigating the waters of their relationship but, it's their friends and two adorable kittens who make them see the light about what is possible for them. I really liked their connection and the build on a romance that changes everything. This is another terrific book by Marie Harte. She writes with depth and emotion that you feel a part of the action. It's a must read series and book. I voluntarily reviewed this after receiving a complimentary copy.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Caffeine addict, boy referee, and romance aficionado, New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marie Harte is a confessed bibliophile and devotee of action movies. Whether biking around town, hiking, or hanging at the local tea shop, she’s constantly plotting to give everyone a happily ever after. Visit marieharte.com and fall in love.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.