After the Storm

Down & Out Books
Free sample

Then…


May’s life had been just fine.


Not happy and miles from meaningful, but fine. She lived on an out-of-the-way island fittingly named Folly. She existed as far from other people as she could manage. The distance let her to drift from memories of her careless parents, graying recollections of the life taken from her, and a sea of her own bad decisions.


Hustling here and there as a small-time weed dealer on the crystal coast allowed May to live like a hermit in the off season. Save one cold night in November, just before a killing storm made landfall.


Now…


The island is left unlivable, and May, like so many others, has become a refugee. Drifting and wandering. Blindly trying to start life over. In this foggy chaos she treads to keep her head above water and to steady and buoy poor Tommy, a boy who might be too far gone to rescue.


Meanwhile…


Four hundred miles away, in a small dying town hidden high in the mountains, a disregarded teenager named Curtis and his unwilling sister Vicki run from the consequences of his violent proclivities. In a gassed-up Mustang, they head east, to the crystal coast, where they can hide and start over. Just like everyone else.


After the storm comes a different danger.


Praise for AFTER THE STORM:


“Opening in the aftermath of May’s climatic and life-altering storm, After the Storm continues to give voice to Marietta Miles’ complicated and complex heroine, May Cosby. Atmospheric, yet shot through with tension, Miles’ third novella proves her mastery of the Southern Noir genre, distilled down to its purest essence: dark, harrowing and razor-sharp with unapologetic authenticity.” —Steph Post, author of Miraculum


After the Storm is the type of darkness that shines. A diamond stuck in the sludge that follows a disaster. Miles’ writing reminds me of fight scenes in classic ninja movies: rainy, violent, emotional, and packed with danger. This is a tale of refugees and survivors, but lacks the clichéd hope permeating most of its kind. No, this is gloomy like the worst storm, and it’ll leave you feeling like a tree after that storm: unhinged and broken. The difference is, unlike the tree, you’ll be asking for more.” —Gabino Iglesias, author of Coyote Songs


“Although she’s published as a crime author, Marietta Miles once again fools everyone and defies all genre expectations, focusing on subtle, but all-too human emotional conflict, showing the struggle to rebuild not only after physical and natural disasters, but personal, intimate ones as well. And in After the Storm, she shows that sometimes those efforts fail.” —Richard Vialet, Black Guys Do Read


“In After the Storm, Marietta Miles celebrates the human condition in all of its messiness and glory, whether it’s May struggling to stay afloat or Vicki suffering in the wake of her brother’s violence. The prose crackles with menace as you’re taken on a journey that manages to not only be harrowing but surprisingly hopeful. Miles has the uncanny ability to navigate through the most wretched aspects of the human psyche amidst the bleakest of conditions with fragility, nuanced heart, and unwavering grace.” —Sarah M. Chen, author of Cleaning Up Finn


“If you care about working-class novels, then you need to be reading Marietta Miles. She delves into the boredom of life and exposes its horror. After the Storm is not about looking for a way out, it is the about people trying to survive until tomorrow. Marietta Miles’s books will wreck you.” —David Nemeth, Unlawful Acts



Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Down & Out Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 30, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
114
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Noir
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 May, lonely caretaker and small-time weed dealer, has spent years trying to hunker down and hide from her damaged past. As a destructive nor’easter takes aim at her sleepy island home of Folly, May tries to hunker down once more after the island is evacuated.

 

But death is in the air – not just from the storm, but from others on the island driven by darker demons – and May finds that this time, there’s nowhere to hide.

 

Praise for MAY:

 

“Every page has a lovely line, something to savor, even as the story uneasily slips under your skin. There’s beauty in the violence in this novella about loneliness and the lengths people go to free themselves from its grasp. You read May and imagine Marietta Miles sitting at the edge of the abyss, peering into it and scribbling into her notebook.” —E.A. Aymar, author of You’re As Good As Dead

 

“Marietta Miles is a unique voice in modern noir, a writer of such dark scenes that only the power of her words can provide the light that releases the reader into a world where hope remains. Showcasing a Southern sensibility that reminds at times of Flannery O’Connor, Miles continually reveals further breadth (and depths) to her characters. A book of dark charms, May adds to the staggeringly beautiful intoxication delivered by last year’s Route 12.” —Rob Pierce, author of Uncle Dust and With The Right Enemies

 

“May will haunt you long after you close the cover. Its every page is fraught with peril. Its every word oozes with tragedy You know it’s coming, but you won’t dare look away, lest you miss one of the freshest, most scintillating voices in Southern crime fiction.” —Eryk Pruitt, author of Dirtbags and What We Reckon

 

“May is gripping and yet poignant. May Cosby and the people around her struggle against the present and the past, trying to piece together a life that’s worth living. Set along the fragile Folly Island of North Carolina as a frightening storm approaches, May looks back upon her choices and does her best to come to terms with them. Extremely atmospheric and at times heart-wrenching, May is a story of choosing to leave the wreckage of the past and search for hope in the future.” —Jen Conley, author of Cannibals

 

“Marietta Miles’s May is an unfiltered, provocative deep-dive into the bleak life of an extraordinarily complex woman. Utterly engrossing and relentlessly heartbreaking, Miles’s sharp, powerful storytelling will have you rooting for May fiercely right up until the very end.” —Jennifer Hillier, author of Creep, Freak, and Wonderland

‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.