The Brothers Schlemiel: the complete novel of Chelm

Light Publications
1
Free sample









"Wired Words/Electric Prose" —Providence Phoenix


"The Brothers Schlemiel is a delicious and exciting novel of mixed identities told in delicious bite-sized chapters. You won't want to put it down, but if you do, you will come back to it again and again… At last, one of the very first ebooks is restored to its full glory."


Meet Abraham and Adam. From the day they are born, “those Schlemiel twins” are trouble. No one, not even their parents, can tell them apart, which is sometimes an advantage. 


They use their wits to create mischievous pranks, foil thieves, meet governors and kings, and eventually begin to grow up.


But when Abraham falls in love a Gypsy princess and Adam falls in love with a girl who thinks he’s Abraham, it’s a problem.


If they switch places one more time, will they finally find happiness?


Set in Chelm, the famed village of fools, The Brothers Schlemiel is both a tightly interwoven story of two lives, and a rambling picaresque novel filled with rich characters. Originally written as a weekly serial, it’s a page-turner that can be enjoyed a bit at a time, but will call you to keep going and just read a little more.


The Brothers Schlemiel is a book to savor. It's a timeless book that resonates in today's fast-paced digital society. 


During its initial 100 installment newspaper run from 1999-2001, The Brothers Schlemiel also became the first novel to be published serially via email. An abridged edition was published in hardcover in 2008. At last, the complete adventures of Abraham and Adam Schlemiel have been gathered together in one unabridged "authors cut."


Glowing Headlines and Reviews about previous editions of the (abridged and e-serialized) Brothers Schlemiel: 


Wired Words/Electric Prose
"To say that Jacob Schlemiel went temporarily insane after the birth of his twin boys might be to overstate it. The poor man certainly had a breakdown. It was as if the mule pulling his wagon down the road of life had suddenly kicked him in the head." So begins one episode of The Brothers Schlemiel. Binder could have also been describing what's happening to traditional publishing. With the arrival of electronic serials and e-books, old-fashioned print is getting something of a kick in the head. As tech-savvy authors like Binder are exploring the Internet's possibilities, traditional publishers are racing to get into the game."
—Providence Phoenix


Dickens For The 21st Century
"I find it exciting that Mr. Binder has put his extensive talents to use on the internet. The return of serialized literature is long overdue and "The Brothers Schlemiel" seems the perfect work to introduce a new generation of readers to a method as traditional as Dickens using technology that Jules Verne could only have dreamed of."
—oso.com


Schlemiels in cyberspace… old-fashioned storytelling in a newfangled way
—The Providence Journal


Laughing out loud humor… very poignant and sweet
—Jewish Herald Voice, Houston, TX


"In The Brothers Schlemiel, Mark Binder tries to capture the community of Chelm in all its innocence, foolishness and humor. 'In this work of fiction, history lives in the footnotes,' he declares in his author's note. When history gets in the way of the story, it is easily modified. So it's clear from the start that there is nothing factual about this book, which traces the lives of the Schlemiel family and the community that surrounds them. [Readers] will really get the humor written between the lines. 'Only in Chelm could a father get so lost going to fetch the midwife that he misses the birth of his first child,' Binder writes, poking consistent fun at the antics and idiocy of those who call Chelm home. It seems that everyone in the town is in slow mode, so the mix-ups are many and the potential for laughter abundant
—Jewish Book World

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Mark Binder is an award-winning author and story performer.  As a writer, his work generally falls into three categories: original and traditional folk-style tales, the “Life in Chelm” series of books and stories, and autobiographical whoppers and lies. His Chelm stories have been published and reprinted in books, newspapers and magazines around the world.

Read more
Collapse
2.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Light Publications
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 30, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
426
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781940060019
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous
Fiction / Jewish
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Skipped Parts is somewhere between The Catcher in the Rye and Even Cowgirls Get the Blues."-Los Angeles Times Book Review

The novel that inspired the movie starring Mischa Barton and Drew Barrymore

Banished to the hinterlands of Wyoming, rebellious Lydia Callahan and her thirteen-year-old son Sam have no choice but to cope. But while Lydia drinks and talks to the moose head on the wall, Sam finds a friend in local girl Maurey Pierce.

Sam and Maurey set out to discover for themselves what happens in the "skipped parts" of the novels they read between the first kiss and the next morning. With Lydia's support the two teens set out on their sexual exploration, and deal with its consequences.

One of the wildest, raunchiest, most heartfelt coming-of-age novels of the past thirty years, Skipped Parts puts Tim Sandlin in the upper echelon of contemporary comic novelists.

This contemporary novel is raunchy, funny, and full of heart, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, Carl Hiaasen.

Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy:
Skipped Parts, Book 1
Sorrow Floats, Book 2
Social Blunders, Book 3
Lydia, Book 4

What readers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"deals with coming of age in a humorous and often poignant way"

"Plot twists that would make J.K. Rowling jealous, humor, beautifully drawn characters, a great sense for the detail of the West"

"sometimes heartwarming, often heartbreaking"

"poignant, FUNNY, SHOCKING, and even heartbreaking"

"the deep humor comes from the extraordinary characters"

"funny, sad, and full of heart"

What reviewers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"DAZZLING...moving...Sam's carapace is humor...He thinks like Holden Caulfield and has Joseph Heller's take on despair. His Walter Mitty like fantasies are tiny comic gems... In the end you'll find yourself rooting for Sam." -New York Times Book Review

"A lighthearted, amusing, and tender story of preteen wisdom, adult immaturity, and the fine line between...An offbeat, engaging novel." -Publisher's Weekly

"This witty, often touching portrayal of a dirt-street-wise youth's coming-of-age sparkles with intelligence." -Booklist

"Thoughtful, surprising, and delightful entertainment." -St. Louis Post-Dispatch

What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin:

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

"His prose, his characters, all amazing."

"A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review

The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.