The Misadventures of Rabbi Kibbitz and Mrs. Chaipul: a midwinter romance of laughter and smiles

Light Publications
This book will become available on August 18, 2019. You will not be charged until it is released.

“The lethal latkes is not a murder mystery.”   –The New York Times


She owns the only restaurant in Chelm. 

He’s the wisest man in this village of fools. 

Together, they make an unlikely and lovable pair. 


From the author of the National Jewish Book Award Finalist, "A HANUKKAH PRESENT


“Our readers love Mark Binder’s Chelm stories. They stop me at events and tell me how much they enjoy them, and how funny they are. People have said they’re delightful and whimsical.”  – Jewish Herald Voice


Weddings and celebrations, stories of Rosh Hashanah, Chanukah and Passover, this brief novel of stories has it all. Themes include the importance of exercise for seniors, maintaining your identity, the challenge of work and relationships, and of course the joy of eating good food.


MEDIA WORD ABOUT MARK BINDER'S CHELM TALES

“…lively and entertaining tales” – AudioFile Magazine

“Wired Words/Electric Prose” – Providence Phoenix

“the mix-ups are many and the potential for laughter abundant.” – Jewish Book World

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Mark Binder is the author of dozens of books for diverse audiences of all ages. His work for adults has been nominated for an Audie Award. His children’s stories won a Parents’ Choice Gold Award for Audio Storytelling. His first book of Chelm, A Hanukkah Present, was the finalist for the National Jewish Book Award for Family literature.

Mark is always creating and often on tour as a performing storyteller. He lives in Providence with his wife and family.


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Light Publications
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 16, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
117
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781940060323
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Short Stories (single author)
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.








"Wired Words/Electric Prose" —Providence Phoenix


"The Brothers Schlemiel is a delicious and exciting novel of mixed identities told in delicious bite-sized chapters. You won't want to put it down, but if you do, you will come back to it again and again… At last, one of the very first ebooks is restored to its full glory."


Meet Abraham and Adam. From the day they are born, “those Schlemiel twins” are trouble. No one, not even their parents, can tell them apart, which is sometimes an advantage. 


They use their wits to create mischievous pranks, foil thieves, meet governors and kings, and eventually begin to grow up.


But when Abraham falls in love a Gypsy princess and Adam falls in love with a girl who thinks he’s Abraham, it’s a problem.


If they switch places one more time, will they finally find happiness?


Set in Chelm, the famed village of fools, The Brothers Schlemiel is both a tightly interwoven story of two lives, and a rambling picaresque novel filled with rich characters. Originally written as a weekly serial, it’s a page-turner that can be enjoyed a bit at a time, but will call you to keep going and just read a little more.


The Brothers Schlemiel is a book to savor. It's a timeless book that resonates in today's fast-paced digital society. 


During its initial 100 installment newspaper run from 1999-2001, The Brothers Schlemiel also became the first novel to be published serially via email. An abridged edition was published in hardcover in 2008. At last, the complete adventures of Abraham and Adam Schlemiel have been gathered together in one unabridged "authors cut."


Glowing Headlines and Reviews about previous editions of the (abridged and e-serialized) Brothers Schlemiel: 


Wired Words/Electric Prose
"To say that Jacob Schlemiel went temporarily insane after the birth of his twin boys might be to overstate it. The poor man certainly had a breakdown. It was as if the mule pulling his wagon down the road of life had suddenly kicked him in the head." So begins one episode of The Brothers Schlemiel. Binder could have also been describing what's happening to traditional publishing. With the arrival of electronic serials and e-books, old-fashioned print is getting something of a kick in the head. As tech-savvy authors like Binder are exploring the Internet's possibilities, traditional publishers are racing to get into the game."
—Providence Phoenix


Dickens For The 21st Century
"I find it exciting that Mr. Binder has put his extensive talents to use on the internet. The return of serialized literature is long overdue and "The Brothers Schlemiel" seems the perfect work to introduce a new generation of readers to a method as traditional as Dickens using technology that Jules Verne could only have dreamed of."
—oso.com


Schlemiels in cyberspace… old-fashioned storytelling in a newfangled way
—The Providence Journal


Laughing out loud humor… very poignant and sweet
—Jewish Herald Voice, Houston, TX


"In The Brothers Schlemiel, Mark Binder tries to capture the community of Chelm in all its innocence, foolishness and humor. 'In this work of fiction, history lives in the footnotes,' he declares in his author's note. When history gets in the way of the story, it is easily modified. So it's clear from the start that there is nothing factual about this book, which traces the lives of the Schlemiel family and the community that surrounds them. [Readers] will really get the humor written between the lines. 'Only in Chelm could a father get so lost going to fetch the midwife that he misses the birth of his first child,' Binder writes, poking consistent fun at the antics and idiocy of those who call Chelm home. It seems that everyone in the town is in slow mode, so the mix-ups are many and the potential for laughter abundant
—Jewish Book World

The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.