Lost in Whispers: The Dori O. Paranormal Mystery Series

Reina Books
Free sample

Praise for Book 3 in the Dori O. Paranormal Mystery Series 

“The best book in the series so far!” 

“An eerie, absorbing journey.” 

“I could hardly put it down after starting it. This book had it all; romance, action, & paranormal activity. Can’t wait to see what Dori does next!” 

The Dead Are Waiting 

Within the filth-smeared walls of a once grand estate, Detective Dori Orihuela just made the arrest of her career. But the moment she crosses the threshold, she senses there’s more than bad guys inside; an earthbound spirit is waiting. 

As she and her team gather evidence, an assassin springs out of nowhere. The ghost of a pregnant woman saves Dori’s life. As the detective returns home, she realizes that the ghost hasn’t just followed her home; it found its way inside her and takes her back in time to witness a life marked by shame. 

Hiding Her Shame 

In 1942, Roslyn Snow arrives from Pearl Harbor to a bucolic estate that is now a maternity home where young pregnant women like her hide the shame of their unplanned pregnancies. Careful not to reveal her identity, she hides from the father of her unborn child. In doing so, she sees that this discreet hideaway is a prison in which some girls never escape. 

A New Threat 

Disturbed by the visions of Roslyn’s life and the complications of career and family, Dori finds help from the unlikeliest of allies. But as she uses her gift to communicate with the dead, Dori is exposed to those who could destroy everything and everyone she loves. 

A gothic romance mystery that interwoven with magical realism, historical fiction, ghosts and family relationships, fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James and Heather Graham will discover a new series they’ll want to binge read late into the night!

Read more
Collapse

About the author

It is no wonder that Mary Castillo is a  paranormal mystery and romance author. She grew up in a haunted house.

Her mom once found her in the closet talking to the nicest lady who had a daughter and two sons. Mary was the only person in the closet and the more questions her mom asked, the plainer it was that her then three-year-old child described the previous (and deceased) resident of their house!

Mary grew up in the same town as the psychic detective of her paranormal mystery series, Dori Orihuela. She even “gave” Dori her dream home, a three-story white Edwardian mansion based on a real historic property. (And no, there are no bootleggers buried in their backyard!) Also, Mary made Dori a tough, smart robbery detective because Mary has discovered from practical experience as a former reporter that is not cop material. She likes to think that Dori is a psychic version of Wonder Woman!

With her degree in history, Mary also loves to find and share untold histories such as bootlegging women and no-nonsense World War II era nurses. Mary’s background is in marketing, public relations, and journalism, proving that yes, you can make a living as a writer! Combining her love of the paranormal with historical, Gothic fiction is a dream come true. Mary now writes the books she loves to read—chilling, psychic suspense novels with sexy heroes and courageous heroines.

However, her current home in Orange County, California is not haunted. 

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Reina Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 29, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
257
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780985916763
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Praise for Book 1 in the Series
"Full of mystery, emotion, and a plot that keeps the readers on their toes, I couldn’t peel my eyes away."
"This book captivated me. The ending might have been my favorite. One of my favorite mystery reads of the year, and one to get your to-read list!"
When Detective Dori Orihuela came back from the dead, she brought them back with her. In this gripping start to a haunting, atmospheric series, Dori struggles to get her life back on track. Crippled by memories of a tragic shooting, she moves into her dream home, a mysterious Victorian where she finds that the dead are waiting.
TRAPPED IN TIME
One October morning in 1933, Bootlegger Vicente Sorolla walked into the white house on the hill and was never seen again. He crosses through the mists of time to meet Dori, the one woman who can help him find his lost love and possibly, redemption from his life of murder and mayhem.
EVERYTHING SHE’S WORKED FOR
As Dori finds evidence that the dead man haunting the halls of her home was once a living, breathing man, her life is further complicated when the one who got away walks back into her life. And he hasn’t forgotten much less forgiven Dori for her sins.
In making a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition-era murder and exhume secrets someone died to protect.
A gothic romance mystery interwoven with magical realism, historical fiction, ghosts and family relationships, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense. The audiobook received the ABR Listener's Choice Award in Mystery for 2018. Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James and Heather Graham will discover a new series they’ll want to binge read late into the night!
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.