Lost in the Light: The Dori O. Paranormal Mystery Series 1

Reina Books
Free sample

Praise for Book 1 in the Series
"Full of mystery, emotion, and a plot that keeps the readers on their toes, I couldn’t peel my eyes away."
"This book captivated me. The ending might have been my favorite. One of my favorite mystery reads of the year, and one to get your to-read list!"
When Detective Dori Orihuela came back from the dead, she brought them back with her. In this gripping start to a haunting, atmospheric series, Dori struggles to get her life back on track. Crippled by memories of a tragic shooting, she moves into her dream home, a mysterious Victorian where she finds that the dead are waiting.
TRAPPED IN TIME
One October morning in 1933, Bootlegger Vicente Sorolla walked into the white house on the hill and was never seen again. He crosses through the mists of time to meet Dori, the one woman who can help him find his lost love and possibly, redemption from his life of murder and mayhem.
EVERYTHING SHE’S WORKED FOR
As Dori finds evidence that the dead man haunting the halls of her home was once a living, breathing man, her life is further complicated when the one who got away walks back into her life. And he hasn’t forgotten much less forgiven Dori for her sins.
In making a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition-era murder and exhume secrets someone died to protect.
A gothic romance mystery interwoven with magical realism, historical fiction, ghosts and family relationships, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense. The audiobook received the ABR Listener's Choice Award in Mystery for 2018. Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James and Heather Graham will discover a new series they’ll want to binge read late into the night!
Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Mary Castillo's novels have turned romance and mystery readers into dedicated fans. She is the proud author of SwitchcraftIn Between Men and Hot Tamara and novellas featured in the anthologies, Orange County NoirNames I Call My Sister and Friday Night Chicas. Her latest paranormal mysteries,Lost in the Light and Girl in the Misthave been widely praised by critics and readers! 

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Reina Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 1, 2012
Read more
Collapse
Pages
242
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780985916701
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Magical Realism
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Katherine Arden’s bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.
 
“A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up.”—Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted

Winter lasts most of the year at the edge of the Russian wilderness, and in the long nights, Vasilisa and her siblings love to gather by the fire to listen to their nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, Vasya loves the story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon. Wise Russians fear him, for he claims unwary souls, and they honor the spirits that protect their homes from evil.

Then Vasya’s widowed father brings home a new wife from Moscow. Fiercely devout, Vasya’s stepmother forbids her family from honoring their household spirits, but Vasya fears what this may bring. And indeed, misfortune begins to stalk the village.

But Vasya’s stepmother only grows harsher, determined to remake the village to her liking and to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or a convent. As the village’s defenses weaken and evil from the forest creeps nearer, Vasilisa must call upon dangerous gifts she has long concealed—to protect her family from a threat sprung to life from her nurse’s most frightening tales.

Praise for The Bear and the Nightingale

“Arden’s debut novel has the cadence of a beautiful fairy tale but is darker and more lyrical.”—The Washington Post

“Vasya [is] a clever, stalwart girl determined to forge her own path in a time when women had few choices.”—The Christian Science Monitor

“Stunning . . . will enchant readers from the first page. . . . with an irresistible heroine who wants only to be free of the bonds placed on her gender and claim her own fate.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Utterly bewitching . . . a lush narrative . . . an immersive, earthy story of folk magic, faith, and hubris, peopled with vivid, dynamic characters, particularly clever, brave Vasya, who outsmarts men and demons alike to save her family.”—Booklist (starred review)

“An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale . . . The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic.”—Robin Hobb
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.