Names I Call My Sister: Stories

Sold by Harper Collins
1
Free sample

Four stories of sisterhood—the bonds, the wars, the frustrations, the love—seasoned with hot Latin spice!

Those "Wild Orihuela Girls," Dori and her sister Sela, intend to live up to their reputation—and more!—in order to give their snooty sister-in-law-to-be exactly what she deserves on her wedding day . . . Till Death Do Us Part by Mary Castillo

Anita Suarez is only seeking comfort after losing her dream job and carefree lifestyle, but finds that her old-fashioned sister Susana has abandoned her family to run off to Sin City with a college hunk. Now it's up to Anita to bring Susu back to reality and keep the younger man's sexy big brother at bay . . . What Stays in Vegas by Berta Platas

Michelle Saez is a total straight-arrow by day—but at night, she lives a shocking double life in leather as Madame Michelina. And her scandalous secret could very well derail her attorney sister Jennifer's bid for elected office . . . Whipped by Sofia Quintero

Popular talk-radio queen Marisol Avila can't keep her mouth shut—and she's airing her sister Cristy's dirty laundry to millions of listeners nationwide. It's going to take more than Cristy's unwanted fifteen minutes of fame to repair this sisterly rift and re-connect siblings who are seriously . . . Diss-Connected by Lynda Sandoval

Read more

About the author

Mary Castillo attenteded the University of Southern California, where she majored in History. During that time she went on medical missions to Mexico (where she helped deliver a baby), and interned at L.A. County Hospital. But when it was time to choose a career, Mary went back to her original love of storytelling and began writing screenplays and novels. She has worked in public relations, advertising, and as a reporter for the L.A. Times Community News. She lives in Orange County, California, with her family.

Born in Havana, Cuba, Berta Platas has four kids, three-fourths of them are boys. She has lived in Miami, Pittsburgh, New York, Charlotte, and Atlanta, in that order, and is currently living just north of Atlanta, Georgia. Despite her success, she still works at a fun day job in marketing.

Sofia Quintero is also the author of Divas Don’t Yield and the co-founder of Chica Luna Productions in New York City. She also writes hip-hop fiction under the name pen name Black Artemis.

Lynda Sandoval is a former police officer and the author of twenty award-winning books. She writes young adult novels as well as women's fiction, romance, and nonfiction for five different publishers, all while working part-time as a 9-1-1 fire/medical dispatcher. Her work has appeared on the Waldenbooks Romance Bestsellers' list and has won numerous national awards, including a Colorado Book Award nomination for Best Young Adult Literature and a National Reader's Choice Award, also in the YA category. Lynda's teen novels have twice been nominated as ALA Quick Picks for Young Adult Readers, and her 2004 release, Who's Your Daddy? was named to the New York Public Library's "Books for the Teen Age" list. Unsettling, Lynda's 2004 release, won the 2005 Laurie Best of the Best Published Award, as well as several other honors. Lynda has been profiled in People en Espanol, Writer's Digest, Romantic Times, Catalina, Latina, The Denver Post, and many other publications.

Read more
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Harper Collins
Read more
Published on
Oct 13, 2009
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9780061750106
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Anthologies (multiple authors)
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When you come back from the dead, you might bring them with you.

★★★★ ” Full of mystery, emotion, and a plot that keeps the readers on their toes, I couldn’t peel my eyes away.”
★★★★ ” This book captivated me. The ending might have been my favorite. One of my favorite mystery reads of the year, and one to get your to-read list!”

In this gripping start to a haunting paranormal mystery series from Amazon bestselling author Mary Castillo, a robbery detective must get her life back on track. But in returning from the brink of death, she can now see and hear the dead who cannot rest.

A MAN TRAPPED IN TIME

One October morning in 1933, Vicente Sorolla entered the white house on the hill and was never seen again. Now, Detective Dori Orihuela witnesses his brutal murder in her nightmares and sees him in her home.

Drawn to this tough but tender woman, Vicente materializes out of the butler’s pantry and demands she find his lost love, Anna. Dori wonders if she’s not only about to lose her badge, but also her sanity.

EVERYTHING SHE’S WORKED FOR

Dori has always been drawn to the mysterious Queen Anne Edwardian house in her hometown. Now, with a big promotion, her dream home is finally hers. But after a devastating injury that puts her career on the line, Dori wonders if she should’ve bought this rundown old mansion.

Her wisecracking Grammy Cena has waited too long for her independent granddaughter to return home. She hires a kooky psychic to banish the ghost and a handsome contractor with whom Dori has an unhappy past.

But in making a promise to Vicente, Dori may solve a forgotten Prohibition-era murder. Or she may exhume secrets someone died to protect.

A modern gothic mystery woven with suspense, ghosts, and romance, Lost in the Light was nominated for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Paranormal Mystery/Suspense.

Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Simone St. James, Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Victoria Holt will want to curl up with Dori on her journey to love, past and present.

Length: Full-length novel

WARNING: May keep you up late at night turning the pages, or inspire you to sleep with the lights on! Lost in the Light can be read a stand-alone novel, but is the first novel in the Dori O. Paranormal Mystery Series.

Praise

“This book captivated me. The ending might have been my favorite. One of my favorite mystery reads of the year, and one to get your to-read list!”
– Samantha March, Chick Lit Plus

4.5 Lightning Bolts
“Lost In The Light is an enchanting story that takes the reader from present to the past. Full of mystery, emotion, and a plot that keeps the readers on their toes, I couldn’t peel my eyes away. Ms. Castillo, you’ve got a new fan. I can’t wait for more!”
– Storm Goddess Book Reviews

Four stars
“…who doesn’t love a good ghost story! Ghost shows up in your house, haunts you, asks you for favors and basically tells you what to do constantly… gotta love it! 🙂 I would recommend Lost in Light if you’re in the mood for this type of book…it has mystery, romance, and some history.”
– Lost in Literature

“Castillo created an interesting and expertly woven tale that is fraught with romance and mystery. Dori’s guardedness, Vicente’s rough edges and Grammy’s spunkiness all made for very real characters and good storytelling. Castillo knows how to dish up a story with some spice, and I’ll be looking forward to more adventures from Castillo in the future.”
– Cellar Door Lit Rants & Reviews

“Mary Castillo has written such a rich and compelling novel… I was pretty much glued to this book. To say I was behind Dori the whole way is an understatement. I love her! We’re given scenes from both the present and the past and the narrative reveals to us Vicente’s story bits by bits, which is both good for the pace and to get me going. Both timelines were wonderful and I wasn’t grumbling when I was reading about the other. The novel was just plain great the whole time.”
– Whoopeeyoo! Reviews

“The story is a page-turner with old flames, sexy ghosts, family obligations that we all contend with, humor, and bonds with new female friends.”
– Sandra Ramos O’Briant

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.