CliffsNotes on Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale

Sold by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
1
Free sample

The original CliffsNotes study guides offer expert commentary on major themes, plots, characters, literary devices, and historical background. The latest generation of titles in this series also feature glossaries and visual elements that complement the classic, familiar format.

In CliffsNotes on The Handmaid's Tale, you come to realize that for every utopia, there's a corresponding dystopia. This tale of a bleak future depicts a time where women are valued only for their reproductive capacities. While this cautionary tale of repression and totalitarianism is horrifying, there are moments of poetic warmth and humor. It is a brilliant satire.

This concise supplement to Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale helps you understand the overall structure of the novel, actions and motivations of the characters, and the social and cultural perspectives of the author. Features that help you study include

  • Chapter-by-chapter summaries and commentaries
  • A timeline of critical events that leads to the climax of the novel
  • A character map that graphically illustrates the relationships among the characters
  • Critical essays on women's roles in the novel, and the use of literary devices, themes, and settings
  • A review section that tests your knowledge

Classic literature or modern-day treasure—you'll understand it all with expert information and insight from CliffsNotes study guides.

Read more

About the author

MARY ELLEN SNODGRASS is an award-winning author of textbooks and general reference works, and a former columnist for the Charlotte Observer. A member of Phi Beta Kappa, she graduated magna cum laude from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Appalachian State University, and holds degrees in English, Latin, psychology, and the education of gifted children.

Read more
3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Read more
Published on
Aug 20, 2007
Read more
Pages
84
Read more
ISBN
9780544181939
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Literary Criticism / Canadian
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Award-winning African-American playwright August Wilson created a cultural chronicle of black America through such works as Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Fences, Joe Turner’s Come and Gone, The Piano Lesson, and Two Trains Running. The authentic ring of wit, anecdote, homily, and plaint proved that a self-educated Pittsburgh ghetto native can grow into a revered conduit for a century of black achievement. He forced readers and audiences to examine the despair generated by poverty and racism by exploring African-American heritage and experiences over the course of the twentieth century. This literary companion provides the reader with a source of basic data and analysis of characters, dates, events, allusions, staging strategies and themes from the work of one of America’s finest playwrights. The text opens with an annotated chronology of Wilson’s life and works, followed by his family tree. Each of the 166 encyclopedic entries that make up the body of the work combines insights from a variety of sources along with generous citations; each concludes with a selected bibliography on such relevant subjects as the blues, Malcolm X, irony, roosters, and Gothic mode. Charts elucidate the genealogies of Wilson’s characters, the Charles, Hedley, and Maxson families, and account for weaknesses in Wilson’s female characters. Two appendices complete the generously cross-referenced work: a timeline of events in Wilson’s life and those of his characters, and a list of 40 topics for projects, composition, and oral analysis.
CliffsNotes on Greek Classics is the only reference book you need to understand the ideological and literary influence of the Greek civilization. A fully-indexed guide designed for students of: English Literature World Literature Classical Literature and Languages Philosophy History Theater and Drama Women's Studies Music and Art ReligionUse for concise overviews of Greek playwrights, poets, prose writers, historians and philosophers.Find term paper ideas and essay topics.Check facts, dates, spelling and pronunciation.Identify major Greek literary movements.Understand the origins of Western drama.Discover the genesis of such ideas as the Oedipus Complex, the Golden Mean, the Golden Fleece, the Trojan Horse, the Socratic Method and Platonic Love.Recognize literary allusions to people and events such as the Olympic Games, the Bronze Age, the Fates, Medea, Electra and the Muses.Comprehend, through example, such literary terms as medias res, hubris and nemesis.Place Greek authors in historical context and chronological relationship to one another.Review major events of Greek civil wars as discussed by such writers as Herodotus, Xenophon and Thucydides.Recognize the roots of Western thought and philosophy in such writers as Plato, Aristotle and Socrates.For comprehensive, in-depth treatment of the following works, see the Cliffs Notes on each title: Iliad; Odyssey; Agamemnon; Oedipus Rex; Electra & Medea; Lysistrata; Plato's Euthyphro, Apology, Crito and Phaedo; Plato's Republic and Aristotle's Ethics.
A GLOBE & MAIL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR FOR 2012

“Glover is a master of narrative structure.”
—Wall Street Journal

In the tradition of E.M. Forster, John Gardner, and James Wood, Douglas Glover has produced a book on writing at once erudite, anecdotal, instructive, and amusing. Attack of the Copula Spiders represents the accumulated wisdom of a remarkable literary career: novelist, short story writer, essayist, teacher and mentor, Glover has for decades been asking the vital questions. How does the way we read influence the way we write? What do craft books fail to teach aspiring writers about theme, about plot and subplot, about constructing point of view? How can we maintain drama on the level of the sentence—and explain drama in the sentences of others? What is the relationship of form and art? How do you make words live?
Whether his subject is Alice Munro, Cervantes, or the creative writing classroom, Glover’s take is frank and fresh, demonstrating again and again that graceful writers must first be strong readers. This collection is a call-to-arms for all lovers of English, and Attack of the Copula Spiders our best defense against the assaults of a post-literate age.

Douglas Glover is the award-winning author of five story collections, four novels, and two works of non-fiction. He is currently on the faculty of the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA in Writing program.

Praise for Douglas Glover

"So sharp, so evocative, that the reader sees well beyond the tissue of words into ... the author's poetic grace." - The New Yorker

"Glover invents his own assembly of critical approaches and theories that is eclectic, personal, scholarly, and smart ... a direction for future literary criticism to take." - The Denver Quarterly

"A ribald, raunchy wit with a talent for searing self-investigation." - The Globe and Mail

"Knotty, intelligent, often raucously funny." - Maclean's

"Passionately intricate." - The Chicago Tribune

"Darkly humorous, simultaneously restless and relentless." - Kirkus Reviews
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.