Purposes of Love: A Novel

Open Road Media
Free sample

Mary Renault’s inventive debut novel: A love-triangle drama set against the backdrop of hospital life
Working in a hospital in 1930s Britain, two colleagues fall into an emotionally charged relationship. Vivian and Mic work demanding jobs and must endure long gaps between their secret meetings. But it is their relationship with Vivian’s brother, Jan, a charismatic scientist, that really complicates their union. Before falling for Vivian, Mic had nursed feelings for independent-minded Jan. As for Vivian, her romantic experience has left her with doubts about commitment. For this fraught trio, big questions about love—what and whom it is for—demand answers.
In this powerful, sparklingly written debut tale of romance between the wars, Mary Renault showcases the talents that made her one of the twentieth century’s most beloved novelists.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Born in London as Eileen Mary Challans in 1905 and educated at the University of Oxford, Mary Renault trained as a nurse at Oxford's Radcliffe Infirmary. It was there that she met her lifelong partner, fellow nurse Julie Mullard. After completing her training, Renault wrote her first novel, Purposes of Love, in 1937. In 1948, after her novel Return to Night won an MGM prize worth $150,000, she and Mullard immigrated to South Africa. There, Renault wrote the historical novels that would define her career. In 2006, Renault was the subject of a BBC 4 documentary, and her books, many of which remain in print on both sides of the Atlantic, are often sought after for radio and dramatic interpretation. In 2010, Fire From Heaven was shortlisted for the 1970 Lost Booker prize. 
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 31, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
346
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781480439788
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

‘A beautiful, heart-warming story of friendship and love... one of the best books set during the war that I have had the pleasure of reading.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘Completely spellbinding – I absolutely loved it.’ Elizabeth Gill, bestselling author of Miss Appleby’s Academy

 

As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young women will become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend. A gritty, emotional read for fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin and A Shilling for a Wife.

 

1914 – Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.

 

At the emergency medical shelter where they’re based, Elsie and Mairi work around the clock to treat wounded soldiers. It’s heart-breaking work and they are at constant risk from shelling, fire and disease. But there are also happier times… parties, trips and letters. And maybe even the possibility of love with an attractive officer in their care…

 

But as the war continues and the stress of duty threatens to pull the two women apart, will Elsie and Mairi’s special nurses’ bond be strong enough to see them through?

 

A powerfully moving wartime saga – you won’t want to put it down!

What everyone’s saying about The War Nurses:

‘I absolutely loved this beautifully written book, and was so absorbed in the story that I did not want it to end…This is a book to savour… A poignant, absolutely stunning tale, one of the best books set during the war that I have had the pleasure of reading – very highly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva

 ‘A great book full of friendship and hope during the war. Lizzie has written a compelling book bringing many emotions to the surface. A brilliant saga novel. Can't wait for the next one.’ Chells and Books

‘At times I had to suspend disbelief - only to later find that the unbelievable things were true. Because Mairi and Elsie really did exist -  and Page breathes life into their story.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

‘Absolutely fantastic book.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A very good read... I was amazed at what both women did during the war… An inspiring and eye-opening book.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An interesting fictional narrative based on real people and I would recommend it to friends’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A very nice wartime story.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Completely spellbinding – I absolutely loved it. The storyline is wonderful and the characters just bounce off the page. I love how she’s captured the essence of the time.’ Elizabeth Gill, bestselling author of Nobody’s Child

From the dark days of WWII to present-day North Carolina, this New York Times bestseller shares the lives of two couples overcoming destructive secrets -- and finding joy together.Ira Levinson is in trouble. Ninety-one years old and stranded and injured after a car crash, he struggles to retain consciousness until a blurry image materializes beside him: his beloved wife Ruth, who passed away nine years ago. Urging him to hang on, she forces him to remain alert by recounting the stories of their lifetime together - how they met, the precious paintings they collected together, the dark days of WWII and its effect on them and their families. Ira knows that Ruth can't possibly be in the car with him, but he clings to her words and his memories, reliving the sorrows and everyday joys that defined their marriage.

A few miles away, at a local bull-riding event, a Wake Forest College senior's life is about to change. Recovering from a recent break-up, Sophia Danko meets a young cowboy named Luke, who bears little resemblance to the privileged frat boys she has encountered at school. Through Luke, Sophia is introduced to a world in which the stakes of survival and success, ruin and reward -- even life and death - loom large in everyday life. As she and Luke fall in love, Sophia finds herself imagining a future far removed from her plans -- a future that Luke has the power to rewrite . . . if the secret he's keeping doesn't destroy it first.

Ira and Ruth. Sophia and Luke. Two couples who have little in common, and who are separated by years and experience. Yet their lives will converge with unexpected poignancy, reminding us all that even the most difficult decisions can yield extraordinary journeys: beyond despair, beyond death, to the farthest reaches of the human heart.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.