Girls Made of Snow and Glass

Sold by Flatiron Books
12
Free sample

Melissa Bashardoust’s acclaimed debut novel Girls Made of Snow and Glass is “Snow White as it’s never been told before...a feminist fantasy fairy tale not to be missed” (BookPage)!

“Utterly superb.” —ALA Booklist, starred review
“Dark, fantastical, hauntingly evocative.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
“An empowering and progressive original retelling.” —SLJ, starred review

Sixteen-year-old Mina is motherless, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known...or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.

Read more

About the author

Melissa Bashardoust received her degree in English from the University of California, Berkeley, where she rediscovered her love for creative writing, children’s literature, and fairy tales and their retellings. She currently lives in Southern California with a cat named Alice and more copies of Jane Eyre than she probably needs. Girls Made of Snow and Glass is her first novel.
Read more
4.2
12 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Flatiron Books
Read more
Published on
Sep 5, 2017
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781250077745
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Young Adult Fiction / Girls & Women
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / LGBT
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride...

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones's Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

"This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" Pick

An Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick!

Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year"

A Barnes & Noble Pick for “Most Anticipated LGBTQIAP YA Books of the Second Half of 2017”

"Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college... In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." —Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series

Perfect for fans of “Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl” (School Library Journal, Starred Review), Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin’s I Hate Everyone But You is a hilarious and heartfelt debut novel about new beginnings, love and heartbreak, and ultimately the power of friendship.

Dear Best Friend,
I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you.
Sincerely,
Ava Helmer
(that brunette who won’t leave you alone)

We're still in the same room, you weirdo.
Stop crying.
G

So begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two of them document every wild and awkward moment to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

MiNA tiene dieciséis años, una madre muerta y un padre despiadado. Su corazón silencioso nunca ha latido de amor por nadie: de hecho, nunca ha latido en absoluto, pero ella siempre creyó que eso era normal. Jamás imaginó que su padre, un poderoso mago, le había quitado el corazón y lo había reemplazado por uno hecho de cristal. Cuando se muda al castillo de Primavera Blanca y ve al rey por primera vez, Mina arma un plan: ganar el corazón del soberano con su belleza, convertirse en reina y por fin conocer el amor. La única trampa es que tendrá que convertirse en madrastra.
LyNET, de quince años, es idéntica a su madre fallecida y un día descubre por qué: bajo las órdenes de su padre, un mago la ha creado con nieve para que luzca igual a la reina muerta. Pero a pesar de ser la reencarnación de su madre, Lynet preferiría ser como su feroz y elegante madrastra. Cumple su deseo cuando su padre la designa reina de los territorios del sur destituyendo a Mina. Por ese motivo, Mina comienza a mirar a Lynet con algo similar al odio y ella deberá decidir qué hacer y quién ser para recuperar a la única madre que ha conocido… o derrotarla de una vez por todas.
Entrelazando las historias de Lynet y Mina en el pasado y el presente, Chicas de nieve y cristal narra la relación entre dos mujeres jóvenes condenadas a ser rivales desde el inicio. Solo
una puede ganar y la otra deberá perderlo todo… a menos que ambas hallen un modo de reconstruirse a sí mismas y su historia. 
Mina é filha de um mago cruel e sua mãe está morta. Aos dezesseis anos, seu coração nunca bateu apaixonado por ninguém – na verdade, ele jamais bateu de forma alguma, e Mina sempre achou esse silêncio normal. Ela nunca suspeitou que o pai arrancara seu coração e, no lugar, colocara um coração de vidro. Então, quando Mina chega ao castelo de Primavera Branca e vê o rei pela primeira vez, ela cria um plano: ganhar o coração dele, tornar-se rainha e finalmente conhecer o amor. A única desvantagem desse plano, ao que tudo indica, é que ela se tornará madrasta. Lynet tem quinze anos e é a imagem de sua falecida mãe. Um dia, ela descobre a verdadeira razão disso: a partir da neve, um mago a criou à semelhança da rainha morta. Mas, apesar de ser a projeção visual perfeita da falecida rainha, Lynet preferiria ser forte e majestosa como sua madrasta, Mina. E Lynet realiza seu desejo quando o pai a torna rainha dos territórios do sul, tomando assim o lugar de Mina. A madrasta, então, começa a olhar para a enteada com algo que se assemelha ao ódio, e Lynet precisa decidir o que fazer – e quem quer ser – para ter de volta a única mãe que de fato conheceu... ou simplesmente vencer Mina de uma vez por todas. Garotas de neve e vidro traça a relação de duas mulheres fadadas a serem rivais desde o princípio – a não ser que redescubram a si mesmas e deem novo significado à história que lhes foi imposta. Este aclamado reconto feminista do clássico Branca de Neve nos leva a um mundo singelo e, ao mesmo tempo, maravilhoso – como nos contos de fadas. Uma releitura contemporânea para mantê-lo sempre atual e presente. "Esplêndido." – AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION – Starred Review "Arrebatadora adaptação feminista do clássico Branca de Neve num tratamento sombrio e fantástico." – KIRKUS – Starred Review "Reconto empoderador com protagonistas complexas. Inovador e atual – altamente recomendado." – SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL – Starred Review "A autora reflete sobre instituições estabelecidas, identidades, individualidades, amor e livre arbítrio." – PUBLISHERS WEEKLY "Uma narrativa sofisticada que une magia, relações entre mãe e filha, além de mulheres gloriosamente poderosas buscando triunfo num mundo estritamente patriarcal." — TRACI CHEE, best-seller do New York Times e autora da série Mar de Tinta e Ouro.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.