Night Sweats: How Moral Philosophy Failed

· The Max Brown Tetralogy (+1) Book 5 · Hough Publishing

About this ebook

In this, the final volume in the Max Brown Tetralogy (+1), Sally and Max Brown encounter the inconveniences that accompany advancing age: declining health, concern over diminished appeal, a loss of optimism – and sometimes hope. These challenges pale, however, when they go in pursuit of the most ruthless and unprincipled criminals on earth: recruiters and surgeons who harvest and sell human organs. Set against the backdrop of honor crimes against women, Sally and Max fight to stay alive and protect the victims of honor crimes from further attack.

The action takes place in Switzerland and Jordan. Sally, for the first time in the series, is a co-narrator.

About the author

Michael Bernhart is an award winning author who has published extensively on international development and public health – primarily service quality. His credentials for this written outpouring are a PhD from MIT and four decades of international work – currently 50 countries and counting.

The journey from writing funding proposals to writing pure fiction was short and easy. The result is the Max Brown tetralogy (+1) which traces the arc (from age 10 through 68) of a man who earnestly tries to avoid trouble, but whose own behavior – or events – repeatedly drops him into it. Each of the five novels finds Max struggling with a new existential crisis – or crises – as he grows up in these trying times. Manhood used to be a birthright; now it seems to be an unending series of challenges. Each novel also finds Max confronting a new face of evil.

Dr. (why not use it?) Bernhart started this project before the internet could serve up virtual experiences to authors. The contextual information and situations come from service as a pilot in the USAF, living in Asia, Europe and Latin America, surviving the occasional assassination attempt, and inexplicable success at snaring women well out of his league. These remarkable similarities with the main character noted, he insists the work is not autobiographical. It’s wish fulfillment.

Bernhart currently lives in a yurt on a mountaintop in northern Georgia with one ex-wife, two daughters, and three cats. He still flies his vintage plane, although more cautiously than before, yet he’s unshakeable in his conviction that he’s God’s Gift to Aviation.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.