House of Cards

House of Cards

Book 1
Sourcebooks, Inc.
28
Free sample

The USA Today Bestseller from the Executive Producer of the hit Netflix series House of Cards.

A dark tale of greed, corruption, and unquenchable ambition, House of Cards reveals that no matter the country, politics, intrigue and passion reign in the corridors of power.

Francis Urquhart has his hand on every secret in politics-and is willing to betray them all to become prime minister.

Mattie Storin is a tenacious young reporter who has a knack for finding the real stories hidden behind the spin. When she stumbles upon a scandalous web of intrigue and financial corruption at the very highest levels, she vows to reveal the truth. But to do so she must battle her own demons and risk everything, even her life.

An explosive political thriller reinvented for a new generation. Fans of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci and Robert Ludlum will revel in getting to know Francis Urquhart, the man we love to hate.

As a former advisor to Margaret Thatcher, Conservative Party Chief of Staff, and now peer of the realm and Conservative member of the House of Lords, Baron Dobbs provides an insider look at the twists and turns of British politics.

Other books in the House of Cards series:
House of Cards, Book 1 The dark, twisting schemes of a politician determined to succeed
To Play The King, Book 2 Newly elected Prime Minister plots to take on the Monarchy to grab even more power
The Final Cut, Book 3 The perfect finale to this twisted trilogy, Urquhart refuses to close his career quietly

What readers are saying about House of Cards:

"the best of modern political fiction. The reader can't help but be riveted by the lead character, even hoping for his sinister plots to succeed."

"fast-paced and interesting. I couldn't put the book down"

"wonderful and extremely...one of the most memorable and unashamedly wicked characters in political fiction."

What reviewers are saying about House of Cards:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

'The exciting thriller that has Westminster buzzing. Here is a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government.' - Daily Express

'It has pace, a beguiling authenticity and a cast of Achilles heels.' - Daily Telegraph

What everyone is saying about the House of Cards books:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

"...a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government." - Daily Express

"If you are a fan of the modern TV series than you should definitely pick up these books."

"Michael Dobbs has an uncanny knack of forecasting the future. A fascinating read and a conclusion that would send a chill through Buckingham Palace." - Sunday Express

Read more
Collapse

More by Michael Dobbs

See more
From the best-selling author of One Minute to Midnight: a riveting account of the crucial days, hours, and moments when the Watergate conspiracy consumed, and ultimately toppled, a president.

In January 1973, Richard Nixon had just been inaugurated after winning re-election in a historic landslide. He enjoyed an almost 70 percent approval rating. But by April 1973, his presidency had fallen apart as the Watergate scandal metastasized into what White House counsel John Dean called “a full-blown cancer.” King Richard is the intimate, utterly absorbing narrative of the tension-packed hundred days when the Watergate conspiracy unraveled as the burglars and their handlers turned on one another, exposing the crimes of a vengeful president.

Drawing on thousands of hours of newly-released taped recordings, Michael Dobbs takes us into the heart of the conspiracy, recreating these traumatic events in cinematic detail. He captures the growing paranoia of the principal players and their desperate attempts to deflect blame as the noose tightens around them. We eavesdrop on Nixon plotting with his aides, raging at his enemies, while also finding time for affectionate moments with his family. The result is an unprecedentedly vivid, close-up portrait of a president facing his greatest crisis.

Central to the spellbinding drama is the tortured personality of Nixon himself, a man whose strengths, particularly his determination to win at all costs, become his fatal flaws. Rising from poverty to become the most powerful man in the world, he commits terrible errors of judgment that lead to his public disgrace. He makes himself—and then destroys himself.

Structured like a classical tragedy with a uniquely American twist, King Richard is an epic, deeply human story of ambition, power, and betrayal.
4.4
28 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Sourcebooks, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 11, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
400
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781492606628
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Media Tie-In
Fiction / Political
Fiction / Satire
Fiction / Thrillers / Political
Literary Criticism / Subjects & Themes / Politics
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.