Rebellion's Message

Canongate Books
1
Free sample

London, 1554. Light-fingered Jack Blackjack wakes in a tavern's yard with a sore head, his knife smeared with blood and a dead stranger lying beside him. Jack may have robbed the man but he's certain that he didn't kill him. Unfortunately, the man's purse contains something much more valuable than money and, as the prime suspect for the murder, everyone is on Jack's tail. He needs to get out of the city, and fast, but a rebel army is marching on London: the bridge is blocked and every gate manned. Trapped in the city, Jack must avoid being caught long enough to find the real murderer.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Michael Jecks' books have won wide acclaim in the UK and abroad, and been shortlisted for prizes such as the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. His Medieval West Country mysteries have a TCM of over 185K. Jecks has been the organiser of the Crime Writers' Association's Debut Dagger and a judge for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger. In 2016 he was honoured to be elected as Hon. Secretary of the prestigious Detection Club. @MichaelJecks michaeljecks.co.uk
Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canongate Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 5, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
224
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786895158
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The explosive Robert Langdon thriller from Dan Brown, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Da Vinci Code and Inferno—now a major film directed by Ron Howard and starring Tom Hanks and Felicity Jones.

An ancient secret brotherhood. A devastating new weapon of destruction.

When world-renowned Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to a Swiss research facility to analyze a mysterious symbol—seared into the chest of a murdered physicist—he discovers evidence of the unimaginable: the resurgence of an ancient secret brotherhood known as the Illuminati...the most powerful underground organization ever to walk the earth. The Illuminati has now surfaced to carry out the final phase of its legendary vendetta against its most hated enemy—the Catholic Church.

Langdon’s worst fears are confirmed on the eve of the Vatican’s holy conclave, when a messenger of the Illuminati announces they have hidden an unstoppable time bomb at the very heart of Vatican City. With the countdown under way, Langdon jets to Rome to join forces with Vittoria Vetra, a beautiful and mysterious Italian scientist, to assist the Vatican in a desperate bid for survival.

Embarking on a frantic hunt through sealed crypts, dangerous catacombs, deserted cathedrals, and even the most secretive vault on earth, Langdon and Vetra follow a 400-year-old trail of ancient symbols that snakes across Rome toward the long-forgotten Illuminati lair...a clandestine location that contains the only hope for Vatican salvation.

An explosive international thriller, Angels & Demons careens from enlightening epiphanies to dark truths as the battle between science and religion turns to war.
As Sir Baldwin and Simon Puttock uncover the mysteries surrounding the church, they risk making more enemies than friends...

The Chapel of Bones is the eighteenth mystery in Michael Jecks' riveting Knights Templar medieval series, featuring Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Simon Puttock. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Paul Doherty.

'This fascinating portrayal of medieval life and the corruption of the Church will not disappoint. With convincing characters whose treacherous acts perfectly combine with a devilishly masterful plot, Jecks transports readers back to this wicked world with ease' - The Good Book Guide

In 1283, Exeter Cathedral Close was the scene of a vicious ambush. Now, forty years on, more deaths are occurring. Is the first an accident? The second is surely not, and the killer will not be easy to catch. The victim, Henry Potell, was feared by many and held secrets some would wish to keep hidden, at any cost...

For investigators Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, events become increasingly mysterious. Who among Henry Potell's companions would have wanted him dead? The key to the mystery lies in the ominous Chapel of Bones, built in reparation for a terrible murder long ago...

What readers are saying about The Chapel of Bones:

'[An] engrossing and compelling read...rich in ambiance, colour and historical detail'

'Another tightly plotted episode in the Templar series. Jecks is a master'

'Michael Jecks hits the spot with an intriguing mystery that you can't put down'

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.