Unhappy Christmas

Babelcube Inc.
Free sample

Natalia, a successful foreign correspondent, travels to Madrid to spend Christmas with her husband, determined to surprise him with her early arrival. However, the surprise is all for her when she gets there and finds him in bed with another woman. Horrified, Natalia runs out, with Miguel hot on her heels, and sets out on an epic Christmas Eve journey on which she comes across Jacob, a tramp and the only person who shows a little humanity and concern for her. Accompanied by Jacob, Natalia embarks on an adventure on the streets of Madrid, including an act of vandalism on “Xmas Kingdom” and a relaxing café con leche with the tramps in Plaza Mayor. During their time together, Natalia starts to discover the man behind the tramp and wonder if she would be capable of falling in love with him...
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Miguel Campion was born in Pamplona (Spain) in 1974. With a degree in Communication and a Master’s in Literary and Theatre Education and Research, he is currently doing his PhD in Hispanic Studies at the Autonomous University of Madrid. A writer, playwright and screenwriter, as well as a specialist in the development of audiovisual and theatre projects, he has worked for cinema and television producers such as El Terrat and El Deseo, combining his professional work with teaching at both private and public institutions such as Pompeu Fabra University (UPF) and the School of Cinema and Audiovisual of Catalonia (ESCAC), giving classes in fiction screenwriting and creative writing. He has published two novels “Carne de su carne” (2013, English version “Flesh of Flesh”) and “Infeliz Navidad” (2013, English version “Unhappy Christmas”) and has participated in three short story anthologies. His play “Rosaura tiene un fantasma” (English version “Rosaura has a Ghost”) won first prize in the Navarra Youth Theatre Awards in 2000. As well as his written works, he has also worked as a screenwriter, director and producer on the short films “Pepita Chan” (2007) and “No sé qué hacer contigo” (2012, version with English subtitles “I Just Don’t Know What To Do With You”), as well as on theatre productions “Lección de tango” (2015), “Las regaderas” (2016) and “Animales salvajes” (2017). More information at: miguelcampion.com

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Babelcube Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 21, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
94
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781507191811
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Synopsis:
Alceán is a teenager who lives with his mother, shut away in an enormous and sinister mansion that he has never left. The only world he has ever known does a one hundred and eighty degree turn when his Uncle Belial makes an unexpected arrival, and pushes him to transgress every limitation his mother has ever imposed upon him. And this is how Alceán will come to discover the terrible secrets kept by his family for generations, including the truth regarding his own life of seclusion.
About "Flesh of Flesh":
“Flesh of Flesh” unites elements of the Gothic novel with the classic horror narrative (with prominent influence from Edgar Allen Poe) in order to create a decadent and romantic ambience. The old mansion, the sinister atmosphere, the family curse, heated emotions, and hidden eroticism are clear ingredients of this tradition. Nevertheless, the narrative exceeds the canon of the Romantic Gothic novel, to the extent of reaching dark elements of authentic horror in accordance with the contemporary canons, bordering on gore. This entire palette of elements of the horror genre makes “Flesh of Flesh” an attractive feast for lovers of the dark.
Narrated in first person, this long story, or short novel, recounts the childhood and youth of Alceán, its protagonist, in a style that is both archaic and dreamlike, creating the sensation of listening to a memory from illness, a feverish delirium, a sinister hallucination of a tormented being who tells us his visions, so that we may share in his anguish. The poetic and impassioned style of the protagonist narrator does not prevent the story from captivating the reader, advancing relentlessly until revealing its final, terrifying secret.
The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.