The Rock

· Highland Guard Book 11 · Sold by Simon and Schuster
35 reviews

About this ebook

New York Times bestselling author Monica McCarty continues her Highland Guard series in this eleventh steamy historical romance set against the sweeping backdrop of the Scottish Highlands.

The first time he caught sight of Elizabeth Douglas, Thomas MacGowan thought she was a princess. To the son of the castle blacksmith, the daughter of the powerful Lord of Douglas might as well be. When it becomes clear that his childhood companion will never see him as a man she could love, Thom joins Edward Bruce’s army as a man-at-arms to try to change his lot. If he’s harbored a secret hope that he could close the gap between them, he faces the cold, hard truth when Elizabeth comes to him for help. She might need the boy who used to climb cliffs to rescue her brother from the hands of the English, but she would never see the son of a smith as a man worthy of her hand.
35 reviews
Charmaine Matthews
May 15, 2015
So can't wait!
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Stephanie Hoff
January 9, 2016
The Highland Guard series written by Monica McCarty is superbly amazing! The Rock is the 11th book in the set and was released December 29th 2015 by Gallery Books. You guys have got to get on bored with these books! Out of all the books, I would have to say that while this one seemed to frustrate me the most it was the most realistic of them all in regards to how feelings affect people. Both the hero, Thom, and the heroine, Elizabeth, are hardheaded and stubborn when it came to their feelings for each other. But isn't that how we all are when it comes to love? He has been in love with her since they were little and when he finally tells her and she doesn't react the way that he wants her to, he gets hurt and angry, then disappears for 3 years to become something more worthy than he believes he currently is. She on the other hand is completely naive to her feelings for him because she never looked at him as more than just a friend and her fear from being poor when she was a young girl has her not looking past their stations to a possible future together. While it was frustrating to see them go back and forth with their feelings for each other, it was nice to catch a glimpse of what real love looks like. People get hurt, lash out at the one that they truly love, and make mistakes. This book is filled with a bunch of that which is what makes it wonderful!!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Cheryl Francis
January 7, 2016
Loved the different approach to the lover's story. Kept my interest all the way. Couldn't put it down.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Monica McCarty is the bestselling author of the Highland Guard series, the MacLeods of Skye trilogy, and the Campbell trilogy. Her interest in the Scottish clan system began in the most unlikely of places: a comparative legal history course at Stanford Law School. After realizing that her career as a lawyer and her husband’s transitory life as a professional baseball player were not exactly a match made in heaven, she traded in her legal briefs for Scottish historical romances with sexy alpha heroes. Monica McCarty lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and their two children.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.