This book will become available on October 1, 2019. You will not be charged until it is released.

The citizens of Salem suffer more than their fair share of life’s ills. Murder. Mayhem. Jealousy. Greed. But when a mysterious handmade Gun shows up on the scene, nothing will ever be the same. For this Gun has its own moral code. It will never fire to do evil, only to do good. As it tumbles in and out of the lives of ordinary citizens - junkies, clerks, cops, criminals, unfaithful husbands - they find their lives changed forever. Sometimes for the better; sometimes for worse.

Born from pain, built for good.

The String-Along project is a collaborative effort where multiple authors, in locations around the globe, come together to tell a singular story. Sometimes not knowing where to go with a story until the previous author in rotation provides a chapter update. The first in the series is called Fatal Flaws and can be found online in both paperback and digital formats.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Where did GUN come from? Well, it all started several years ago with a totally different book, when a bunch of us authors met on an internet writing site. We wanted to do a collaborative work, and decided on the “string along” format. One author wrote the first chapter, then another author read it and wrote a following chapter, and then a third author, and etc. There were five of us in all, and we agreed to try to finish our chapters within two weeks when our turns rolled around. We eventually wrote nineteen chapters in total, about four from each of us.


Well, you know how life goes: seems every time one of our turns rolled around, that’s when life got hectic. The two-week cycle was rarely enough time. So in the end, it seemed like forever before we could finally finish the story. The story was called Fatal Flaws, by the way, and it is available on Amazon, and we were quite pleased with it, despite the slow process.


As for GUN, we wanted to do another collaborative work, but we didn’t want to have to wait around for each other to do our chapters one at a time. We wanted a way to do them all at once. So we came up with the idea of an inanimate object being the thread to tie them together. That way, each author could write his chapter without needing to read the previous chapters first. The object wouldn’t really change, and each author would create his or her own characters and settings. We settled on the idea of a mystical gun with its own conscience to be the object in question.


But the various chapters still had to flow when assembled. To give the narrative a smooth, connected sense of flow, we came up with a list of “waypoints” for the gun. Each author had to start with the gun at one waypoint, and then end up with it at the next waypoint. What happened in between was solely up to the author. If we stuck to our assigned waypoints, the story should flow smoothly once the chapters were bolted together.


We started with thirteen authors, each writing one chapter, but three dropped out along the way. The chapters still had to be written, though, to connect all the waypoints. So three of us each wrote an additional chapter.


After all the chapters were written, of course there was much editing, and a few cases of correcting contradictions that had crept in. But overall, the approach worked quite well, and we were all very pleased. Hopefully, you will find the results pleasing as well. Happy reading!

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Emerald Dragon Tales
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 1, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
125
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.