Any Empire

· Sold by Top Shelf Productions
3.2
4 reviews
Ebook
306
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Named one of the best graphic novels of the year by The AV Club, Comic Book Resources, Complex, and Graphic Novel Reporter! "The most prodigiously talented graphic novelist of his [generation] ... Powell's exceptional visual-storytelling gift transforms a potentially obvious antiwar parable into a ravishingly beautiful, emotionally resonant, thoughtful, and provocative work of art."-- Booklist (starred review) "Vivid and imaginative... The timely, innovative storytelling and captivating artwork should particularly appeal to fans of Craig Thompson's Blankets and David Small's Stitches. Highly recommended for both adults and young adults."-- Library Journal (starred review) "Any Empire by Nate Powell is everything a graphic novel should be, and few are. Spare, to the point dialog, fluid and effortless visual storytelling devoid of pretensions, and a story with characters that stick with you. I very rarely read graphic novels because I usually can't get past the first few pages. but Any Empire drew me in from the start and didn't let up."-- Larry Hama, author of GI Joe comics since 1982 "At times poignant, at at others surreal, Any Empire is an engaging, never preachy work about childhood, centering on those secret currents that define our youthful rivalries and the games we play."-- MTV Geek "We've all experienced the world's endless cycle of innocence shattered, and Powell renders it all in lovely chiaroscuro... he crafts memorable and heartfelt characters that linger in the mind and scar the heart."-- Under the Radar Nate Powell, hailed by the London Times as "a writer-artist of genius,"is back. His new book, Any Empire, is a vivid examination of war and violence, and their trickle-down effects on middle America. First, a group of small-town kids find themselves bound together by geography, boredom, and a string of mysterious turtle mutilations. Years later, with Army tanks rolling through the streets of their hometown, these young adults are forced to confront painful questions of privilege, duty, betrayal, and courage. Any Empire recalls aimless summers of Nancy Drew and GI Joe, treehouses and army surplus stores... but when fantasy starts to bleed into reality, whose mission will be accomplished?
3.2
4 reviews
A Google user
Many interesting ideas underlying this story but disappointingly developed.
A Google user
A little chaotic and somewhat hard to follow but an interesting story on war and violence and our perceptions of justice.
A Google user
This book was ambitious and is brilliant in places but tries too hard to be different and loses the narrative.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.