Please Release

Top Shelf Productions
1

"Sharp and incisive ... Even though the book is focused squarely on Powell's life, he spares the reader from excessive navel gazing along the way. He seems to have a better idea of when to share and when to pull away and let the pictures do the talking, demonstrating an overall more mature approach to his work. ... If Powell keeps creating material this good, I'll definitely be along for the ride." -- Marc Mason, Comics Waiting Room "...proves that comics can mimic having a beat or pulse using static images the way writers and poets can with words. Also, all of the stories, to one extent or another, are connected by Powell's profession of working with adults who have developmental disabilities. That serves to humanize the story, giving them an earthiness these stories need whenever Powell has flown off into his internal world of self-examination. His intricate art, a kind of ornate 'indie style,' makes Please Release a catchy EP of ear candy for the eyes and mind of the curious reader."-- Leroy Douresseaux, Comic Book Bin Please Release collects four autobiographical stories, each linked by a series of open questions on work, mental disorders, aging, punk rock, developmental disabilities, horror movies, and a little unrequited love to boot. Recognized for his publications Tiny Giants and It Disappears, as well as his signature dream-like, luscious, and meticulous illustrations (reminiscent of Craig Thompson and Farel Dalrymple), this is Nate Powell's most direct and concrete work to date -- guaranteed to engage your brain and dazzle your senses.
Read more
3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Top Shelf Productions
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 2012
Read more
Pages
43
Read more
ISBN
9781603092074
Read more
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
--WINNER OF THE 2009 EISNER AWARD FOR BEST NEW GRAPHIC NOVEL! --NOMINATED FOR THREE 2009 EISNER AWARDS INCLUDING BEST GN & BEST CARTOONIST! --WINNER OF THE 2008 IGNATZ AWARD FOR "OUTSTANDING DEBUT"! --ONE OF YALSA'S "GREAT GRAPHIC NOVELS FOR TEENS"! --FINALIST FOR THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE! ----Swallow Me Whole is the first graphic novel since 1992's Maus to be nominated for this prize in any category. --WINNER OF THE 2009 IGNATZ AWARD FOR "OUTSTANDING ARTIST"! "Nate Powell's Swallow Me Whole, a disturbed, haunting book, is impossible to describe... It's not an easy book, but its dark brilliance marks its creator as a writer-artist of genius."--Neel Mukherjee, The Times (UK) "Scaldingly dark ... Powell's flowing, impressionistic artwork, with its ravenous expanses of negative space, swirls the reader's perspective through his characters' perceptions and back out again."--Douglas Wolk, The New York Times "Honest and lovingly portrayed. Every word in this graphic novel is carefully chosen, dialogue is realistic, and background "noise"masterfully done. Powell's detailed pen-and-ink drawings are well executed with lettering and images so brilliantly intertwined that they are one and the same."--Lara McAllister, School Library Journal "Darkly sublime."--Booklist "His layouts, his touch with shadow and darkness, the way he brings you close enough to Ruth that you can watch her sleep without disturbing her dreams, all that stuff is amazing. ... Nate Powell can do it all. In his hands, even the high-school parking lots and the booths at the local diner are equal parts hope and foreboding."-- Steve Duin, The Oregonian "[Swallow Me Whole] achieves some stunning effects with the art and the lettering ... Powell has a look halfway between Charles Burns and Craig Thompson, and at times, Swallow Me Whole enters that rarified sphere of art comics where the page design alone achieves the mood and meaning that that the artist is shooting for... Swallow Me Whole captures the desperation of the clinically obsessed, and how from the right angle, it can look like genius."--The AV Club "Both provocative and thoughtful ... not since Robert Altman's Images has a medium so perfectly conveyed the experience of schizophrenia ... It's the best graphic novel since Craig Thompson's Blankets."--Chris DeVito, CD Syndicated Swallow Me Whole is a love story carried by rolling fog, terminal illness, hallucination, apophenia, insect armies, secrets held, unshakeable faith, and the search for a master pattern to make sense of one's unraveling. In his most ambitious book to date, Nate Powell quietly explores the dark corners of adolescence -- not the clich_d melodramatic outbursts of rebellion, but the countless tiny moments of madness, the vague relief of medication, and mixed blessing of family ties. As the story unfolds, two stepsiblings hold together amidst schizophrenia, obsessive compulsive disorder, family breakdown, animal telepathy, misguided love, and the tiniest hope that everything will someday make sense. Deliberately paced, delicately drawn, and drenched in shadows, Swallow Me Whole is a landmark achievement for Nate Powell and a suburban ghost story that will haunt readers long after its final pages.
Named one of the best graphic novels of the year by The AV Club, Comic Book Resources, Complex, and Graphic Novel Reporter! "The most prodigiously talented graphic novelist of his [generation] ... Powell's exceptional visual-storytelling gift transforms a potentially obvious antiwar parable into a ravishingly beautiful, emotionally resonant, thoughtful, and provocative work of art."-- Booklist (starred review) "Vivid and imaginative... The timely, innovative storytelling and captivating artwork should particularly appeal to fans of Craig Thompson's Blankets and David Small's Stitches. Highly recommended for both adults and young adults."-- Library Journal (starred review) "Any Empire by Nate Powell is everything a graphic novel should be, and few are. Spare, to the point dialog, fluid and effortless visual storytelling devoid of pretensions, and a story with characters that stick with you. I very rarely read graphic novels because I usually can't get past the first few pages. but Any Empire drew me in from the start and didn't let up."-- Larry Hama, author of GI Joe comics since 1982 "At times poignant, at at others surreal, Any Empire is an engaging, never preachy work about childhood, centering on those secret currents that define our youthful rivalries and the games we play."-- MTV Geek "We've all experienced the world's endless cycle of innocence shattered, and Powell renders it all in lovely chiaroscuro... he crafts memorable and heartfelt characters that linger in the mind and scar the heart."-- Under the Radar Nate Powell, hailed by the London Times as "a writer-artist of genius,"is back. His new book, Any Empire, is a vivid examination of war and violence, and their trickle-down effects on middle America. First, a group of small-town kids find themselves bound together by geography, boredom, and a string of mysterious turtle mutilations. Years later, with Army tanks rolling through the streets of their hometown, these young adults are forced to confront painful questions of privilege, duty, betrayal, and courage. Any Empire recalls aimless summers of Nancy Drew and GI Joe, treehouses and army surplus stores... but when fantasy starts to bleed into reality, whose mission will be accomplished?
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.