Heartbreaker

Canelo
3
Free sample

The outstanding thriller from the #1 bestselling author of BITE, Nick Louth

Veteran BBC journalist Chris Wyrecliffe finds himself in the Middle East as the Arab Spring explodes into life. Back on the front line at last, he’s stumbled across the biggest story of his life.

But two women have a hold on him. One, a wealthy Saudi beauty he has loved since the first moment he saw her. The other, a feisty young Palestinian refugee loves him with a frightening intensity.

Wyrecliffe is caught between them in a dangerous game whose implications are as extreme as they are hidden...

For in the dark Al Qaeda underworld hides a man with the veteran journalist in his sights. The net is closing fast. With the clock ticking, Wyrecliffe could be the instrument of a terrorist plot astonishing in its ingenuity and daring...

An extraordinary thriller that grips like steel, Heartbreaker will keep you guessing until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Tom Bale, David Jackson and K.L. Slater.

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘A fast-paced and explosive thriller about a subject that really matters.’

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Bite was a gripping, entertaining read which kept me enthralled right until the end!’

‘The whole book is an excellent, gripping read. Get one – you won't be disappointed!’

‘I absolutely loved this book, it is well written and keeps you on your toes all the way to the last chapter.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent book.’

‘Well constructed, good page turner, very well researched, excellent holiday read.’

‘Exciting, interesting and unpredictable. Highly recommended.’

‘Superb! Couldnt put the book down. Really was one of the best thrillers I've read in years.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘Very exciting and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended read for anyone who enjoys fast-paced books.’

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Nick Louth is a best-selling thriller writer, award-winning financial journalist and an investment commentator. A 1979 graduate of the London School of Economics, he went on to become a Reuters foreign correspondent in 1987. It was an experience at a medical conference in Amsterdam in 1992, while working for Reuters, that gave him the inspiration for Bite, which was self-published in 2007 and went on to become the UK No. 1 Kindle best-seller for several weeks in 2014 before being snapped up by Sphere. It has sold a third of a million copies, and been translated into six languages. The terrorism thriller Heartbreaker was published in June 2014 and received critical acclaim from Amazon readers, with a 4.6 out of 5 stars on over 100 reviews. The Body in the Marsh, a crime thriller, and the first in his DCI Craig Gillard series, was published by Canelo in 2017, to much critical acclaim. Freelance since 1998, he has been a regular contributor to the Financial Times, Investors Chronicle and Money Observer, and has published seven other books. Nick Louth is married and lives in Lincolnshire.

Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 17, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
400
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781911591764
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Terrorism
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The complete series starring the British female operative—from the international bestselling author and “powerful plotter of spy stories” (The Daily Telegraph).
 
The Defector: MI6 agent Davina Graham knows better. But she’s fallen hopelessly in love with the married KGB defector she’s been ordered to debrief. In exchange for information, Ivan Sasanov insists his wife and daughter back in the USSR must be brought to England and given asylum. But the KGB is already on to him—he barely escapes an assassination attempt. And now his wife has been arrested. With Sasanov’s daughter in imminent danger, Graham knows there’s only one way to save the family of the man she loves.
 
“Veteran romance-suspenser Anthony continues to sharpen her talents—and this East/West espionage . . . is one of her best.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
The Avenue of the Dead: The British-born wife of Edward Fleming, the US president’s assistant under-secretary of state and close friend, has appealed to the British ambassador for sanctuary. Elizabeth Fleming claims her husband tried to murder her because she found out he was passing information to the Russians. Though it was ruled an accident, his first wife died in a fire in their Mexico vacation home. To find out the truth, Davina Graham follows a labyrinthine trail from the inner circles of Washington, DC, to Mexico, where she will use herself as bait to trap an elusive criminal known as the Plumed Serpent.
 
“Solid and classy entertainment.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
Albatross: A mole high in the ranks of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service has been feeding national secrets to the Soviets. Davina Graham goes undercover to root out the traitor, code named Albatross. Could it be her boss, Brigadier Sir James White, a twenty-year SIS veteran, months away from retirement? Humphrey Grant, White’s second-in-command, whose public persona conceals damning sexual secrets? Or John Kidson, the technocrat married to Graham’s beautiful, pampered sister? The MI6 agent must move quickly before time runs out for them all.
 
“If you like your spy stories to have a touch of class, you will enjoy Evelyn Anthony’s Albatross.” —The Sunday Times
 
The Company of Saints: Now the first female head of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service, Davina Graham is taking a well-deserved holiday in Venice, when on the Grand Canal, the US Secretary of Defense and his daughter are blown up in a gondola. When more assassinations follow, Graham is convinced that Igor Borisov, the power-hungry head of the KGB, is behind the executions. Working with Intelligence agent Colin Lomax, her ex-lover, they uncover a shadowy organization called the Company of Saints, a private brigade of hired killers whose chilling end game is just beginning.
 
“Written and plotted with all the skill one associates with Ms. Anthony and readable as ever.” —The Irish Times
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.