The Bright Hour: A Memoir of Living and Dying

Sold by Simon and Schuster
13
Free sample

* INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *

“Stunning…heartrending…this year’s When Breath Becomes Air.” —Nora Krug, The Washington Post

“Beautiful and haunting.” —Matt McCarthy, MD, USA TODAY

“Deeply affecting…simultaneously heartbreaking and funny.” —People (Book of the Week)

“Vivid, immediate.” —Laura Collins-Hughes, The Boston Globe

Starred reviews from * Kirkus Reviews * Publishers Weekly * Library Journal *

Best Books of 2017 Selection by * The Washington Post *

Most Anticipated Summer Reading Selection by * The Washington Post * Entertainment Weekly * Glamour * The Seattle Times * Vulture * InStyle * Bookpage * Bookriot * Real Simple * The Atlanta Journal-Constitution *

The New York Times bestseller by poet Nina Riggs, mother of two young sons and the direct descendant of Ralph Waldo Emerson, is “a stunning…heart-rending meditation on life…It is this year’s When Breath Becomes Air” (The Washington Post).

We are breathless but we love the days. They are promises. They are the only way to walk from one night to the other.

Poet and essayist Nina Riggs was just thirty-seven years old when initially diagnosed with breast cancer—one small spot. Within a year, she received the devastating news that her cancer was terminal.

How does a dying person learn to live each day “unattached to outcome”? How does one approach the moments, big and small, with both love and honesty? How does a young mother and wife prepare her two young children and adored husband for a loss that will shape the rest of their lives? How do we want to be remembered?

Exploring motherhood, marriage, friendship, and memory, Nina asks: What makes a meaningful life when one has limited time? “Profound and poignant” (O, The Oprah Magazine), The Bright Hour is about how to make the most of all the days, even the painful ones. It’s about the way literature, especially Nina’s direct ancestor, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and her other muse, Montaigne, can be a balm and a form of prayer.

Brilliantly written and exceptionally moving, it’s a “deeply affecting memoir, a simultaneously heartbreaking and funny account of living with loss and the specter of death. As Riggs lyrically, unflinchingly details her reality, she finds beauty and truth that comfort even amid the crushing sadness” (People, Book of the Week).

Tender and heartwarming, The Bright Hour “is a gentle reminder to cherish each day” (Entertainment Weekly, Best New Books) and offers us this important perspective: “You can read a multitude books about how to die, but Riggs, a dying woman, will show you how to live” (The New York Times Book Review, Editor’s Choice).
Read more

About the author

Nina Riggs received her MFA in poetry in 2004 and published a book of poems, Lucky, Lucky, in 2009. She wrote about life with metastatic breast cancer on her blog, Suspicious Country; her recent work has appeared in The Washington Post and The New York Times. She lived with her husband and sons and dogs in Greensboro, North Carolina. She is the author of The Bright Hour.

Read more
4.6
13 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Jun 6, 2017
Read more
Pages
320
Read more
ISBN
9781501169366
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Medical
Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs
Biography & Autobiography / Women
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
From the New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist: a searingly honest memoir of food, weight, self-image, and learning how to feed your hunger while taking care of yourself.

“I ate and ate and ate in the hopes that if I made myself big, my body would be safe. I buried the girl I was because she ran into all kinds of trouble. I tried to erase every memory of her, but she is still there, somewhere. . . . I was trapped in my body, one that I barely recognized or understood, but at least I was safe.”

In her phenomenally popular essays and long-running Tumblr blog, Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and body, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as “wildly undisciplined,” Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In Hunger, she explores her past—including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life—and brings readers along on her journey to understand and ultimately save herself.

With the bracing candor, vulnerability, and power that have made her one of the most admired writers of her generation, Roxane explores what it means to learn to take care of yourself: how to feed your hungers for delicious and satisfying food, a smaller and safer body, and a body that can love and be loved—in a time when the bigger you are, the smaller your world becomes.

★紐約時報暢銷書
★亞馬遜網路書店當月與年度好書
★OPRAH.COM  傳記類選書

生命剩餘的時間,高速奔馳在公路上,
這個世界既殘酷又美麗,
呼吸、繼續呼吸……
就算只有一瞬間,也意義非凡!

 一段放手的歷程、生與死的探索,讓自己接受生命當下,
在所剩不多的時間裡,擁抱每一日的荒謬與美好。

★故事起始於一個頑強小區塊,蔓延成失控的病魔。但作者走到人生終曲時,我忘卻了這一個癌塊,心裡盡灌滿了作者與家人朋友之間豐潤綿密的愛。面對已知的死亡,誰能從容?面對未知的每日存活,又何嘗不是?但讀完此書,我知道世間唯一的篤定是:真摯的陪伴、付出與愛。因病魔終將隨生命消失,但愛卻恆久存在。──彭菊仙│親子作家

當命運來到你面前,你是否還有其他選擇?
在人生最後的日子裡,是什麼讓生命充滿意義……

死亡不是世界末日。人生有太多事比死亡可怕(比如說忌妒、嚴重便祕、沒有幽默感……還有丈夫為你清理引流管時痛苦的表情),也有些事比你想像的更重要(比如說把握時間)。妮娜.瑞格斯,文學家愛默生的後裔,書寫她在病痛中如何維持正常生活,以溫和堅定的口吻提出與世人相反的觀點:癌症不是我們「拚輸贏」的對象,她的目標是「不對結果耿耿於懷」——不管是化療結果、教育孩子,甚至寫作。

本書以癌症期數做為大架構,回顧發現罹癌、病情惡化等重症患者與家屬都曾(或即將)經歷的過程,不只面對,更跨越死亡。

她以優美的筆調描述她的家庭,她對自然、文學的熱愛,成功讓本書瀰漫奇蹟般的光亮與喜悅。她的最終勝利,不是以擊敗癌症的形式展現,而是拒絕讓癌症摧毀她擁抱生命的熱情。

面對死亡,或許永遠沒有準備好的時候,但你可以選擇,從現在開始好好活出生命的真正意義。

擁抱推薦

林葳媫 中華民國乳癌病友協會秘書長
夏嘉璐 主播、主持人
陳月卿 癌症關懷基金會董事長
陳啟明 和信治癌中心醫院副院長
陳鴻彬 諮商心理師/資深輔導教師
彭菊仙 親子作家
番紅花 作家
蔡康永 主持人、作家

(依姓氏筆畫排列)

台灣各界好評

‧「圓滿的一生」是東方追求生命的人生哲學。罹患過乳癌的志工常會說感恩這份疾病,因我們從疾病中學習到自助、互助、助人。感謝中外癌友姐妹無私奉獻,像太陽般溫暖癌症旅途中的旅者。希望癌友能悟出生命的真理,我強力推薦姐妹閱讀《當我即將離你而去》一書。──林葳媫│中華民國乳癌病友協會秘書長

‧上午才為了孩子不受教而氣結,下午就收到這份書稿。看著這位罹癌的媽媽,在離世前為生命、為孩子、為那些最終自己還真的在乎覺得重要的一切,留下的書寫反思。隨著作者的細膩筆觸,會讓你對眼前的悶悶不快,開朗許多!──夏嘉璐│主播、主持人

‧對全家人來說,當一張沙發不只是一張沙發,它還象徵些什麼?假使空氣中瀰漫著死亡的氣息,牽動全家人的生活,家庭系統又該如何因應調整,並且好好道別?《當我即將離你而去》就是這麼一部貼近死亡、貼近家庭,又不時令人忍不住對生命發出輕嘆的作品,富含溫度。──陳鴻彬│諮商心理師/資深輔導教師

國際讚譽

‧一開始讀就停不下來。妮娜.瑞格斯關於生與死的回憶錄反思生命、家庭,如何與我們所愛共度存在的每一天──無論剩下多少時間。──葛瑞琴.魯賓(Gretchen Rubin),《過得還不錯的一年》作者

‧在痛苦的故事之下,埋藏著率真的幽默(我多次大笑出聲)及閃現的詩意……所有醫生和病人都該讀這本書……很難不把本書與《當呼吸化為空氣》相比,兩書作者都在三十歲後段發現自己正步向死亡,都以少見的犀利文筆寫下簡潔散文。兩本書同樣感人。──麥特.麥肯錫醫師(Dr. Matt McCarthy),《今日美國》

‧深刻又犀利……極為出色……當我放下這本書,我變得有些不同,變成一個更好的人──感受到難以承受的哀傷,以及瑞格斯所說的「這世界溫暖的懷抱」。──凱莉.柯利根(Kelly Corrigan),《歐普拉雜誌》

‧妮娜.瑞格斯讓我們進入她的世界,一起購買假髮、和她兒子談心,我們不可能不愛這個女人。這本書不是關於沉重的失落,而是關於愛的富饒,以及愛使我們振奮、支持我們的力量。她給家人及讀者一份禮物,這是多麼美好的一份禮物!──喬伊斯.梅納德(Joyce Maynard),《一日.一生》作者

‧這是一趟充滿情感的旅程,敘事中帶著赤裸裸的坦誠和淘氣的幽默。喜愛《當呼吸化為空氣》和《凝視死亡》的人也會喜歡此書。就如那兩本書,本書是關於死亡教導每個人的有力一課──如何活著。──威爾.史沃比(Will Schwalbe),《最後的讀書會》作者

‧迷人又勇敢,即便在毀滅之中,妮娜.瑞格斯的回憶錄仍滿載生命力與洞察──文句如此詩意,讓我一時喘不過氣。讓人心碎、幽默、思路清晰,而且完全沒有陳腔濫調。這本書是她,也是我們得來不易的寶物。──露西.卡拉尼提(Lucy Kalanithi),《當呼吸化為空氣》作者遺孀

‧與《當呼吸化為空氣》相提並論一點也不為過,但還不足以形容這本書有多好。──莎拉.史密斯(Sarah Harrison Smith),亞馬遜書評

‧這是本極為出色的作品、令人心碎的生命反思──不僅關於你該如何在活著的時候珍視生命,也關於怎麼擁抱生命的結束,是本年度的《當呼吸化為空氣》。──諾拉.庫克(Nora Krug),《華盛頓郵報》

‧瑞格斯的故事不僅受到緊追在後的黑暗的乳癌所驅動,也啟發自她度過的時光與讀過的書。別只為了本書的主題而讀,要為其中蘊含的洞見而讀。──Vulture 網站

‧很多書都在談如何面對死亡,但瑞格斯──一位臨終女性──將告訴你該怎麼活。──《紐約時報書評》編輯選書

‧由一位還未活夠的人,帶來來自死亡前線生動、即時的快報,及一份生命的紀錄。她溫暖描繪身邊的每一個人,成為這本書情感力量的一大來源。──《波士頓環球報》

‧瑞格斯提醒世人,我們都活在這世界上,但總有一天會離開;她描寫母親葬禮時的黑色幽默,讓讀者既欣賞又懷著罪惡感大笑。不論是否正在對抗疾病,每個人都該閱讀這本文字優美的書。──《圖書館雜誌》

‧感人又充滿洞見……她在這本溫柔的回憶錄中,無時無刻都對生命展現出敏銳的覺知與敬意──包括光亮與黑暗、殘酷和美麗。──《出版者週刊》
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.