Unconvicted

Jack Kowalski Thriller

Book 2
Canelo
Free sample

In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career

Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.

When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done...

The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practising criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.

'A book so on point I felt like I was reading tomorrow’s headlines.' Nigel Adams Bookworm

'It had enough twists and turns to keep me glued right to the last page. I look forward to reading more in the series.' Reader review

'It’s a right proper page turner and no mistake... This is very intelligent storytelling here, walking the line between entertainment and authenticity extremely well and balancing character and action perfectly... Highly recommended.' Liz Loves

'Another winner... really looking forward to round three.' Reader review

'Undoubtedly an author to watch out for... this legal thriller was excellent and kept me interested all the way through.' Reader review

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 29, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
320
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781911420309
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Legal
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
What price justice?

Jack Kowalski is a young barrister who finds himself working on the biggest drugs trial in British history. He argues a savage ‘cut-throat’ defence – a risky tactic where the defendants blame each other.

As the son of Polish immigrants Kowalski has always found it hard to fit in, with a sense of inferiority denting his performances in Court. Now he must face his demons and fight not only for his clients, but also for his future.

When the defendant unexpectedly absconds, Jack and solicitor Lara Panassai struggle to hold the case together. In search of their client, and desperate for new evidence, they are soon drawn deep into Manchester’s seedy criminal underworld.

As the case grows darker, who can Jack really trust?

Intensely plotted and written with real-life insider expertise, Cut-Throat Defence is a gripping thriller filled with rivalry, ruthlessness and nail-biting courtroom suspense.

Praise for Cut-Throat Defence

‘The tautly-written, tense thriller weaves together the fates of crime victims, gangsters, cops and lawyers – often culminating in realistic courtroom drama.’ – Manchester Evening News

‘A legal thriller in the great Grisham tradition – genius author!’ – Gyles Brandreth

‘The violence in the criminal underworld of Manchester is presented in scenes which are short and shocking. Cut-Throat Defence is an excellent read.’ – Simon Brett, author and CWA Golden Dagger winner

‘Cut-Throat Defence is absolutely gripping from the very first chapter. Packed full of twists and turns, I was on the edge of my seat waiting for the verdict.’ – Ginger Cat Blog

‘This is the first Oliver Jarvis crime novel I've read and wow, I love it! It's a fast-paced legal thriller written in a captivating style that just keeps you entertained.’ – Bits About Books

‘To put it simply, I loved it, I devoured all the pages, all the characters ... my top book of 2016.’ – Chocolate Pages

‘I couldn’t put it down’ – David’s Book Blurg

‘This book carries what is now becoming this author’s trademark, a legal thriller with real edge and depth of plot with characters that stick around in the mind long after the story and the trial are over. I was hooked into the clutches of this story from the very first page.’ – Reflections of a Reader

Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous, which was longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire, and he tweets at @OllyJarviso.

The place: Chicago, Illinois. The year: 1937. A city struggles to recover from the lawless legacy of Prohibition and the destructive aftermath of the Great Depression. The inequities of race and social class are vast and growing. In a rigidly segregated society, the average citizen keeps to his own kind, keeps his head down, and toils just to make ends meet. During this turbulent time, a young European immigrant labors in obscurity, deep within the teeming confines of the Pilsen district. He dreams of being a professional prizefighter. The young man’s prospects are few until he befriends an elderly African American boxer who operates a small gym on the city’s west side. The old man recognizes championship potential in the boy and agrees to coach him, molding him into a first class athlete. Together, the unlikely pair chase the elusive goal of a Middleweight Crown. Across town, another young man has a mentor of a different sort. One who schools him in the fine art of the “quick buck”. This boy, rescued from abject poverty, pursues wealth and power with ruthless zeal, surrendering to the darker side of human nature. Abandoning all compassion, he eagerly embraces a life of crime and brutality. A disillusioned Detective, grappling with a deep personal grief has become obsessed with fighting crime. His work has become his solace, his only virtue, his redemption. Exceeding the bounds of his authority, he fanatically persecutes the criminals of his precinct, setting him on a dangerous path of confrontation and violence. When these worlds collide, loyalty is forsaken and heartfelt dreams are crushed. A life is taken. This is a tale of good versus evil, of sacrifice and righteousness and love. This is a story of happiness and heartbreak and darkness. This Windy City Nocturne.
What price justice?

Jack Kowalski is a young barrister who finds himself working on the biggest drugs trial in British history. He argues a savage ‘cut-throat’ defence – a risky tactic where the defendants blame each other.

As the son of Polish immigrants Kowalski has always found it hard to fit in, with a sense of inferiority denting his performances in Court. Now he must face his demons and fight not only for his clients, but also for his future.

When the defendant unexpectedly absconds, Jack and solicitor Lara Panassai struggle to hold the case together. In search of their client, and desperate for new evidence, they are soon drawn deep into Manchester’s seedy criminal underworld.

As the case grows darker, who can Jack really trust?

Intensely plotted and written with real-life insider expertise, Cut-Throat Defence is a gripping thriller filled with rivalry, ruthlessness and nail-biting courtroom suspense.

Praise for Cut-Throat Defence

‘The tautly-written, tense thriller weaves together the fates of crime victims, gangsters, cops and lawyers – often culminating in realistic courtroom drama.’ – Manchester Evening News

‘A legal thriller in the great Grisham tradition – genius author!’ – Gyles Brandreth

‘The violence in the criminal underworld of Manchester is presented in scenes which are short and shocking. Cut-Throat Defence is an excellent read.’ – Simon Brett, author and CWA Golden Dagger winner

‘Cut-Throat Defence is absolutely gripping from the very first chapter. Packed full of twists and turns, I was on the edge of my seat waiting for the verdict.’ – Ginger Cat Blog

‘This is the first Oliver Jarvis crime novel I've read and wow, I love it! It's a fast-paced legal thriller written in a captivating style that just keeps you entertained.’ – Bits About Books

‘To put it simply, I loved it, I devoured all the pages, all the characters ... my top book of 2016.’ – Chocolate Pages

‘I couldn’t put it down’ – David’s Book Blurg

‘This book carries what is now becoming this author’s trademark, a legal thriller with real edge and depth of plot with characters that stick around in the mind long after the story and the trial are over. I was hooked into the clutches of this story from the very first page.’ – Reflections of a Reader

Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous, which was longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire, and he tweets at @OllyJarviso.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.