Few realize that women played a pivotal role in the development of science fiction. Even fewer know that feminist science fiction became popular in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. This collection contains a broad spectrum of this genre, many of which have been all but forgotten. Ten novels and short stories and two appendices round out this volume. 
Table of Contents: 

Herland By Charlotte Perkins Stetson Gilman 

Sultana’s Dream By Rokheya Shekhawat Hossein 

Mizora: A Prophecy By Mary E. Bradley 

Man's Rights By Annie Denton Cridge 

Friend Island By Francis Stevens 

Three Hundred Years Hence By Mary Griffith 

A Wife Manufactured to Order By Alice W. Fuller 

Unveiling a Parallel By Alice Ilgenfriz Jones and Ella Merchant 

A Dream of the Twenty-First Century By Winnifred Harper Cooley 

The Republic of the Future By Anna Bowman Dodd 

Appendix 1: Biographical Sketches of the Authors 

Appendix 2: Other Notable Female Science Fiction Authors 
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
The Forlorn Press
Read more
Published on
Nov 5, 2013
Read more
Pages
785
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Biography & Autobiography / Women
Fiction / Science Fiction / Collections & Anthologies
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Literary Collections / Women Authors
Social Science / Feminism & Feminist Theory
Social Science / Women's Studies
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he'd done something terrible?

'A heart-wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.' Write Escape 

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything he has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

What everyone's saying about The Silent Wife:


'A compulsive read about secrets, lies, and the complexities of families.' Bloomin' Brilliant Books

'What a great novel this is! A very moving story filled with deception, betrayal and, contrastingly, loyalty, love, caring and forgiveness... and it has a brilliant ending!' Splashes Into Books

'Well, this book is a firecracker!...you will experience a rollercoaster of emotions, with laughter, sadness and a satisfying ending that will bring a lump to your throat.' Many Books Many Lives

'A fantastic, thought-provoking story, told with pace and style.' Laura Bambrey Books

'My heart broke … The plot is so well written that you begin to feel as though you are one of the family and it is packed with twists and turns.' The Reading Reverie

'A page turner - full of implied secrets, unravelling family lives, new family dynamics.' Bookworms and Shutterbugs

'An addictive novel about family dynamics, secrets and betrayals that will have your mouth hanging open in disbelief many times along the way.' Books of All Kinds

'A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you'll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again.' The Writing Garnet

'My only regret about this book is beginning to read it at half term and not being able to finish it quicker. A gripping and emotional read.' De Ja Reads

'It is rare that a book will make you look at your own personality and inspire you to be a better person. A less judgmental person. A braver person. The Silent Wife did that for me – and in the most unexpected way … I gasped, laughed and cried.' The Glass House Girls

'I loved this book… I was riveted throughout. 5 stars.' Emma B books

'The Silent Wife had me engrossed from page one. Five Stars!' Boon's Bookcase

'Another five star read from Kerry Fisher ... I love Kerry Fisher's books and this was no exception!' Strongly Review

'A wonderful, poignant, heart breaking, heart warming story of families and secrets, of hidden strength and unexpected friendship. Brilliant! Very highly recommended. Cannot wait for Kerry's next!' Renita D'Silva

'Another five star read from Kerry Fisher.' Judging Covers

'I loved this! It was absolutely unputdownable and I didn't want it to end.' Jenny Ashcroft

'A gripping, emotional novel ... a real page turner!' La Biblio de Cara

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives 

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.