Shadow of Death: A Laura Nelson Thriller

· Oceanview Publishing
3.2
6 reviews
Ebook
360
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author

Nominated Best First Novel, International Thriller Writers

This is a world you would never want to enter . . . or forget


Pull a trigger and everything changes. Medical student Laura Nelson had just finished examining her first patient when she is forced to make a split-second decision that will alter the course of her life—forever.

One life will end, and one life will never be the same. But keeping her dreadful secret will be one of the toughest challenges Laura will ever face. With a persistent and perceptive detective hot on her trail and a host of eerie incidents suggesting that maybe her secret isn't really a secret, Laura is drawn into an unseemly web of peril, deceit, and treachery and is forced to risk both her freedom and her sanity.

Will her deadly secret come to light, or must she live forever in the shadow of death?

Set amidst the upheaval and smoldering chaos of the Detroit riots of 1967, Shadow of Death is a haunting tale of unrest, fear, and consequences. Hailed as a stunning debut novel, Shadow of Death provides a spine-chilling glimpse of what lurks in the shadows.

Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs

While all of the novels in the Laura Nelson Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Shadow of Death
Twisted Justice
Weapon of Choice
After the Fall
3.2
6 reviews
A Google user
A good, quick read, but a bit unbelievable. I enjoyed the book for the mystery, but especially for the 'history' surrounding Detroit during the riots.
A Google user
Unfortunately, the story was dull and predictable and the characters unlike able. One of the few books I couldn't finish, I'm regretting the hours I spent giving it a shot.
A Google user
I believe that this was a good book but it could have been much shorter. I felt like it took forever to tell the actual story. There were too many things over explained that didn't need to even be brought up. I did enjoy the read though.

About the author

Patricia Gussin, M.D. is a graduate of Wayne State University School of Medicine, is Board Certified in Family Medicine and holds an MBA from Columbia University. Pat practiced medicine and directed medical research as a worldwide vice president for a leading healthcare company. A member of Mystery Writers of America, Shadow of Death is her first novel.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.