Restaurant Marketing for Owners and Managers

Sold by Wiley Global Education
2
Free sample

This book is a concise, easy-to-use resource for applying marketing strategies to a foodservice facility, addressing issues like: How do I market my restaurant to prospective customers? Do loyalty programs really work in restaurants? How does the design of my restaurant and menu affect the perception of my operation? This text provides the restaurant/foodservice manager with specific tools tying marketing theory to practice. It also includes checklists and examples that can be applied to the day-to-day operation of their business.
Read more

About the author

PATTI J. SHOCK, CPCE, is a professor and Chair of the Tourism and Convention Department of the William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

JOHN T. BOWEN is the Dean of the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management at the University of Houston where he also holds the Barron Hilton Distinguished Chair.

JOHN M. STEFANELLI, PhD, is a professor and Chair of the Food and Beverage Department of the William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Bowen is the Dean of the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management at the University of Houston where he also holds the Barron Hilton Distinguished Chair.

Andrew Hale Feinstein is Associate Professor and Department Chairin the Food and Beverage Management Department at William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

John M. Stefanelli is a Professor in the Food and Beverage Management Department at William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Read more
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Wiley Global Education
Read more
Published on
Oct 3, 2003
Read more
Pages
240
Read more
ISBN
9781118395080
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

Like the railroad and the automobile, the airliner has changed the very geography of the societies it serves. Fundamentally, air transportation has helped redefine the scale of human geography by dramatically reducing the cost of distance, both in terms of time and money. The result is what the author terms the ‘airborne world’, meaning all those places dependent upon and transformed by relatively inexpensive air transportation.

The Economic Geography of Air Transportation answers three key questions: how did air transportation develop in the century after the Wright Brothers, what does it mean to live in an airborne world, and what is the future of aviation in this century? Examples are drawn from throughout the world. In particular, ample consideration is given to the situation in developing countries, where air transportation is growing rapidly and where, to a considerable degree, the future of the airborne world will be determined.

The book weaves together the technological development of aviation, the competition among aircraft manufacturers and their stables of airliners, the deregulation and privatization of the airline industry, the articulation of air passenger and air cargo services in everyday life, and the challenges and controversies surrounding airports. It will be of particular interest to students and researchers in air transport history, the geography of the airline industry, air transport technological development, competition in the commercial aircraft industry, airport development, geography and economics. It will also be useful to professionals working in the airline, airport, and aircraft manufacturing industries.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.